Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Review, What Do You Think?
At first I thought this is an average album that only had one good song on the album 'Getting Away With Murder' (which sold the album to me). I was expecting songs similar to the first two albums and the new song. It took me a couple of listens to get used to this album.
This is an album completely different from their first two albums and 'Getting Away With...
Published on 10 Sep 2004 by Alex Meah

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Finding It Hard To Follow Infest
Papa Roach are the band that got me into the music that i listen to today. I thank them for that, but for me, nothing they do will top 2001's infest. At least this is better than "the album that shouldnt be named" Love Hate Tragedy. A few of the tracks on Getting Away With Murder are reminiscent of Infest e.g. Tyranny Normality & Do or Die but only a few.I wish someone...
Published on 7 Sep 2004 by jamie4uk2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Review, What Do You Think?, 10 Sep 2004
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
At first I thought this is an average album that only had one good song on the album 'Getting Away With Murder' (which sold the album to me). I was expecting songs similar to the first two albums and the new song. It took me a couple of listens to get used to this album.
This is an album completely different from their first two albums and 'Getting Away With Murder'.
Why 5 Stars?
This album is full of well written songs, every song is instantly great. Yeah sure they've had great songs('Between Angels & Insects' to name but one) that sounded great but never a great album to go with the couple of great songs they have.
This is their great album, however its not for their guitar rifts or the drum beats that made their first two albums but for Jacoby Shaddix vocals. The rifts and the beats add to Jacoby's vocals to make them even more meaningful. and never drown him out.

Every song has emotion that i've never known Papa Roach to have before, just listen to the emotion that goes through Jacoby's voice in the song 'SCARS', as he sings the chorus 'I Tear My Heart Open - I Sew Myself Shut - My Weakness Is That I Care Too Much - Our Scars Remind Us The Past Is Real -I Tear My Heart Open Just To Feel' to anyone else they may seem average but Jacoby puts real emotion into them to make them really meaningful. This deserves to be released as a single.
This album has its full of emotional songs for different feelings, 'Do or Die', 'Blood (empty promises)', 'Take Me', 'Done With You' and 'Promises' that are the real standout songs on the album.

Don't expect an album in a similar sound to 'Getting Away With Murder', it has a very different techno vibe going for it, its very different musically to every other song on the album. Its no bad thing. Its the big song to sell the album. Just don't be suprised when you buy it by the difference musically and emotionally of the whole album, from it.
A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Papa Roach hit back after Lovehatetragedy, 31 Aug 2004
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
This album has been a long time coming, as any fan will know, it was originally due out about a year ago, and then set back to March, then eventually a concrete date of August 30th, 2004.
As soon as the explosive opener 'Blood' starts, you know its Papa Roach, with Jacoby Shaddix's heartfelt "I will forgive but i wont forget/And i hope you know that you've lost my respect" being sung over soft music before the drums of Dave Buckner just before Jacoby begins the onslaught.
The rest of the album continues the trend of Papa Roach experimenting new sounds and styles which has long been their way ever since 'Potatoes for Christmas' and their other independent releases which are now long out of print and highly sought after by hardcore fans on places such as eBay.
Stand out tracks include 'Blood' the title track 'Getting away with murder', 'Not listening' addressed to "The commander in chief" in the sleeve notes. The melodic 'Take me' is a great track too.
Widely rumoured to be the next track 'Scars' showcases Papa Roach's melodic side with Jacoby stating that his weakness is he "cares to much".
Tyranny of Normality is one of the heavier track and has Jacoby speaking out against the mainstream media stating that it is the "seduction of human desire" and that if it tries to show you the truth it's a "liar", later Jacoby screams that he wants "to turn a new page!!!"
Papa Roach are proving that they are not going to take the low record sales of Lovehatetragedy lying down, but nor are they going to write Infest part II, they will continue do music they way they want to, and write the songs the want too.
From a reviewing side of things, it would be "nice" to able to say go and listen to track so and so on some album, or go and listen to another band to get a feel for this album, but that is not possible, because again Papa Roach have written a CD that is out there on its own, they have broken the mould, and I welcome it
Viva la cucaracha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music fans, put Infest out your mind, 19 Sep 2004
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
Let's face it, Infest was about as bad as nu/rap-metal pap got back before it started dying out. The second album headed in the right direction, but the songs just didn't grab you. This third album is nothing like how PR started out, and thank god. Straight ahead rock, with, get this, SINGING, and MELODY replaces angsty-teen lyrics and nu-metal riffs that will come to mind when most think "Papa roach". There's little doubt it wont sell like Infest, and this is one of the endearing qualities of this album and where papa roach are heading; even if you don't totally dig the songs here, they deserve a lot of respect for doing the opposite of selling out, when they could have simply got a guaranteed hit album with the rap/nu-metal formula.
I could name "highlight tracks", but the list would make up most of the album, so just put away your prejudice against the name on the album cover for 45 minutes, and you could be very pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beats Love Hate Tragedy by a mile!!! But what about Infest?, 5 Sep 2004
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
I was unsure of this album before I got it. I've been a fan of Paparoach since Infest, but after love hate tradgedy,
I was unsure if Paparoach could create anything new and original. There was an interview with the band on the new album, They kept saying something on the lines of,
"we were experimenting with new sounds, which gave our music another direction",
you get the picture. Anyone who bought the last Offspring
album-Splinter, (was nothing special) will know that such claims mean one of two things in this genre. Firstly that it sounds exactly the same as every other album, or like the new blink182 album is a more artistic "grown up" direction to music.
Well Getting away with murder, is neither. Its true for a lot of the album, paparoach have found a new sound, its not grown up and "arty" it doesnt sound like their other albums, its generally quite fresh and unexpectead. However its still has the paparoach sound. Songs like Not Listening, Getting Away With Murder, Done With You, Scars, and Blanket of Fear are good old fasioned p-roach songs. But there are quite a lot of more experimental tracks on the album. Be Free, has a main guitar riff, which is more remenicent of 70's 80's rock songs. Sometimes, is an interesting acoustic styled song, with a typical p-roach chorus. While Do or Die, is a strangely uplifting song, for a paparoach album.
Paparoach manage to cross different genres while keeping to their nu-metal roots. That said Getting Away With Mruder lacks some of the awsome riffs accociated with the roach, as the bass now seems to be the front running instrument of the band.
The big question every Roach fan wants to know is, is it better than infest? Anwser, no, but its dam close!
Standout Tracks: Getting Away With Murder, Be Free, Scars, Sometimes, and Do or Die.
sorry if there's any reprinted words at the start and end of sentences, Amazon's acting all wierd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its Do or Die, 19 Jan 2005
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
"Cut my life into pieces..." cried Coby Dick on the breakthrough record, 5 years on and a commercial flop follow-up (lovehatetragedy) and these wounds are being reopened in a way that not many could have expected.
With Howard Benson (Hoobastank, POD) under the production wing, Getting Away With Murder sounds more melodic, the songs sound more like anthems. Gone here is the rap, thankfully as it was dying a slow death and nobody could resurrect it. The title track and lead single sounds very much sinister in its title and one of the hookiest tracks on the cd, shedding away the disaster they previously had. Scars and Sometimes are literally power ballads and they are personal favourites, oh and lets not forget the latter has a guitar solo!
Each track rages with anger, disappointment and despair, but in such a way that you can't help but enjoy Jacoby's anguish in his lyrics time and time again. The music is more catchy, not one song on here is dominated by the lyrics, the music rocks with authority and in today's world isn't that what we are after? :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting away with it again, 11 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
Papa Roach are one of my favourite bands, and have been since shortly after Infest. This new album is deffinatly shows off their ability and the versitility of the band.
When I first saw the GAWM video on their site, I have to admit, I was scared about the direction that they were taking. But, after listening to the song for a few (dozen) times, I had to class it as one of the best songs of the year.
Then, I went to see the band in London at the Astoria. Godlike. The whole gig rocked. They played songs from all three albums, mixing the power of Infest and Blood Brothers, the angsty Black Clouds and then the new sounds from this offering.
The songs were all amazingly well recieved, with the moshing and energy never dropping off. The new tunes were as well recieved as the old, and the power of the songs spoke for themselfs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best album ever, 4 Feb 2007
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
If LoveHateTragedy marked the low point for this band, this album marks the turning and high point for them. I quite simply can't get enough of this album, and it is even better than its phenominal follow up "The Paramour Sessions."

I have a 3cd stereo, and it is as simple as 2 of the spaces are taken up by this album and The Paramour sessions 24/7, 365, and the 3rd space is for whatever tickles my fancy at the time.

This album doesn't have one bad song at all. It shows Papa Roach evolving from the nu-metal act they once were to a legitimate hard rock band, and putting together some great songs including the beautiful "Scars" and the amazing title track "Getting Away With Murder" which I still rate as the best song on earth.

I cannot rate this highly enough. It is as simple as this. It is now the 4th of february 2007. This cd has not been out of my cd player since the day it came out. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album!, 21 Sep 2005
By 
S Fielding (Runcorn, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
Papa Roach have done it again, another album FULL of great tracks, not just a few hits. I recommend you buy it as it provides hours of enjoyment. The bonus tracks arnt bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, just awesome., 9 Sep 2004
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
I got this album on the day of release, and I've been playing it almost non-stop since. P-Roach have most definitely evolved; from rap-rock, to full blown rock n roll. The drumming is supurb, and Jacoby Shaddix's vocals will blow you away. Stand out songs are Take Me, Not Listening and Be Free. There's emotion, there's rock, and there's anthemic choruses. You'll want to rock out to this one all year long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blows you away, 1 Sep 2004
This review is from: Getting Away With Murder (Audio CD)
Amazing. Simply Amazing. The rap-metal days are gone, and replaced with full on rock. The album is full of catchy hooks and relevant lyrics, with the odd Few political angles thrown in. In this Album Jacoby has really matured as a vocalist and sings more instead of rapping or screaming, which is great.
Overall, I'd advise you to buy this album . You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting Away With Murder
Getting Away With Murder by Papa Roach (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews