Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cringemaking, compelling comedy!
Seen through the eyes of the characters, Peep Show's real genius is in the fact that you can share Mark and Jez's thoughts as they go about their everyday lives. It sounds fairly mundane, but believe me, you will CRINGE as they have problems with their love lives careers and their friendship.

From Mark urinating in his boss's drawers at work, his problems with...
Published on 15 May 2005 by C. Gordon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intermittently funny
These, I think, have become a bit dated. After Mitchell and Webb's recently hysterically funny 'Ambassaors' series I was really looking forward to 'Peep Show', but it only occasionally raised a laugh. I think they tried too hard.
Published 7 months ago by Pam


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cringemaking, compelling comedy!, 15 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Seen through the eyes of the characters, Peep Show's real genius is in the fact that you can share Mark and Jez's thoughts as they go about their everyday lives. It sounds fairly mundane, but believe me, you will CRINGE as they have problems with their love lives careers and their friendship.

From Mark urinating in his boss's drawers at work, his problems with the local kids, his obsession with his workmate, Sophie, Jez's conviction that he's a musical superstar, the pepperspraying incident, and possibly the shocker to end all shockers - Jez's recollection of the 'bad thing' *shudder* - you will be constantly muttering at the screen, 'You can't do that', 'you sick little monkey, etc etc etc.

This series is by far the best British comedy to come out since 'Spaced'. After years of crap comedy, Britain has something that is truly new and innovative. It is at times subtle, and at other times completely in your face. The reality of the whole thing, thanks to the character's interior monologues, is a joy, and easy to relate to your own life (and I suspect this is why it is so cringemaking - the 'I've been there, done that' feeling).

I want series 2 on DVD!

Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - The Best British Comedy of the last 20 Years, 3 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I include The Office in that! Mark and Jeremy are, in my opinion, the two funniest characters to grace the small screen in my lifetime, primarily because we all know people like them and wonder what makes them tick. More the original odd couple than The Odd Couple, the two main characters capture post-2000 Britain perfectly.
We've all seen David Brent doing his dance and cringed - you haven't seen anything until you watch this DVD. Like the previous reviewer, I'm only commenting on the series rather than the DVD, but if you get the humour, you will love this! I warn you now that you WILL try and convert people to this series, and not everyone gets it. I don't want to sound patronising, but if your idea of a good laugh is My Family or that awful "comedy" series starring Jasper Carrot, All About Me, don't buy this. Seriously. You won't like it. If however you liked Jam, Alan Partridge or The Office, buy this DVD and spread the word. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true modern classic, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. D. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Surely most people reading this will be aware of the basic premise of peep show, but for the as-yet-uninitiated, a brief synopsis: Mark and Jeremy (David Mitchell and Robert Webb) are flatmates in suburban London. Mark is a reasonably successful executive in a finance company, Jez can be accurately described as a bum. The two of them have an oddly symbiotic relationship, with the massive character flaws in each of them strangely balanced out between them. Mitchell is quoted as saying that they both take comfort in the fact that they aren't the other. The series follow their exploits in a quirky style, with footage mainly shot from the perspective of the two characters, and a voiceover of the thoughts running through their heads adding another dimension to the comedy.
This unconventional style of filming is just one of the factors that makes Peep Show stand out from the crowd. The comedic talents of Mitchell and Webb are probably at their most sublime here, with spot-on timing and biting sarcasm seemingly second nature to both of them. The support characters are all unusually strong as well, with many cliches avoided and even minor characters contributing hilarious lines of dialogue (most noteworthy of all is Matt King as Superhans, Jez's bandmate, who is utterly sublime and ridiculous).
However, what really makes Peep Show is the writing. It goes without saying that good comedy needs a good script, but this is something else. The writers (Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain) clearly know Mitchell and Webb exceptionally well, and it's plain to see that Mark and Jez are massively grotesque versions of the actors that portray them. This, added to the razor sharp wit of all the contributors, means that the dialogue is always perfectly matched to the performers, and is also supremely well constructed.
In the hands of a less talented group of people, the idea of a POV sitcom with a voiceover of the characters' thoughts could have been carcrash television at its worst, but in the capable hands of Armstrong, Bain, Mitchell, Webb, and all the other contributors, the shooting style and voiceover ideas add new dimensions to the comedy. Beautifully crafted dialogue and plots follow in the rich vein of footlights comedy, with Blackadder an obvious influence. But Peep Show has a place of its own, as a modern take on these ideas, with cultural relevance and incicive wit. Somehow it has remained fresh (and even become more refined) since its inception, and long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh so good, 12 Nov 2005
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I don't want to repeat all of the other reviews, but I feel some things about this show deserve to be mentioned again; the characters in this show are superb, the most worrying thing is that most people can relate to them, either by have knowing someone like them or even having the same problems as them, if perhaps in a slightly less embarrasing format (hopefully). Also it is really cleverly thought up, not all jokes are 'in your face' and are really very clever, the camera angles make it quirky, and it is so refreshing to see a good british comedy rather than a cheesy american sitcom. I think that this show deserves to be in the limelight, it definitely is the best show on television at the moment and is completely underated for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They're laughing, Jeremy. They're having fun!", 18 Dec 2004
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was, I have to admit, quite dubious about this comedy series when I first saw trailers for it on television. Oh no, I thought, another sitcom with a so-called quirky gimmick (the point-of-view camerawork). However, it seems that this was just a stealthy way of sneaking a well-written sitcom under the radar at Channel 4, perhaps in order that the press releases could go on about it being "innovative" or something.
Because what you have here is very simply a superbly crafted - and very traditional - piece of work; the story of a couple of blokes living in a shared flat and their inability to get on with the opposite sex or even communicate properly with their neighbours and friends (the fact that we hear the inner voices of Jeremy and Mark, the protagonists, reinforces the discrepancy between what they think and what they say).
Largely a comedy about embarrassment and social mores, there are some stand-out scenes on this DVD worthy of being celebrated alongside the best of The Office or Men Behaving Badly (although this is more Men Behaving Sadly). Unfortunately, taking them out of context does this show no favours at all (Mark trying to extricate his hand which has inadvertantly become trapped under Sophie's bum on a bus seat, Jeremy exacting revenge on Mark by filling his bed with pork products that spell out the word "Judas", SuperHans requesting a pint of Guinness with "no logo" - see, it doesn't seem funny written down). But somehow it all seems to work. The performances are uniformly excellent, the scripting is tight and often takes off in surprising and pleasing directions (the lead actors also contribute, according to the credits, which makes sense as we live in their heads so much). The naturalistic style and lack of laughter track also help. After watching this I find it hard not to think in the voices of Mark and Jeremy myself; it's full of so many quotable lines.
My favourite sitcoms of recent years have been Phoenix Nights, Black Books, Father Ted, Spaced, League Of Gentlemen, The Royle Family and Alan Partridge. This strangely under-rated (and under-ratings-achieving) sitcom deserves to rank amongst them. A BAFTA for series two, I reckon.
The DVD presentation is sound, although I would've preferred more commentary (first and last episode doesn't really cover it, especially as episode three is one of the best), and the extras are worth a couple of views if you want to know more about the characters' wants.
So, if you like your humour to mix the vulgar and the pathetic in the most excruciating of ways, do splash out on this DVD. To not do so would be "a bad thing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute genius, 29 Dec 2004
By 
D. WHARTON (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I almost missed this absolute gem but luckily was recommended it by a mate.
Pure genius, much in the same way Pheonix Nights didn't quite get the recognition it deserved with it coming out at the same time as The Office, Peep Show may be overlooked by most with the mighty Little Britain being the peoples choice at the moment.
You can get a brief synopsis of the series in another review but it's simplicity allows you to get straight into it. Filmed in third person this wouldn't be anything special. Filmed in point of view style like this is makes it a classic. Hard to believe that a camera angle can make the difference but watch it and you literally find yourself in the character's places.
If you've never seen it, and like me missed the original airing, then buy it now, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars re: The best British sitcom since The Office, 28 Sep 2004
By 
MR B GOLDSTEIN (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I haven't seen the DVD, but I did watch this show religiously, so this review only counts for the quality of episodes. Peep Show is brilliant. It follows the exploits of Mark and Jeremy but is shot, literally, through their eyes. Everything is POV. This gimmick actually becomes very normal within five minutes and I think for the most part you forget about it. What is brilliant are the actor's and the script. I don't think I've seen a case of comedy being so painfully acute and dark, and willing to go that last mile that other sitcoms fear. Check out the episode where Mark, a 30ish bloke, goes home with a teenage girl. Squirm-inducingly hilarious and spot-on. I don't believe any other comedy would have followed through that particular storyline to its logical conclusion. Great stuff. The two guys are brilliant and the view it creates of modern Britain is also insightful. I can't recommend this enough. It's hilarious. Just order it. You will see. Then you'll thank me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class, 8 May 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
season one of peep show is a case for brilliance in so many ways,its a show that uses inner monolouge in a way that american show scrubs does but extends on it further,delving deeper inside the human psyche,the show has lots of point of view shots which allows us into the characters head both through what they see and of course what they really think which isnt made obvious by the spoken words that they say,the truth is usually found in what they think.

The show centres around two flatmates,mark who is the more sensible one of the two,well i use the term loosely,he has however got the job that pays the bills and the rent and seems to be a dependable man,but his thoughts and actions at times betray that notion,jeremy on the other hand has no job,dreams of making it as a musician but is lousy at that and waits around for mark to get home from work and talk to him.

Around that lie various other characters who blend in and out of the series and all add to it,the show is laugh out loud funny and is worthy of high praise indeed,i will be getting series two soon and have high expectations on that already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars peepshow, 7 Dec 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
this is definetly a cult in the making, peepshow had me squirming from behind the sofa as i watched mark scratch his boss's car, urinate on the office folders and ridicule himself trying to win over the delicious love of his life sophie.
so much deapth is in the narrative making it in a league of its own. the two main characters just fit the criteria of jekyll and hyde kind of persona. the sensational witty dialogue makes the office look like the hideous Two Pints of Lager. it uses racy and sometimes taboo subjects whilst making us not afraid to laugh in the faces of the victims. the overal acting is cherishable and well cast even to the very minor roles. their loser mottos and failed dreams keeps them, to viewers, true to themselves and realistic...everyone knows a mark, or a jeremy...or has a crush on someone in their work place like sophie, or the woman across the hall! and screws it all up on a day-to-day basis!
a triumph without a doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and hilariously funny, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The innovative comedy series of Peep Show opens up in fine style. Peep Show revolves around 2 flatmates Mark and Jeremy, we get to follow their antics in love,work and play. Much of Peep Show is carried out through a first person perpective therefore you get to hear Mark and Jeremy's subsconscious on camera.This is very innovative and part of what makes Peep Show so amusing; the other ingredients being excellent scripts and fine acting performances by the main protagonists.
Episode 1- In this episode we are introduced to the fact that Mark is pretty much a congenital coward as he is mercilessly harassed by little kids throughout the episode. Mark and Jeremy try to outpoint each other with their next door neighbour Toni.
Episode 2- Mark tries to impress Sophie with his swastika illustration, he manages to get Sophie's number and then proceeds to make a complete hash of phoning her up. Jeremy's efforts to deliberately bodge an interview are also funny. The best moment in this half hour is when Mark decides to come clean about his affections for Sophie in a completely retarded way.
Episode 3- This has to be my favourite episode of Series 1. You have a surreal triple date scenario between Jeremy/Toni,Mark/Valerie and Sophie/Jeff. Mark is on a date with Valerie but really he wants to be with Sophie and gets jealous of Jeff. The sex scenes are hilarious especially the Jes-Toni ones being undertaken in the presence of her boyfriend/husband.
Episode 4 is all about gay love as Mark gets a crush on his boss Johnson. Jeremy also gets a series of flashbacks from the morning after the night before, after getting stoned. This instalment ends with Jeremy uncovering what was the terrible thing that he had done the previous night.
Episode 5 is all about promotions, urine deposits and a revenge pact that goes horribly wrong.
Episode 6 sees Mark finally take Sophie out on a less than ideal first date -to a wake. Jeremy pretends to overdose and and feigns being terminally ill in order to get a hand job in sympathy from Toni!
To conclude, an excellent start to the series with 6 strong epiosdes. Maybe episode 4 insn't quite as strong as the others but this isn't enough to deny 5 worthy stars. I feel that Peep Show gets even stronger from here with Series Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003]
Peep Show - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] by David Mitchell (DVD - 2006)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews