Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, sensitive drama
When ex-RAF fighter pilot Reginald Conyngham-Jarvis (Albert Finney) and former milkman Roy Southgate (Tom Courtenay) both become widowers within minutes of each other, an unlikely bond between them begins to form. Both men are from the opposite side of the social spectrum, Reginald, verbose, and self confessed womaniser, nevertheless less fond of his late wife, no idea...
Published on 27 April 2005 by Mark Antony

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting character study
Two elderly men are widowed on the same night in the same hospital. Pompous lecher Reggie (Albert Finney) and meek milkman Southgate (Tom Courtenay) would seem to have little in common, yet they become roommates at the suggestion of a social worker who thinks the situation will ease their grief. Reggie, however, starts bossing Southgate around and treating him like a...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, sensitive drama, 27 April 2005
By 
Mark Antony (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
When ex-RAF fighter pilot Reginald Conyngham-Jarvis (Albert Finney) and former milkman Roy Southgate (Tom Courtenay) both become widowers within minutes of each other, an unlikely bond between them begins to form. Both men are from the opposite side of the social spectrum, Reginald, verbose, and self confessed womaniser, nevertheless less fond of his late wife, no idea of domesticity,and Roy the dedicated husband, never looked at another woman, more outwardly gentle and caring, both begin to share the same house, the formation of an "odd couple" type of scenario.
The theme behind the relationships of this touching, superbly acted drama, based on Angela Lambert's novel, is both characters providing to the other what each person badly needs. As the story unfolds, both men have more in common than either thought, as they both harbour dark secrets of guilt over a lost child. Joanna Lumley is convincing as a local botique owner who sees Reginald, and the money she thinks he has, as a way of escaping from her own debt pressures.
At times humourous, other times sensitive and thought provoking, this wonderful drama is a tribute to the fine acting skills of the main performers, with excellent use of the haunting background music. A modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent film- Courtenay and Finney are excellant, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
On sitting down to this film, I was rather tired but that soon changed. Within Minutes i was glued to the screen. Why? Well the acting is superb, especially from Tom Courtenay. He rightly won the Bafta for best actor. The script also was both very funny and poignant. In fact I found the film version far better than the novel, which seemed to plod along at times. Overall the best film I have seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class entertainment, a joy to watch repeatedly, 11 Sep 2003
I have seen this TV movie a number of times and always find it fresh and totally entertaining. This is script writing at its very best and the three main actors, Finney, Courtenay and Lumley give outstanding performances. Finney and Courtenay are wonderful as an 'odd' couple who choose to give living together 'a go'. Finney is remarkable as a retired Squadron Leader who finds himself having to fend for himself, following the death of his wife. His playing skilfully avoids caricature and displays great humour and poignancy. Courtenay, also on his own (and having a son in prison) and hiding a skeleton in the cupboard, agrees to get together with Finney to share house. To his dismay, Courtenay soon finds that Finney has no intention of sharing the chores and when Ms Lumley appears on the scene thinking she has landed a wealthy catch in the ex-RAF wartime pilot, things take a turn for the worse when Finney has a heart attack. Courtenay and Lumley are fine players and treat the, at times, delicate dialogue with great sensitivity. The ending could so easily have fallen flat, but as it is one is left hoping for a sequel, to follow up the lives of this unlikely couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It could have contined long after it had ended.................., 18 Jun 2010
By 
Derrick Leslie Davidoff (malaga, spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I had not heard of this film until I was browsing your recommended
list you had sent to me. I was totally engrossed with every minute of this little movie which was so beautifully made, acted, and dressed. The three leads were in turn just wonderful and have enjoyed a lot of their work, but Tom Courtenay's perfromance was for me something so special. Such lovely work from everyone envolved with this film and such a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Feb 2009
By 
G. Ephgrave "Signalman" (St albans Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Brilliant, two of Britains best actors paired together in roles that were made for them. A touching story with great humourous moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rather Good Film.., 11 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. L. R. Nicholls (kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A lovely, moving and amusing film. The two leads Albert Finney and Tom Courteney provide performances with much emotion and as ever, the beautuful and versatile Joanna Lumley is perfect as a gold digger with a heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A memorable DVD - Finney and Courtenay at their best, 12 Aug 2012
By 
Ms. J. E. Vesey "Janet V. MusicMad" (Co, Cork. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is something treasure - moving, funny and so beautifully acted. Albert Finney is brilliant as Reginald, the rather cranky (and sometimes sleazy) ex-RAF pilot, struggling to connect with his deeper feelings after becoming a widower. The gentle, widowed ex-milkman played by Tom Courtenay who befriends him makes the perfect contrast. The dialogue between them is hysterical at times, and poignant. Joanna Lumley plays a great role too. I could watch this DVD on a regular basis. I can't recommend it enough,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting character study, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Two elderly men are widowed on the same night in the same hospital. Pompous lecher Reggie (Albert Finney) and meek milkman Southgate (Tom Courtenay) would seem to have little in common, yet they become roommates at the suggestion of a social worker who thinks the situation will ease their grief. Reggie, however, starts bossing Southgate around and treating him like a servant while beginning a dodgy romance with a younger woman.

This well-intentioned "odd couple"-type drama almost hits a home run with top-notch acting from the two stars, but the script glosses over or eliminates much needed information and action. While Southgate doesn't seem to mind being treated like hired help, we never understand why he stays in the relationship, as their friendship is assumed rather than developed in the story. Courtenay is by far the more sympathetic of the two, giving a poignant performance as a truly grieving man who has a family secret. Finney's blustery old windbag is quite rude and unlikable, but he does a good job playing him.

I think this could have been better with another half hour to develop the relationship between the two men; as it is we're left to fill in much of the story ourselves. Still, this simple movie is quite watchable thanks to the talent and charisma of Finney and Courtenay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Journey Of Two Men, 4 Jun 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Reggie Conyngham-Jervis: You are a prissy little tight ass bastard aren't you, Southgate?
Roy Southgate: If you say so, sir.

Marvelous,humorous,sad and lovely; a few words to describe this film. Albert Finney plays Reggie, a Squadron Leader in the RAF during WWII, and he thinks of those years as the best of his life. He meets up with a man,
Roy, played by Tom Courtenay in hospital where both have wives who were dying. They saw each other several times and in fact, both wives died on the same day. Roy attends Reggie's wife's funeral. And, in respect, Reg attends Roy's wife's funeral. Both are visited by a social worker and on the second visit, she suggests that Reg and Roy move in together. Reg has a large home, his wife has left him a small amount of money and when he dies the house goes to a charity. Roy was a milkman of meager means and misses his wife dreadfully, They both think it over and decide this is a good idea.

Roy in fact becomes the subservient wife to Sir, Reggie, the Squadron Leader. Finney plays Reg as an overblown gent drinking and womanizing and hiding his true self. Roy is a good cook and loves caring for the home. Roy dislodges one night that he and his wife had sex every night of their married life. This notches him up higher in Regs eye. Reg tells him he has had more women than he can remember but Roy has had more sex than he did. The two have a day to day life with Roy caring for Reg and Reg going out every night drinking at the pub. And, then a lovely woman comes into the scene- obviously, she is looking for money, and Reg starts a relationship with this woman. Wonder how that turns out?

I absolutely loved this film. Albert Finney and Tom Courtney are perfect in their roles and play together so well. Finney as I said earlier plays an overblown guy and then when we least expect it, his expression changes and we can see in his face what he is really thinking. We know the sadness and the light with Finney's wonderful expressions. Tom Courtney plays it close to the vest and what you see is what you get.

Highly Highly Recommended. prisrob 06-04-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it - so very British :-), 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A small movie with a great cast, very believable and touching. It makes you think that friendship really can take on shapes you didn't immagine before. Suitable for those who need to "calm down".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998]
A Rather English Marriage [DVD] [1998] by Paul Seed (DVD - 2007)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews