Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drum & Bass To The Next Level
Only one word describes this album - 'awesome'.
Every now and then someone comes along who produces something magical on the scene. On this album High Contrast has fused melodies with Drum & Bass to awesome effect.
The title track and 'Racing Green' (a huge uplifting track, which was a hit on the scene earlier in the year) stand out for me as the best tracks on...
Published on 23 Sep 2004 by Jullian Bailey-Gard

versus
6 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Back to the drawing board
Most D&B albums end up gathering dust in my sitting-room very quickly, so every time I listen to one prior to buying it I try to imagine myself playing it incessantly, but that never happens, and true to form this album is already dust gathering. On a positive note 'Racing Green' should be the music to a family car advert it is so catchy. 'Lovesick' and 'Tutti Frutti'...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Peter Bonnar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drum & Bass To The Next Level, 23 Sep 2004
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
Only one word describes this album - 'awesome'.
Every now and then someone comes along who produces something magical on the scene. On this album High Contrast has fused melodies with Drum & Bass to awesome effect.
The title track and 'Racing Green' (a huge uplifting track, which was a hit on the scene earlier in the year) stand out for me as the best tracks on the album, the former with Dynamite MC on vocals. The title track 'High Society' is where I feal High Contrast displays how Drum & Bass fits so well with melodies, apose to the mish mash of poor drum beats and bad production (so often the case with many a dub plate). The album also includes guest vocals from Nolay and Spoonface, these being the only tracks that feature vocals. The track featuring Nolay 'Angels and Fly' starts out as a hip hop based track and almost ruins the album., as it would not follow the format of the rest of the album. However, it soon bursts into life after a short breakdown and actually adds to the album, as again it is something different.
High Contrast has kept the album largely melody based, but at the same time it still keeps the drums rolling. If you have bought any of the 'Hospital' compilations the beats you are getting here will not be too unfimiliar to you, along with the two step style (as used for Dynamite MC on his track 'Ride'). The album also includes 'The Basement Track' from last year as a bonus track (a two step track with a rolling base line). This rounds off the album nicely.
Listening to this album reminded me of the first time I heard Goldie, where something completely different had been done with Drum and Bass. Hopefully this album will inspire likeminded DJ's and Producers to do similar things, as I feal this is he way forward for Drum & Bass in the future. I don't have the first album, but I will definately be buying it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome, 2 Oct 2006
By 
P. Hawkins "pete_991" (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
Before buying this cd i'll be honest DnB was not a musical genre I really enjoyed but this album has changed my mindset on it totally...this cd is just incredible. From start to finish its beautifully mixed up with vocals and effects but still retaining the thumping bass lines that just add to the experience! Easily the best album of the year for me...highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reality check - something new?, 13 July 2005
By 
king los "king_los" (nowhere, the midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
the problem with any set of reviews for a DnB album - you will always get one 'purist' who will demonstrate their DnB credentials by:
a. automatically slate anything with vocals. (especially female vocals. misogyny - i think so.)
b. slate anything which doesn't comply with the standard laws of jungle - the rigid contraints that are choking the genre and making it very samey, dull and uninspired.
NB: anything not by ed rush or optical will automatically get slated. if in doubt - please also check any review of kosheen and lamb.
'high contrast' is clearly trying to mess around with the form, add his own flavour to the proceedings, and generally do something new with DnB. this is commendable. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. when it doesn't - yes, it can be pretty weak. but when 'high contrast' gets it right - man, it is really really good. the two highlights IMO are the malevolent eighties-inflected 'natural high' and the soulful (but pretentiously named!) 'twightlights last gleaming'.
overall - the mis-steps are not as embarassing as some would have you beleive, the standard is pretty high, and the highs are remarkable.
if you are window-lickingly contented with the standard jungle format, set 10 years ago and utterly unchanged ever since - then look elsewhere. if you are a bit more open-minded about DnB, and want something that is a bit more commercial, without being subversive pop, then look no further. and check out this album - it contains some real quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than True Colours, 11 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
Taking the drum'n'bass album to the next level, High Contrast's 'High Society' - possibly the most anticipated artist longplayer of the year - arrives in all its glory.
'High Society' is High Contrast's (born Lincoln Barrett) follow up to 2002's stunning debut 'True Colours', which recently made iDJ magazine's "All Time Dance Albums" listing.
'High Society' features variety and style as its main ingredients - from dancefloor thumpers like 'Racing Green', 'Tutti Frutti' and 'Persistence Of Memory', to genre bending selections like the dancehall-soulboy styles of the Spoonface-led 'Only Two Can Play', to future classic 'Angels And Fly' that brings in upcoming grime star vocalist Nolay, and the Dynamite MC vocalled title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but not the best, 15 April 2009
By 
Mr. Hugh Crighton "H" (Uxbridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd, just not quite so good as Watch the Ride but still well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People Talk of Taking Things to the Next Level, 30 Aug 2004
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
The second album from High Contrast is perhaps the most highly-anticipated DnB release this year. Following the runaway success of his debut album True Colours in 2002, High Contrast has gone on to establish himself as one of the leading A-list producer/djs on the international scene. Over this 2 year period, Lincoln has DJ'd in about every outernational territory from Korea to Canada, and last year remixed his way through such heavyweight names as The Streets, D-Kay and Adam F.
High Society once again raises the quality threshold in Drum & Bass. From dancefloor smashers like Racing Green, Tutti Frutti and The Persistence of Memory to genre-bending nuggets like Only Two Can Play with dancehall-soulboy Spoonface, and the future-classic Angels & Fly featuring up & coming grime star vocalist Nolay. This album pulls no punches - Trust, there is only one High Contrast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC DRUM N BASS WITH SOUL., 26 Feb 2005
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
THIS IS CLASSIC DRUM N BASS FROM HIGH CONTRASTS LINCOLN BARRET,SUPERB PRODUCTION,GREAT BASELINES HARD BEATS BUT STILL HAS TONS OF SOUL.THIS IS LINCOLNS SECOND ALBUM,THE FOLLOW UP TO "TRUE COLOURS" ALREADY HAILED A CLASSIC BY MANY DRUM N BASS FOLLOWERS.EVERY TRACK IS FANTASTIC SO ITS HARD TO PICK A FAVOURITE. IF YOU LIKE YOUR DRUM N BASS WITH SOUL,FUNKY BASSLINES AND ROLLING BEATS,YOU WONT FIND FIND ANY BETTER THAN THIS.LINCOLN BARRET HAS NOW WRITTEN 2 CLASSIC DRUM N BASS ALBUMS.CAN THIS MAN DO NO WRONG? SUPERB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favouite album ever?, 10 Aug 2006
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
This album is sheer class. Start to finish.

If I was banished to a desert island and could only take one album with me, High Society would get the nod ahead of Leftism. Oh yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In A Word Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!, 22 Mar 2005
By 
koolsy (Cirencester!!!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
Wow What an album! I'm hoping to buy 'True Colors' soon and If it's half as good as this album then my feet will be bruised from all the jumping. It's hard to believe that so much emotion can be put into a dance album but this genious has done it. From the enphatic happiness of 'Racing Green' and 'Lovesick' to the dramatic 'Twighlights last gleaming'. The vocal tracks are vastly different showing Lincoln's great versitilaty. My personal favourite is 'Only two can play'. I was on the drum n bass arena website the other day and Mr. Barett had two tracks in the top ten of 2004. I'm not surprised. The only track i did not like on this album was 'yesterdays coluors'( bit pants really). Anyway, 'High society' I say buy it. Even if your not a great fan of d n b. It's soulful, meaningful, lucious music with great melodies and basslines. i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Back to the drawing board, 11 April 2005
By 
Peter Bonnar (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Society (Audio CD)
Most D&B albums end up gathering dust in my sitting-room very quickly, so every time I listen to one prior to buying it I try to imagine myself playing it incessantly, but that never happens, and true to form this album is already dust gathering. On a positive note 'Racing Green' should be the music to a family car advert it is so catchy. 'Lovesick' and 'Tutti Frutti' also have a catchy touch of poppiness to them. But the rest are highly forgettable. Every D&B album has to have a stinker or two - ' Angels and Fly' is a horrendously crap female rap tune scrambling for street-cred. That makes you start to wonder about quality control. But there is worse - Track 10 'Only two can play' should be on an Italian porn film soundtrack. Someone at Hospital Records quality dept. should be taken out and shot for this aural insult.
Basically, don't buy the album, it only has two or three good tracks and an abundance of very bad ones. Not to be totally negative about the Hospital label, I would recommend London Elektricity's Billion Dollar Gravy as an antidote to this misery. Back to the drawing board...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Society
High Society by High Contrast (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews