Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative Overview of Brilliance
There has been very little 'official' publications about Nirvana over the years for a string of legal reasons and it was brilliant to finally get the 'With The Lights Out' boxset released last year and then we have this...!
What a fantastic documentary!
The DVD begins by introducing the band and producers and the release of Bleach through SubPop (Nirvana's first...
Published on 28 Mar. 2005 by Mr. R. D. Powell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the concise effort I'd hoped for.
This DVD is worth a watch. Beyond that, I'm not so sure. I can't see myself needing to rewatch it ever.

It talks about the aborted Sub Pop LP, which would have been Nevermind. In fact, it covers the road to Nevermind really well with the drummer swap-outs and the way the DGC deal went down.

However, it only focuses on the 1st side of the LP (Aside...
Published on 1 July 2010 by DucksOpinion


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative Overview of Brilliance, 28 Mar. 2005
By 
Mr. R. D. Powell (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There has been very little 'official' publications about Nirvana over the years for a string of legal reasons and it was brilliant to finally get the 'With The Lights Out' boxset released last year and then we have this...!
What a fantastic documentary!
The DVD begins by introducing the band and producers and the release of Bleach through SubPop (Nirvana's first album) in a way that non-fans will be able to digest, with some audio clips of some of their best songs off of their debut. After this prolougue leads an amazing look at the majority of the songs off Nevermind; the vocal breakdowns, the success, the melodies and how the songs were built and recorded. There are some real incredible moments when the viewer is treated to some of Kurt's vocals recorded and mixed by Butch Vig simply on their own and then harmonies he built around them, both haunting and beautiful. There are some great anacdotes by Krist & Dave and some informative concepts by the producer, Biographer and various MTV crew, all enigmatic poingant and wonderful. There is an abundance of information here and imagery that has never before been seen (even by hardened avid Nirvana fans). The best parts for me were points when you could really see in Dave and Krist's eyes as they talk, that they really have produced an amazing record with, without doubt, one of the worlds greatest rock legends. The documentary was just long enough, straight to the point, interesting and powerful without over guilding, drawing out and exhausting. There are some fun and more 'laid back' extras to enjoy after the hour long viewing including the 'Nevermind Baby' Spencer Eldon talking and also a live rendition of 'Polly' that most of you guys would have seen before but sits well at the end of the DVD as the song is talked about personally in the main feature. Overall, if you're a faithful Nirvana fan or simply love rock music, this DVD will interest and marvel you - a DVD, because it is an OFFICIAL release, is not jumpy, frayed and of bad quality with no visual clips and sounds, but sharp, intelligent and full to the brim of great live moments and audio punctuations. I didn't feel that the DVD was a total 5 out of 5 as at the end I still felt slightly hungry for something that I believed wasn't totally 'served up' during the course of the documentary. But hey, that's just me... Still pretty damn outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY ABSORBING, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
J. Cugley (CAERPHILLY, MID GLAMORGAN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you a fan of Nirvana and in particular Kurt's songwriting abilities then this dvd is a must. Don't mistake it for one of those unofficial rip of dvds, This is put together very well and hearing the songs broken down really gives a great insight into how everything came together to produce this album. I avoided buying this dvd at first because I have seen to many other Nirvana documentries and expected it to be too self congratulating and full of stuff I already knew but I was wrong, it was totally absorbing. I have always thought that Kurt was one of the most talented singer/songwriters ever, but after watching this I was left with the feeling that I had under estimated him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 2 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a great dvd. As a huge Nirvana/Kurt Cobain fan its great to finally be able to see a dvd that contains real footage of the band, people who were really with the band AND most importantly Krist and Dave!! There are so many unofficial rip off dvd's full of bad pictures, information we already know and people we've never heard of!! This is none of them. It is full of footage of the band, funny stories and interviews and fantastic in depth sections of the songs on Nevermind that make you remember what a great band Nirvana are and what a rare and amazing talent Kurt Cobain was. If you're a Nirvana fan buy it NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the concise effort I'd hoped for., 1 July 2010
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is worth a watch. Beyond that, I'm not so sure. I can't see myself needing to rewatch it ever.

It talks about the aborted Sub Pop LP, which would have been Nevermind. In fact, it covers the road to Nevermind really well with the drummer swap-outs and the way the DGC deal went down.

However, it only focuses on the 1st side of the LP (Aside from Something in the Way). Pretty much no mention is made whatsoever of the B-Side. No mention of singles from the LP aside from the Smells Like Teen Spirit video.
How about the 'Pay to Play' story? That isn't mentioned at all.
Butch Vig tends to repeat himself a hell of a lot - although he does have some good insights.
It also talks a lot about Kurt. As Kris Novoselic puts it - and I (mis)quote: "There were three members of Nirvana."
It must suck for him and Dave Grohl sometimes being so overlooked in that band.

I'm not the biggest Nirvana fan, but even I know there was more to the LP than this.

There is very little to cover the Nevermind-fallout. The effect it had...
It is mentioned, but thats about it. In fact, we get record executives telling us that "If we sold 50,000 units - half what Sonic Youth did with 'Dirty' - it would have been a success.
Great. So, er...fancy telling us how many they sold then or am I going to have to go look it up myself?

I guess thats a kind of good analogy for this DVD. Great build up which ultimately fails to deliver as it is so full of holes and so very limp in the second half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is great! It shows more of the producing side of the music, about Kurt's thought process behind the album cover and more. It goes in depth into the songs (more music than the lyrics). Great to get more of an inside into his music.

I would give it 5 stars, but I think it could have been a bit longer, and previewed a bit more footage of Kurt himself in his heyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insight!, 19 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The "Classic Album" series of dvd's offers a wonderful look at an albums construct and deconstruct. Most haunting of all is hearing Cobain's stripped down voice minus any instruments.He is also a vastly underrated songwriter and for anyone who can remember buying the album when it originally came out, will appreciate this slice of reminiscence with sheer delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION., 8 Feb. 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION. BECAUSE THESE EDITIONS ALWAYS GIVE US A NEW CHANCE TO LOOK BACK THESE CLASSIC ALBUMS AND LEARN MORE FROM THE BONUS MATERIALS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
An interesting chain of events, well, not THAT interesting. Do you think the title was Kurt's way of apologizing for what could have been better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nirvana!!!!!!!!!!, 23 Jun. 2009
By 
J. M. Nuttall "joe" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
i love nirvana so naruraLLY im going to love this! brillant glimpse into what happened in the studio :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
GREAT SERVICE, VERY HAPPY A PLUS:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nevermind - Classic Albums [DVD] [2003]
£6.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews