Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Shall Not Wither Them
I am of the generation who were in their formative years when the TV series first aired in the UK. Kwai Chang Caine was a guide and mentor during the years he screened, and although the school bully taught me that I was in no way able to emulate the physical prowess of Caine, his philosophies of forgiveness and avoiding confrontation and revenge never failed. In the end...
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Mr. R. Keighley

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, terrible DVDs
This is a terrifically differnt show and one of the few highlights of '70s American TV (with 'Columbo' and 'Night Gallery'). Well worth watching and deserving of a release on DVD. Unfortunately, these episodes are scanned to simulate a wide screen. They were originally shot in the academy ratio, 3 by 4, which is what most TV up to the mid '90s was shot on and fit the...
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by H. Josson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Shall Not Wither Them, 10 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I am of the generation who were in their formative years when the TV series first aired in the UK. Kwai Chang Caine was a guide and mentor during the years he screened, and although the school bully taught me that I was in no way able to emulate the physical prowess of Caine, his philosophies of forgiveness and avoiding confrontation and revenge never failed. In the end the same bully who had left me in no doubt who was physically stronger became a friend and protector rather than an enemy.
Thirty years later, my memories of the original stories are scant, yet I was still determined to buy the DVD to find out whether time had rendered the stories dated and corny. It has not. The stories are still fresh, the dialogue no more dated than it was in 1973 (it is after all set in a much more distant past) The picture quality is superb, far ahead of my expectations, and the DVD's are tremendous value, with a total of over 30 episodes.. 23 hours worth of Caine for less than 60.
Anyone who remembers the series, buy it, anyone too young to, still buy it. The best entertainment money can buy.
95/100 and marks only deducted for some corny acting from some of the guest stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, terrible DVDs, 28 Oct 2010
By 
H. Josson "bobby j" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a terrifically differnt show and one of the few highlights of '70s American TV (with 'Columbo' and 'Night Gallery'). Well worth watching and deserving of a release on DVD. Unfortunately, these episodes are scanned to simulate a wide screen. They were originally shot in the academy ratio, 3 by 4, which is what most TV up to the mid '90s was shot on and fit the traditional size of TVs through the decades. It's also the ratio of the vast amount of movies made until the mid '50s. To make it relevant to today's audiences and their wide-screen TVs, they have cut out huge swathes of the image on the top and bottom - possibly as much as 30%, maybe more. Imagine having an large photo, which measures 4 by 3 and then sticking two black cardboard tapes to mask the top and bottom part of the image to give it an elongated shape. For a show that was composed by it's creators to fill in a different size and for which it won Emmys for it's photography and direction, this is an utterly shameful act of corporate vandalism, akin to the way they cut 40 minute 'Night Gallery' episodes down to half an hour for syndication purposes. Don't buy this, find another way of getting your hands on it, until they grow up and release it as it's makers intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show in widescreen, but where are the extras?, 11 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Kung Fu is one of the few series from the 1970's that hasn't dated badly. There are one or two weak episodes but mostly they are well conceived and entertaining. For me the triumph of the show is the philsophy of Kwai Chang Caine, A Shaolin priest who carries a sense of balance and harmony through all adverse situations. There is a wisdom to the morals and ethics in this series that should be learned by children and adults alike.
Extras (region one only) - This region two release has no extras like the region one version. This is a great pity as these consisted of two commentaries by David Carradine and a discussion documentary. There are some good extras planned for the series three release, and if they are not included on the region two version I shall seriously consider getting the region one release instead.
Widescreen (region two only) - The region two release is in widescreen, converted from its original 4:3 aspect. This means they have chopped off some of the top and bottom of the original image to fit your widescreen tv. The region one release is in the original aspect (4:3), but if, like me, you have a widescreen tv, and you find you can't watch a square box in the middle of your screen with lines either side; or you think that 'smart mode' simply distorts everything to fill the whole widescreen, you'll want to get the region two widescreen version for sale here.
The picture quality and sound are superb, the colours are vibrant and well restored, much better than the prints that were broadcast on television a few years ago. If you are a fan, you will want to ditch those videos!
It's just a shame that you are having to choose between extras (region one) or widescreen (region two) in buying this series. Lets have region two widescreen releases with all the extras please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars missing features, 4 Mar 2005
By 
Mle Brown Katherine (Festalemps France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before buying I read other customer reviews including one from wtdk which mentioned the interesting featurette 'Zen and Now' , and the Carradine commentaries accompanying 2 of the episodes.
Having bought, in part, on the strength of the reviews , I would like to know why NONE of these extras appear on the dvd's that I bought?
That said, I must add that I have enjoyed what IS on them tremendously - which makes it all the more frustrating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 July 2005
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I Loved this series when I was a teenager in the 70`s and I was a bit apprehensive that it would seem a bit dated now.
My fears were completely unfounded, his philosophies and `one liners` are just as thought provoking as I remember them.....I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show on t.v. in the early seventies., 5 Oct 2008
By 
J. McGregor (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Like a number of other reviewers I remember "Kung Fu" as a young boy growing up in the seventies, but I decided to buy this series because of delving into "Kung Fu" from the point of view of philosophy and then memories of my early years and "Caine" came back. Looking at them now as an adult, I am amazed at their depth and content, all of which, of course, went over my head as a boy. There is wisdom to be gained in every episode, word and deed; and always a one-line gem to be found somewhere. It was a great series, unlike anything on t.v. at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Series if you are interesting in Zen/Buddhist philosophy., 29 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
As series two followed from series one, I felt that the whole feeling of this series started to find its feet and seemed to get deeper into the philosophy. The script dealt with deeper issues of the Zen-like subject. As a Zen practitioner, I found it very interesting and inspiring to watch, as it consolidates the Zen teaching. If you like Eastern philosophy then it has a lot to offer, but don't expect a lot of high-kicking martial arts scenes. What there is though, fits in well with the story line and philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"The body may need to fight, but the mind must remain in peace"
This and many other teachings, based on respect to truth and nature, are what is needed in these troubled times to help man survive while keeping the most worthy of his human qualities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu, 27 May 2010
By 
T. J. Moir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Seems to be more videos on the DVD than can be played. As if some are hidden or this is a copy of some sort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Series, 31 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Series two carries on Caines adventures, but not just that. The teachings of Master Po and Master Khan are wonderful, showing how the Shaolin priesthood is in harmony with the universe, and how man can be at peace with himself and all around him.

I always found the individual flashbacks fascinating for their pure insight and wisdom, and the story line of each episode captivating. Certainly a series to be watched, and learned from, in a time when quality of storyline and acting performance were king.

It was this series that inspired me to learn about and then visit The Shaolin Temple, which is still very active indeed to this very day. I have additionaly visited Master Po's Temple of Heaven in Beijing, which is beautiful.

If you would like to learn more about The Shaolin Temple, then just look up my review for Series 1. Everything you could want to know you will find there.

I for one can certainly recommend this series without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab5bce40)

This product

Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004]
Kung Fu: The Complete Second Season [DVD] [2004] by David Carradine (DVD - 2004)
13.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews