Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brass Band Fan
If you're a brass band fan, and even if your not, you will really enjoy a wonderful musical experience with this CD.
The Grimethorpe Band is second to none.
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by D. A. Sinclair

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good tunes, badly recorded
It is a shame, the band play great tunes superbly but the recording wasn't done very well. I don't like to give bad reviews when someone deserves better but I found it very frustrating not being able to recognise certain tunes due to sound levels of instruments being on top of others. Had to keep adjusting the volume to suit.
Published 8 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brass Band Fan, 28 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
If you're a brass band fan, and even if your not, you will really enjoy a wonderful musical experience with this CD.
The Grimethorpe Band is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, stirring brass!, 21 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
I bought this because I enjoy my hi-fi and the sound of brass instruments come across excellently. I had previously bought a few jazz albums, so decided to try a full brass band sound. Boy, did I make a great first choice! These guys can play their socks off. Clearly, every one is a highly accomplished musician in his own right and together they really rock. A great variety of tracks gives a wonderful flavour of the huge repertoire of this award winning (and rightly so) band. No wonder they have achieved worldwide acclaim. The dynamic range of the music - going from very soft to full-on blow your hair back - is astonishing. If you are an afficionado of brass bands or just fancy trying this type of music, you could have no better disc in your collection than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely sound, 10 Nov 2011
By 
W. Rosser (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
The authentic sound of a colliery band. Long may it continue. Good choice of pieces and lovely cornet solos. Sheer enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brass band excellence, 17 Sep 2012
By 
F. Goodwin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
An excellent selection and very good value for money . This cd makes for easy listening both at home and whilst travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of Brass, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
A worthwhile addition to any Brass/Silver Band Library, really good buy and up to all it was described, Good Service,Edwin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brass at its Best, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my mother, who is a fan of the Brassed Off film (from which the band get there fame), we really enjoyed listening to the range they offer on the disc. My favourite has to be the Bond medley, but there are so many good tracks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very best of the Grimethorpe Colliery Coal Band, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
If you have seen the film then you will rember some of the music which is of the highest quality. A Cd to sit back with a drink and just listen to the band playing some beautiful sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
fabulous music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grimethorpe Triumph, 3 April 2014
By 
J. Makin "45407" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
Another great CD from the great Grimethorpe Colliery band. It's mainly well known classical pieces, with a few modern ones thrown in for good measure. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Service As Always, 9 Mar 2014
By 
N. K. Smedley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD)
Good service & product as described. Can go from quiet to loud when being played but normal with brass band music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band
The Very Best of the Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band by Grimethorpe Colliery UK Coal Band (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews