Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a gangster movie
This is a gripping tale of a battle between good and evil, a passion play acted out in grim Glasgow.The hero is released from prison after a sentence for gun-running. Back home he resists the approaches of his old gang boss and his henchman, a corrupt senior detective. His brother is on drugs, his mother dying in hospital.His parole involves being under the care of a...
Published on 14 Jan 2007 by G. J. Weeks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars .... It does have its good points
You'll recognise him as Trevor who terrorised Mo on Eastenders and got his come uppance. I'm afraid it's actually not a very good film, but Alex Ferns is a good actor, and I did enjoy the Scottish background.
Published 21 months ago by Alison Cope


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a gangster movie, 14 Jan 2007
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a gripping tale of a battle between good and evil, a passion play acted out in grim Glasgow.The hero is released from prison after a sentence for gun-running. Back home he resists the approaches of his old gang boss and his henchman, a corrupt senior detective. His brother is on drugs, his mother dying in hospital.His parole involves being under the care of a priest who gets him acting in a passion play. Soon our hero is exposing the hypocrisy of his fellow players and doing battle with his old gang over their pimping and other crimes. Here is a good cast with some very well known actors. The plot has some surprising twists with sparkling humour. My one criticism is that the standard of Glaswegian dialogue makes Taggart sound like received pronunciation. Non Scots need subtitles. But this is a well made film with a strong presentation of the continuing conflict between good and evil at the heart of the Christian message. Here we have a Judas and an unlikely Messiah. Only one question remains. Why the title?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that you are sure should have been made before..., 31 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film inteligently explores the passion story, by reflecting on the impact it could have in a modern day setting. The choice of setting, Glasgow, is well used and unnervingly accurate at times.

The film in essence is a classic gangster romp, whose hero, the ex-convict seeking a fresh start, refreshingly does not fall back into his old ways, but does eventually pay the price for his decisions.

In some ways, this film is almost a British version of "American History X" in the sense that it highlights problems of modern Britain. The distinction is that here, the solution is born from the inspiration of the biblical account of Jesus as a rebel figure in history.

I highly recommend this film, maybe the strongest recommendation I can give though, is anecdotal. I decided to pick this film up at 1.45am after having seen it on TV, by the time I had clicked the buy button, somone else had come along and bought the second hand copy I wanted :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and passionate, 21 Oct 2005
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a very fine film, with a strong cast and some excellent performances -- though it has to be said that some are playing so true to type they could have acted their parts in their sleep. (James Cosmo's crime boss springs to mind) Alex Fern shines as Jimmy Kerrigan, the ex-gangster who emerges from a 9 year prison term a changed man. He returns home to Glasgow, presented as a ruined city of chaos and crime, determined to work through his probation and then emigrate to the peace of a Greek island. A catholic priest (the always watchable Tom Georgeson) offers him the opportunity to escape his prescribed anger management classes by joining the parish am dram group who are working on the annual passion play. Strong echoes of 'Jesus of Montreal' here.
Inevitably, he takes the role of Jesus and the play becomes the focus of a campaign to rid the community of crime bringing Jimmy into conflict with members of the group, his old boss and the corrupt local police.
Some may find the religious imagery of the film - it is self-conciously a parable - a little heavy-handed, but I thought as an exploration of the Christian themes of sacrifice and atonement the film worked very well. Some notes jarred, especially the rather utopian and over-optimistic picture of a community ridding itself of its criminal oppressors, but despite this I'd say this is a film which deserves to be much better known and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully bleak, 22 May 2006
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Made for around 1/6th of the typical hollywood price, Man Dancin' is of a high quality. It portrays humour, anger and great sadness through brilliantly real characters. Although there are similarities with the story of Jesus, it is certainly not a parallel and stands strong without the religious references. A well made film which definately deserves to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man Dancin brings back memories, 12 Sep 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
My late husband and I watched this film on the tv, principally because it had Alex Ferns in it, but also because it was set in William's home town of Glasgow. Sadly he died in May, and I wanted to revisit this film and remember a previous time.
I enjoyed re-watching it immensely: it took me back to happier times, and I'm glad I had the opportunity to rediscover it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant movie, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
At first I was worried because of the violence at the beginning of this film as I am a bit sensitive a the moment ,but this movie is one of the most powerful I have seen ,It is a powerful story of redemption and faith and the fight for good even if it means self sacrifice .It is a no thrills movie ,probably made on a small budget ,if only they made more films like this one ,it packs a punch and deserves to be seen by a wider audience ,its message is deep and relevant .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars .... It does have its good points, 14 Jan 2013
By 
Alison Cope (Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
You'll recognise him as Trevor who terrorised Mo on Eastenders and got his come uppance. I'm afraid it's actually not a very good film, but Alex Ferns is a good actor, and I did enjoy the Scottish background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tries to stick to the straight and narrow.? especially for ex-prisoners ..it is not that easy! ..., 20 April 2012
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
-the film_
When Jimmy Kerrigan is released from jail after 9 years inside, everyone expects him to fall back into his old ways. But Jimmy's changed, says all he wants to do is open a bar on a Greek island once his parole is up. Problem is, nobody believes him - not at least his former gangland boss, Donnie McGlone and Jimmy's old adversary, Detective Inspector Walter Villers.
They both think Jimmy's up to no good, branching out on his own.
Enter Father Gabriel Flynn, the man in charge of Jimmy's anger management classes. He sees something in Jimmy nobody else does and to the amazement of all asks him to play Jesus in the church's annual passion play; faced with the prospect of endless anger management classes, Jimmy agrees. It's a decision which is to have repercussions throughout the entire community and to throw McGlone and Villers' cosy world into turmoil. Jimmy Kerrigan is back alright - with a vengeance..
what can I SAY?
There is a gripping drama, with great humour and a gut-wrenching finale. It is well-acted, well-directed and WAY under advertised.
the amazing thing about this film is, it was able to combine a strong and well-structured storyline with a thought-provoking message.
The characters in this film are very good with a top mix of funny and serious and some time dark this Truly great cinema
((Man Dancin'))
its really good
its really violent
its really independent
its really gritty

its Really A (((TOP British Gangster Film..))).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Scottish Movie, 23 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Another outstanding film, less known in Scotland than anywhere else in Europe for a reason only the Scottish Media can explain. (The film is more widely known as "Kerrigan's Passion", but the title was changed to "Man Dancin'" for its Scottish release).

The story focuses on Jimmy's return to Glasgow after a time spent in jail in Ulster.

Realising that he has been caught up in petty gangster life, he uses his intelligence to try and rescue his brother from the same fate. On the way he saves a few other souls.

A movie full of intelligent and thought-provoking symbolism.

Thoroughly recommended by myself, a great fan of Scottish films. This is one of the best, and without a doubt, the most under-celebrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Man Prancin!, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was expecting a really gritty scottish drama but was a bit dissapointed, the acting is quite good but it concentrates more on the local drama club and the play the main chracter wants to show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003]
Man Dancin' [DVD] [2003] by Norman Stone (DVD - 2004)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews