Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£29.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2010
"Elvis Now" was originally released on vinyl in 1972 and the majority of the songs come from sessions held at RCA's Studio B in Nashville. However, just one song actually comes from the famous American Sound Studio Memphis sessions, held on January 21st 1969 and that is "Hey Jude"! The first two songs from Studio B come from a June 1970 session, with "I Was Born 10,000 Years Ago" getting it's first proper release here. It was previously used mixing in & out between the tracks on "Elvis Country". From a session held in March 1971 Gordon Lightfoot's "Early Morning Rain" was committed to wax, and it's a particularly delicate version, with good guitar work from Chip Young. A very long session, known as the "Nashville Marathon", from 15th to 21st June of the same year produced five more Studio B tracks, including the Hit Single "Until It's Time For You To Go/We Can Make The Morning". Interestingly this session also produced "The Miracle Of The Rosary", which has been rather mysteriously 'dropped' from several of his gospel albums. So get it here while you can! Another gospel song, the infectious "Put Your Hand In The Hand" is the final Studio B offering, from a session held on June 6th 1971. For those who may think Elvis only exists from 100 "Greatest Hits" compilations this album contains material you may well not have heard. It's well worth expanding your Elvis horizons with this album!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2007
An overall good album with 'The King' in fine voice on such recordings as "Help Me Make It Through The Night", "We Can Make The Morning", and "Sylvia". The classic "Until It's Time For You To Go" is included on this set which was his hit single at the time. I love his arrangement of "Fools Rush In" with James Burton taking lead with his great finger-pickin' style. The country-flavoured "Early Morning Rain" features here but I prefer Elvis' on-stage performance of this song recorded with J.D Sumner & The Stamps for his "Aloha From Hawaii" Satellite Concert from 1973. I was never too keen on "Put Your Hand In The Hand" and Elvis on this album still hasn't convinced me to become a fan of this song. It's great to hear the jam of "I Was Born About Ten Thousand Years Ago" in it's entirety after we were treated to only snippets of this song on the brilliant "Elvis Country" album from 1970. The one odd-ball performance on this album is Elvis' 1969 jam of The Beatles' "Hey Jude" - this should have been kept off this album originally and left intended for a Memphis '69 Anthology album, which we now have available. Overall, "Elvis Now" is a good listen but I've never classed it as one of EP's best 70's efforts...but it certainly beats "Harum Scarum".
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
‘Elvis Now’ is a 1972 album in name only. Elvis was struggling to keep himself together after Priscilla left him. He lacked sufficient focus to record a complete album of new material, much less involve himself in hunting out good songs and thinking about matters to do with arrangements and production. So ‘Now’ was compiled in desperation by the old RCA Victor label with recourse to some archival recordings that had been deemed unusable. ‘Miracle of The Rosary’, ‘Early Mornin’ Rain’ and ‘We Can Make The Morning’ are good. But ‘Hey Jude’ is an unlistenable, tongue-in-cheek jam taped fully 3 years earlier, ‘Sylvia’ is a shouty ballad from 1970 that had been overlooked even for the 'Love Letters From Elvis' rejects collection, and ‘I Was Born About Ten Thousand Years Ago’ is a country hoedown performed for larks in a studio that same year. ‘Until It’s Time For You To Go’ was put out as a single only after Elvis tried to re-record it but was unable to better the unsatisfactory master included here. The country standards ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’ and ‘Fools Rush In’ are bland, and ‘Put Your Hand In The Hand’ is harrowingly naff. ‘Elvis Now’ is one of the worst albums of his career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
This album was released in Jan 1972 and the songs taken from recording done between June 1970 and June 1971. The 80 recording made during this period were compiled into 6 albums, 'Elvis Now' being one of them. If I hadn't read that on the cd cover I would have said some of these recording were from much later on in his life. To me his voice shows little of the unique Elvis sound and phrasing on some of these recordings and one of them, 'Miracle of the Rosary' is just plain awful. Sadly, on some of them he sounds like any 'big balad singer' more like he did towards the end of his Las Vegas years. Elvis was known for making a song his own and sounding like no one else but on these recording he has copied arrangements, most notably, the Beatles 'Hey Jude'. The exception to the above is 'Early Morning Rain' and the lively 'I was born about Ten Thousand Years Ago' both uniquely Elvis. A while ago I read Ernst Jorgenson's complete account of Elvis' recording career and I noted the albums he rated. 'Elvis Country' was the only one of the 6 albums mentioned above that I made a note of. I was very disappointed with this cd and I am a dedicated Elvis lover.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2008
Unlike the 1972 LP Hey Jude has been omitted for some reason ?
Not a bad album altogether, anything is better than "Harum Scarum".
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
This was a present for a friend who's a HUGE Elvis fan, he loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2006
This album is brilliant from start to finish. Except one, all the tracks are classic ballads including a cover of the beatles "Hey Jude". Favourites of mine include `Help me make it through the night`, `We can make the morning` and `Early morning rain.` Brill!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
An excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£30.81

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.