Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS' LAST CRY FOR HELP
After months trying to get Elvis into a studio to lay down some desperately needed tracks for a desperately needed studio album, RCA in 1976 eventually resorted to sending a mobile recording unit to Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis Tennessee. The fully equipped huge red vehicle parked at the back of Graceland mansion, and engineers passed cables and other equipment...
Published on 21 May 2010 by tommyboo

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars elvis presley boulevard
I didn't buy this in the 70's since his material at that time, was becoming poor. The reason for buying it recently was due to a trip to Graceland whereFrom Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis I visited the Jungle Room, where the disc was recorded. For a moment of history, if you are a fan, it's fine, but as a music session, it's a sad reflection on a great performer's end.
Published on 9 Jun 2012 by Fr.Malcolm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS' LAST CRY FOR HELP, 21 May 2010
This review is from: From Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis (Audio CD)
After months trying to get Elvis into a studio to lay down some desperately needed tracks for a desperately needed studio album, RCA in 1976 eventually resorted to sending a mobile recording unit to Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis Tennessee. The fully equipped huge red vehicle parked at the back of Graceland mansion, and engineers passed cables and other equipment through the windows of the perfectly accousted 'Jungle Room'. It is here in his own mansion, and on two separate occasions, that The King recorded his final studio tracks.

Though the cover of the aptly named album features a flashy and smiling superstar on stage, the entire set is made up of sad, melancholic, and heartbreak songs. Little did anyone know at the time that Elvis would die the following year - but the tell-tale signs that something was wrong were embedded in the grooves of this collection.

Just look at some of the song titles: HURT, NEVER AGAIN, BLUE EYES CRYING IN THE RAIN, THE LAST FAREWELL, FOR THE HEART, BITTER THEY ARE HARDER THEY FALL, SOLITAIRE, LOVE COMING DOWN, I'LL NEVER FALL IN LOVE AGAIN. IF these titles were not strong enough clues to Elvis' state of mind, then listening to the songs would seal it for you.

Though the performances made you pay attention to his voice, still amazingly rich and magnetic, Elvis sounded down. Really down. And I believe he was finally opening up to us through this album - to take us into his world, to share with us his feelings of heartache and loneliness. Strangely, as if he knew the end was near.

Listening to these recordings, you can hear Elvis almost wailing in many of these tracks but especially when he sings HURT, NEVER AGAIN, DANNY BOY, and I'LL NEVER FALL IN LOVE AGAIN. SOLITAIRE is simply an epic. And with the benefit of hindsight, I can hear Elvis crying out for help through these songs. Pay attention to HURT'S opening and closing cries and you'll hear what I mean. Incredible.

These Graceland sessions were recorded in February 1976 and released a little later in May. The next 'home' recordings in October '76 were included in his final album of his lifetime, Moody Blue, released shortly before his passing in August 1977.

Elvis Presley never wrote a book, but this is the closest you'll ever get to an autobiography of his final years. Get it and listen between the lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Heart!, 12 May 2002
By A Customer
This most excellent album is a fusion of songs that are of regreat and despair. It's hardly original, but could not be bettered in any way, shape or form.
The opening song "Hurt" is towering, a massive vocal effort by Elvis....this is a standout on the album and a huge favourite.
"Never Again" is the weakest song here, it fails to grip like the others, even though Elvis sings it so damn good.
"Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain" is a honkytonk version of a country blues song....it is infectiously good.
"Danny Boy" is a career highlight and without exception, nobody has sung this classic song as good.
"The Last Farewell" has the most dramatic opening I have ever heard....it's like a high seas epic movie soundtrack. It calms, and Elvis delivers another fine performance.
The only up-tempo song on the CD, "For the Heart" is sensational; from the slippery bass and funky beats, this again is a song that should have been a single. It would have been big, and would have turned more people onto this album.
"Bitter They Are, Harder They Fall" brings us back to the sad songs. I love this track, the lyrics are excellent, "She caught me lying, and she caught a train; and I caught a fever standing here in the rain."
Again, "Solitaire", Neil Sedaka's masterpiece is gripping stuff, the sorrowfull lyrics almost become depressing.....anyone who knows this classic song will agree....both Sedaka's and Elvis are great, so is Andy William's superb version. The best of the three, Neil's original or Elvis'.
"Love Coming Down" is a lesson to those who put career before the love of a good woman.....listen carefully.
"I'll Never Fall In Love Again" ends this excellent album. Clyde McPhatter's great version has been forgotten in favour of Tom Jones' scmaltzy over the top version. Elvis obliterates this. He sings this in mesmorising fashion, this is simply a stunning song, performed with bruavado.
And so concludes my review....I love this album. Buy it now, put it on late at night and be captivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley, 15 July 2009
By 
Caroline Breslin (Orihuela Costa , Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis (Audio CD)
From Elvis Presley Boulevard, Memphis, Tennessee
My husband love's all Elvis but this particular CD was stolen from our car
and he could not find another anywhere.
I decided to try Amazon, never thinking that I could get one. And posted to me in Spain. So I bought 2 (one for his good buddy,another Elvis fan).
I put the order in on the 14th June 2009 and both were delivered in 4 working day's. Wow! Amazing Amazon. Thank's a mil.Very quick and efficient. Caro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King at his best, 14 Dec 2008
By 
M. Rauber - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis (Audio CD)
I love this CD. Love Coming Down is, perhaps, the best ballad Elvis has ever recorded. This CD is a must-have for everyone who likes Elvis' vocal strenght. Elvis forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DESERVES TO BE BETTER KNOWN, 15 Feb 2002
By A Customer
ELVIS SECOND LAST ALBUM, FROM ELVIS PRESLEY BLVD WAS AND STILL IS A WONDERFUL AND DEEP COLLECTION OF SONGS.
ELVIS AT THIS TIME (76) HAD NOT MADE A HUGE SELLING ALBUM SINCE 73, AND HAD RARELY BEEN IN THE PUBLIC EYE; ALTHOUGH HIS TOURS WERE MASSIVE EVENTS.
THIS ALBUM DID NOT BRING ANYTHING CONTEMPORARY THAT HIS FANS MAY HAVE WANTED AT THE TIME; BUT IT WAS GOOD, VERY GOOD.
THIS IS POWERFUL MUSIC, FROM THE OPENING POWER OF HURT TO THE BEST VERSION OF DANNY BOY EVER MADE, THIS IS AN ALBUM THAT IS SINCERE AND HEARTFELT.
FOR THE HEART IS THE ONLY UP=TEMPO SONG, IT IS SUPERB, AS IS A UNIQUE VERSION OF BLUE EYES CRYING IN THE RAIN; WHICH IS UNLIKE WILLIE NELSON'S VERSION.
NEIL SEDAKA'S SOLITAIRE IS TREATED WITH CARE, AS IS ILL NEVER FALL IN LOVE AGAIN, MADE FAMOUS BY TOM JONES, BUT BETTERED HERE BY THE KING.
I LOVE THIS CD, IT IS GREAT LISTENING ESPECIALLY IF YOU LIKE GOOD LYRICS AND EXCELLENT SINGING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memphis Tennessee, 6 Dec 2008
This review is from: Memphis Tennessee (Audio CD)
Granted, this collection does not represent Elvis' strongest material. However, it does contain his great number 1 hit, (You're the) Devil in Disguise, which is country/rock at its best. There are also several other gems, not least the title track, as well as Long Lonely Highway and Witchcraft, which are real foot tappers. I don't detect any vocal deterioration here, but it obviously has a mellower, less urgent feel to it than the recordings made at the end of the decade in Memphis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FromElvis Boulevard Memphis Tenessee Download, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard part of this Album in the late seventies by courtesy of one of Mum's work customers, but it wasn't until 1981 that I bought the vinyl copy. There is no doubt that each track brings over the fact that Elvis undoubtedly knew that this would be his farewell album, even though he recorded a few tracks in 1977 which would appear on Moody Blue. Listening to the download copy, the quality is excellent and RCA have definitely done an excellent job when releasing it on CD. The tracks which have always stood out for me are Hurt, The Last Farewell, Love Coming Down and I'll Never Fall In Love Again. As another reviewer commented, it is a most melancholy album and certainly not to be listened to if you're feeling down. But if like me you've got all his albums on vinyl and either want to buy this in a download or CD format, I urge you to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great release of rare material..., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis Tennessee (Audio CD)
Been after these recordings for ages and it was worth the wait. Used on the Lost Album some years ago, this is the source material. Many great takes and much improved versions of these songs which were intended for an album but ended up being squandered as Bonus Tracks on soundtrack albums. Why RCA sat on this stuff beats me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis poors his heart out, 21 April 2013
Recorded at Graceland Elvis poors his heart out on this album. More melancolic that the previous "Promise Land" and "Today" albums, vocally the the performances are top draw.

Sometimes Elvis bewildered us with the diversity of his material and non more so than the inclusion of "Danny Boy" and "The Last Farewell", but this is a reflection of Elvis's personal musical taste being so vast that it is difficult for most of us to comprehend.

It's difficult sometimes to relate "Jailhouse Rock" with tacks like "The Last Farewell" which were recorded only 19 years apart. Back in the 1970's Elvis was pretty much unique in that there were very few stars around whose popular music career was entering into it's third decade. Today there are many more who have careers spanning decades. If you look at the material that is 20 years apart from the newer generation of artists, there still is any who could conjure the level of musical diversity that Elvis did.

"Hurt" is the lead track which performed reasonably well as a single but was eclipsed by "Moody Blue" and "Way Down", which were held back from this album. "For the Heart" deserves a mention as good mid-tempo, country rocker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still great right up to the end, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Ted Shepherd (Newcastle upon Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
From Elvis Presley Boulevard is possibly my favourite Elvis album which is saying a lot. I once loaned it to a female friend who at age 60 claimed to be a lifelong fan but admitted she had never heard any of his 70s albums. She was really impressed with this more mature Elvis, especially when knowing the heartaches of his last years.

Some say his 70s albums were over-produced, with Elvis being swamped by the orchestra and singers. There is some truth in that but it is easily solved by listening on good hi-fi quality headphones. With headphones you can also ramp up the volume to concert level and hear the real power in the king's voice!

Try it on his live albums too - it's like being there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis
From Elvis Presley Boulevard Memphis by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews