Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBERT FINNEY'S SCROOGE
Long underestimated, this 1970 version of 'A Christmas Carol' mixes a fine feast of popular songs (by Leslie Bricusse) and a vintage performance of the old miser by Albert Finney.The latter manages to achieve what only Sim has done before or since in making the transition from crotchety old humbug to reformed philanthropist believable.One of the few actors to play himself...
Published on 14 Dec 2004 by N. Clark

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hating people and liking life
Scrooge 1970 is a musical reworking of the much told classic story, A Christmas Carol, written by Charles Dickens. It's directed by Ronald Neame with a screenplay and songs by Leslie Bricusse. It stars Albert Finney (Scrooge), Alec Guinness, Edith Evans, Kenneth More, Michael Medwin, Laurence Naismith, David Collings & Richard Beaumont.

The Christmas brother of...
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBERT FINNEY'S SCROOGE, 14 Dec 2004
By 
N. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
Long underestimated, this 1970 version of 'A Christmas Carol' mixes a fine feast of popular songs (by Leslie Bricusse) and a vintage performance of the old miser by Albert Finney.The latter manages to achieve what only Sim has done before or since in making the transition from crotchety old humbug to reformed philanthropist believable.One of the few actors to play himself as a young man as well, this is vintage Finney in a lavish spectacular as well-proportioned as Pinewood's previous epic 'Oliver' There's a great suporting cast as well - Kenneth More as the Ghost of Christmas Present, the great Edith Evans as Christmas Past and a truly frightening Alec Guinness as Marley. Laurence Naismith and a young Anton Rodgers also appear in a couple of notable numbers 'December 25th' and the popular 'Thank You Very Much'.
Grossly under-rated by reviewers for years this musical has spawned two great stage shows with Anthony Newley and Tommy Steele following in Albert's footsteps. Both have played to packed houses, the latter continues to do so.The audience, as usual, has the last laugh ! If you buy no other version of Christmas Carol, you should make this one yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Flawed Hero, 8 Sep 2005
By 
J. H. Sweet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I have read A Christmas Carol several times; and though this is a musical, I do not think it takes away at all from Dickens' classic story. Rather, I believe it is a wonderful tribute to it. Ebenezer Scrooge is one of my favorite literary characters of all time; and Albert Finney brings him to life perfectly, making the miser loveable and sympathetic throughout. As in the written work, I love Scrooge both before and after his epiphany. I was especially touched by his feelings of abandonment at being left at school for Christmas in his youth, and the deep regret he experiences over the breaking of his engagement to Fezziwig's daughter.
Tiny Tim is well cast in this movie. He has a beautiful voice and touching expressions, and is perfect in size, tiny, which is not the case in some other film versions.

Leslie Bricusse's song lyrics are every bit as wonderful as those written for Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The costuming, scenery, and props are very lavish and beautiful, adding to the richness of the story. The DVD version is perfect in this respect with good color and clarity.
The story is wonderfully staged in five acts (Introduction, Past, Present, Future, Conclusion), the first four building perfectly to the final, which is every bit as heartwarming as the conclusions of It's a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street. It is impossible not to smile as Scrooge buys out the toy store, purchases other gifts, wipes the slate clean for his debtors, and makes charitable contributions. His transformation from miser and loan shark to a genuine Father Christmas is absolutely beautiful.
When I was growing up, we always decorated our tree on Christmas Eve; and I remember watching this movie many years in a row during that family tradition. I recommend this as a yearly family Christmastime movie, but it is also wonderful to watch at other times of the year, especially to cure a blue funk because it has the power to warm viewers all the way down to their toes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well About Time! Thank You Very Much, Thank You Very Much.., 12 Dec 2003
By 
Mr R Winson (Gillingham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
OK so the Amazon review didn't rate it but I truly love this film. It's not the best film ever made and never will be but it really gives you a feel good factor.
Albert Finney is excellent (isn't he always?) as are Edith Evans, Kenneth More, Anton Rodgers, Alec Gunness and the chap that plays Bob Cratchitt (sorry, can't think of his name off hand!)
Everyone harps on about the Alastair Sim version but I truly prefer this one. The perfect film to watch late on Christmas Eve. It really gets you into the Christmas spirit (pardon the pun!)
Why on Earth is it only available on region 1??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars region 2, 6 Dec 2003
when is the region 2 dvd coming out it is a british film after all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas wouldn't be the same without it!, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Ms. V. Stevens (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
This 1970 Albert Finney film is quite simply the best version of A Christmas Carol ever made - in my humble opinion. My family has a long-standing tradition of watching this film together on Christmas Eve. Even though we've all grown up now and have homes of our own, if we can't be together at Christmas we each play our copies of the film simultaneously. Christmas wouldn't be the same without this great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrooge is no MEAN movie!, 30 Nov 2004
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I have been looking forward to this being released on DVD for years and now it is happening fantastic. One of the best adaptations I have ever seen this is a musical version with a star studded cast such as Albert Finney (Scrooge), Alec Guinness (Jacob Marley) & Kenneth More. Look out for a great performance by Anton Rodgers as well as many other great stars. In the words of one of the songs from the movie:
"Thank you very much, it's the nicest thing anyone has done for me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Scrooge film by far, 5 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe some reviews for this film, where the reviewer says the singing is not that good (such as Amazon's review above. Just goes to show how wrong reviewers can be).
I don't normally like films with singing in but the singing in this film makes it the film it is.
If you haven't seen this film you are surely to enjoy it (I might be wrong in that) and enjoy the singing aswell.
It will bring a tear to your eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best. The very best!, 22 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
As far as I am concerned, and it appears several others reviewers agree with me, this is the definitive version of the classic Christmas Carol tale. The additional benefit being, apart from the excellent cast of course, is the fact that it is set to music! And what excellent songs!

From the opener "I Hate People" through to the reprise of the classic "Thank You Very Much" (in my opinion one of the best movie songs of all time!), the songs are of a superb quality and adhere to the story as well as hastening it along too. The vocal harmonies and coreography involved are second to none and even those not blessed with the greatest of singing voices (Kenneth More for example) do themselves proud due to the quality of the tunes themselves.

This film is one of my favourite films of all time and gets watched regularly all through the year.

Buy it. Love it. It's that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply mesmerising, 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scrooge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This has to be the best version of Dickens classic around. Albert Finney is marvellous as the "grumpy old miser" and much of the dialogue will have you more than a tad amused. My family watch it every Christmas and it brightens up everyone's day. Simply mesmerising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story and music that bring tears of joy, 22 Nov 2003
By 
J. R. Huxter "JRH" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
There isn't a song here you wont be singing well into spring, and Finney's Scrooge is a masterpiece. I've seen this film a dozen times, and I still cry at the uplifting tranformation of the lead character, every time. A fantastic vision of Dickensonian London, wonderful costumes, witty humour, and some inspired performances from the Ghost of Christmas Present and Jacob Marley (Sir Alec Guiness). This remarkable version of A Christmas Carol is both refreshingly true to the original text, and uplifting in it's musical presentation. Scrooge's brush with Hell may be a little intense for younger viewers, but it is otherwise a classic you will treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrooge [DVD]
Scrooge [DVD] by Ronald Neame (DVD - 2004)
4.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews