Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis then & Now!
"Elvis Now" was originally released on vinyl in 1972 and the majority of the songs come from sessions held at RCA's Studio B in Nashville. However, just one song actually comes from the famous American Sound Studio Memphis sessions, held on January 21st 1969 and that is "Hey Jude"! The first two songs from Studio B come from a June 1970 session, with "I Was Born 10,000...
Published on 27 Jan. 2010 by Bernard F. A. Roughton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Now...and Then
An overall good album with 'The King' in fine voice on such recordings as "Help Me Make It Through The Night", "We Can Make The Morning", and "Sylvia". The classic "Until It's Time For You To Go" is included on this set which was his hit single at the time. I love his arrangement of "Fools Rush In" with James Burton taking lead with his great finger-pickin' style. The...
Published on 21 Jan. 2007 by CosmicDwellings


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis then & Now!, 27 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Elvis Now (Audio CD)
"Elvis Now" was originally released on vinyl in 1972 and the majority of the songs come from sessions held at RCA's Studio B in Nashville. However, just one song actually comes from the famous American Sound Studio Memphis sessions, held on January 21st 1969 and that is "Hey Jude"! The first two songs from Studio B come from a June 1970 session, with "I Was Born 10,000 Years Ago" getting it's first proper release here. It was previously used mixing in & out between the tracks on "Elvis Country". From a session held in March 1971 Gordon Lightfoot's "Early Morning Rain" was committed to wax, and it's a particularly delicate version, with good guitar work from Chip Young. A very long session, known as the "Nashville Marathon", from 15th to 21st June of the same year produced five more Studio B tracks, including the Hit Single "Until It's Time For You To Go/We Can Make The Morning". Interestingly this session also produced "The Miracle Of The Rosary", which has been rather mysteriously 'dropped' from several of his gospel albums. So get it here while you can! Another gospel song, the infectious "Put Your Hand In The Hand" is the final Studio B offering, from a session held on June 6th 1971. For those who may think Elvis only exists from 100 "Greatest Hits" compilations this album contains material you may well not have heard. It's well worth expanding your Elvis horizons with this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Now...and Then, 21 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Elvis Now (Audio CD)
An overall good album with 'The King' in fine voice on such recordings as "Help Me Make It Through The Night", "We Can Make The Morning", and "Sylvia". The classic "Until It's Time For You To Go" is included on this set which was his hit single at the time. I love his arrangement of "Fools Rush In" with James Burton taking lead with his great finger-pickin' style. The country-flavoured "Early Morning Rain" features here but I prefer Elvis' on-stage performance of this song recorded with J.D Sumner & The Stamps for his "Aloha From Hawaii" Satellite Concert from 1973. I was never too keen on "Put Your Hand In The Hand" and Elvis on this album still hasn't convinced me to become a fan of this song. It's great to hear the jam of "I Was Born About Ten Thousand Years Ago" in it's entirety after we were treated to only snippets of this song on the brilliant "Elvis Country" album from 1970. The one odd-ball performance on this album is Elvis' 1969 jam of The Beatles' "Hey Jude" - this should have been kept off this album originally and left intended for a Memphis '69 Anthology album, which we now have available. Overall, "Elvis Now" is a good listen but I've never classed it as one of EP's best 70's efforts...but it certainly beats "Harum Scarum".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Hey Jude, 29 July 2008
This review is from: Elvis Now (Audio CD)
Unlike the 1972 LP Hey Jude has been omitted for some reason ?
Not a bad album altogether, anything is better than "Harum Scarum".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he loved it!, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Valentina Marangoni (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Now (Audio CD)
This was a present for a friend who's a HUGE Elvis fan, he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
E. Braben - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Now (Audio CD)
This album was released in Jan 1972 and the songs taken from recording done between June 1970 and June 1971. The 80 recording made during this period were compiled into 6 albums, 'Elvis Now' being one of them. If I hadn't read that on the cd cover I would have said some of these recording were from much later on in his life. To me his voice shows little of the unique Elvis sound and phrasing on some of these recordings and one of them, 'Miracle of the Rosary' is just plain awful. Sadly, on some of them he sounds like any 'big balad singer' more like he did towards the end of his Las Vegas years. Elvis was known for making a song his own and sounding like no one else but on these recording he has copied arrangements, most notably, the Beatles 'Hey Jude'. The exception to the above is 'Early Morning Rain' and the lively 'I was born about Ten Thousand Years Ago' both uniquely Elvis. A while ago I read Ernst Jorgenson's complete account of Elvis' recording career and I noted the albums he rated. 'Elvis Country' was the only one of the 6 albums mentioned above that I made a note of. I was very disappointed with this cd and I am a dedicated Elvis lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Is THE KING!!, 16 Feb. 2006
By 
Benny Boy (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis Now (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant from start to finish. Except one, all the tracks are classic ballads including a cover of the beatles "Hey Jude". Favourites of mine include `Help me make it through the night`, `We can make the morning` and `Early morning rain.` Brill!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Now
Elvis Now by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews