Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stupendous!
A couple of positive reviews kindled a desire to try this little film out. After it became apparent that it wasn't going to appear too soon in any local rental establishment, I took the plunge and ordered the disk. This turns out to have been one of my very best DVD acquisitions - and if you get a copy, you'll be delighted to own it, too.
My wife was reading when I...
Published on 15 Feb 2005 by Plom de Nume

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Half of film missing
Bought the DVD to have a copy of a film that I had seen in the theater. Half of that film has been edited out.
The theatrical release starts with a mad horse chase that opens the story of one of the couples not being allowed to have another child so the wife keeps insisting that there will be no sex until the husband goes to the city to by condoms. All of that...
Published 4 months ago by Tenzin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars communion with nature, 25 April 2011
By 
an amazing documentary produced by a film student as one learns at the beginning of the movie...the plot is unsophisticated, and at first sight it has nothing spectacular to make it into a movie... yet the simplicity of how people go about their business in complete communion with nature is lovely and magnificently filmed...this movie reminds me of those little special things that count.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical and mystical, 9 Dec 2005
By 
Mrs. H. Howe "sha79702" (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am planning to go to Mongolia next year and a friend recommended I watched this film and I couldn't really get out of it. I sat transfixed as I watched it, then called down my partner and played it again. A beautiful film. I challenge you to watch it without getting a tear in your eye at the scenes and the haunting music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Docu-drama, 14 Nov 2004
By 
Chris Reed (Penrith, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
An astounding movie. Filmed in a simple documentary narrative style, the beauty of the life of the Mongolian nomads in the Gobi Desert and the stories that unfold are better than any soap opera. To tell the story of why the camel was crying and how his story ends would spoil this rivetting film. What emerges is that, despite such a profoundly different life to ours in the north, kids are still kids, bribed with tv's and sweets, mum still runs the home, the family, the world and heals the family camel with singing and just like Croydon, the local two string fiddler can be relied upon to come round on his Honda 90 and put the universe back on it's tracks with his magic fiddle. No Arnie, no Britney, no Speilberg, just lots of real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Camel, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This beautiful film testifies to the innocent and hard-working life of happy people and to the power of traditional therapy, in this case music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Slower And More Pensive Pace, 16 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is such a beautiful contrast to so many of the fast-action films that usually hit the headlines and, for that alone, it is well worth watching.
In an age and culture where we expect immediate remedies, where babies are born in clinical settings and induced if they are late, where we rush from one place to the next, this beautiful film presents an entirely different way of life. The slow migration of the family; the interaction between all the generations and, above all, the genuine concern for the camel, is so beautiful. The filming is absolutely superb! How on earth they managed to film the camel as they did is amazing to me.
A really beautiful and simple story, and one that is as absorbing as any action-packed thriller!

Most Beautiful Princess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Half of film missing, 4 May 2014
This review is from: The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought the DVD to have a copy of a film that I had seen in the theater. Half of that film has been edited out.
The theatrical release starts with a mad horse chase that opens the story of one of the couples not being allowed to have another child so the wife keeps insisting that there will be no sex until the husband goes to the city to by condoms. All of that story is gone.
There is an encounter with a Russian truck driver who "crashes" in the lives of the two families is also all gone. It was a great observation of the meeting of two very different cultures.
The story of the rejected camel is all there but that was only one part of much more involving film.
Truly a sad loss.
If anyone finds the complete film on DVD please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film WATCH IT !, 12 Dec 2011
By 
D.R.McBride (London, England) - See all my reviews
other reviewers cover the synopsis let me just add that for me it transported me to another world that I feel privileged to have visited .
WATCH IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this film., 5 Dec 2011
By 
K. P. Borley "Little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese" (Battlesbridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. In 'The Story of the weeping Camel' you will spend some time with a family of nomadic shepherds in Mongolia. This in itself makes for fascinating viewing, a world so far removed from that of modern civilisation. As a viewer you immediately warm to the family as they go about their daily lives. By the close of the film you are totally won over by them. Add to this the comings and goings between a mother camel (who has just given birth for the first time) and her white calf that she refuses to accept, and you have an enthralling one-and-a-half hours of entertainment. Statements of praise are often written on the front covers of films and more often than not they fail to live up to them. Not so 'The Story of the Weeping Camel'. On it's cover it says "Magical and touching . . . a genuine miracle", "Absolutely priceless", "Sublime . . astonishing" - it is all of this and more. Full credit must be given to the makers of this film for allowing it to flow at it's own gentle pace. It could have easily been contaminated by wanting 'more' and making things happen which would have removed the natural ambiance of the film. This is a wonderful antidote to the noisy, violent, gun-toting, explosive pics that we are saturated with in this day and age. Here we have something that is genuine, moving, gentle, deeply human, heartwarming and truly wonderful.. . . and the stars of the show are of course the camels and you can't help but feel love for these wonderful creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern fable, 3 April 2011
This is a delightful story based in a Mongolian community. It is gentle and moves at a pace many of us will have forgotten existed. It can be viewed on several levels from the pure delight of a well crafted fable to a thoughtful expose of modern life. Excellent viewing for all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming (if artless) Mongolian documentary, 22 Aug 2008
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
The title of this documentary from Mongolia is not a metaphor - there is an actual weeping camel in the movie. Directed by a Mongolian woman and an Italian man who met as students at a German film school and set in the Mongolian steppe, the plot is slight and the directing style is somewhat artless, yet the story is charming and interesting. After a difficult delivery, a mother camel refuses to nurse her young. The camel owners (nomadic Mongolian shepherds, living in a ger in the steppe) send their two children to the city in order to get a violinist to convince the camel, through music, to feed her baby. And the movie allows us to see a particular civilization that is increasingly encroached by the modern world (one of the movie's most poignant scenes had the children demanding their father for a television).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD]
The Story Of The Weeping Camel [2004] [DVD] by Luigi Falorni (DVD - 2004)
5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews