Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!!!
I have thoroughly enjoyed watching the series on DVD. I found Roswell by accident after catching the pilot episode on TV and became hooked!

The series stars Jason Behr as Max Evans, Shiri Appleby as Liz Parker, Brendan Fehr as Michael Guerin and Katherine Heigl as Isobel Evans who has since been in Grey's Anatomy and also the film The Ugly Truth.

The...
Published on 12 Oct. 2010 by musefan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The product itself is very good, the quality of the image is a bit ...
The product itself is very good, the quality of the image is a bit grainy, but considering it is from 1999, this is more than ok! The 3 stars are because the containing box came with a scratch (a deep one) and I am absolutely sure that I did not make it when opening the box. THe scratch is on the side of the box and it was placed face down on the box when I opened it...
Published 3 months ago by GeBat


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!!!, 12 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have thoroughly enjoyed watching the series on DVD. I found Roswell by accident after catching the pilot episode on TV and became hooked!

The series stars Jason Behr as Max Evans, Shiri Appleby as Liz Parker, Brendan Fehr as Michael Guerin and Katherine Heigl as Isobel Evans who has since been in Grey's Anatomy and also the film The Ugly Truth.

The box set includes 18 discs and there is the option to have English and French subtitles which is very useful if you are watching it with someone who is hard of hearing. There is also a small booklet inside each series outlining each episode which helps if you have a few days break in between an episode and cannot remember where you got to.

I agree with some of the other reviewers that the third series is not as good as the first and second and part of that is due to the fact that the programme was due to have more series than 3 but was reduced due to the low ratings at the time. I would not let that put you off. Roswell is a great series and often found myself lying a wake a night wondering what was going to happen on Roswell next.

As always, Amazon delivered very quickly and it arrived promptly and well packaged, Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage Drama at its best, 4 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
WOW.... What can i say? Roswell was the first program that i really loved to watch and it still is to this day. Basically, it is about these 3 aliens ~ Max, Michael and Isabel who's ship crash landed in the New Mexican Desert in the year 1947. All throughout season 1 friendships are being fromed as more people learn the aliens secret, season 2 is all about trying to piece together what happened by any means possible and season 3 is all about what happens when the wrong people learn about the differnces in Liz, Maria and Kyle's "Czechoslovakian" friends.- True Roswell fans will be familiar with that term! There really is no way of truly saying how amazing this program is that could possibly give it the justice that it deserves... the only way that you could find out is just to buy it and see for yourself! PS... When the production company threatened to pull the plug on Roswell, roughly 15 000 bottles of tabasco sauce was sent to the offices in protest... this is how popular the show really is. Go on, give it a go, you know you want to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, warm-hearted, humorous family sci-fi, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
"Get me another Buffy," the suits must have said. This much-missed show certainly reminds me of Joss Whedon's classic, but it's no mere mercenary clone. As in Sunnydale, its central characters are young adults at an American high school, but the premise of the story is science fiction, not fantasy: some of our heroes are survivors from a crashed UFO, adopted in infancy and fearfully concealing their barely remembered extraterrestrial origins. Three years of comedy, mystery, drama, romance and perilous adventure entertainingly ensue.

The core characters are endearing, credible, well individualized and very enjoyably acted. Among the cast are Katherine Heigl, Emilie de Ravin and Colin Hanks, all far better known today than when Roswell first aired; but Shiri Appleby, Jason Behr, Brendan Fehr, Nick Wechsler and especially the wonderful singer-actor Majandra Delfino are every bit as good as their more famous colleagues. And Roswell arguably betters Buffy in the use that it makes of its protagonists' parents, not least the superb character actor William Sadler as the long-suffering local sheriff.

Plotting is richly serialized, and much better crafted than the sci-fi norm. The first season launches the show confidently, the second guides the drama to places of greater danger and darkness and then the third takes a welcome turn towards laughter. The scriptwriters were thankfully given enough notice of the show's cancellation to tie up loose threads and bring the series to an entirely satisfying conclusion.

Production values are excellent, with special effects that never disappoint. The semi-desert locations provide much visual interest, greatly helped by 16X9 framing's being used throughout, and the soundtrack makes effective use of contemporary pop (although some of the music played in broadcasts has had to be replaced by alternatives, because including the original tracks on these discs would apparently have been prohibitively expensive). Extras are reasonably generous.

At the heart of Roswell is an inviting, kindly warmth that makes the show very easy to fall in love with. It has been an enormous pleasure revisiting the first two seasons on DVD, and finally getting to see the concluding episodes that the BBC was too mean to allow us. If there's anything that I've written here which tempts you to try these discs, please don't hesitate to pop them into your basket - I doubt it'll be long before you, too, will feel that a bit of you will forever be hanging out with Liz, Maria and Michael in the dear old Crashdown Cafe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROSWELL - SEASONS 1-3, 3 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
OUT OF THIS WORLD !!! This is truly a great boxset, 1-3, and is a perfect way to escape the traumas of the real world and enter into the world of Max, Isabelle, Micheal, Liz, Maria and Alex and of course Kyle and Sheriff Valenti. It is funny, clever, and a sophisticated approach to aliens living among us. It has the romance factor and has some of the best story lines about "boy gets girl, boy loses girl" and so on, it also has the firey but loving relationship between Maria and Micheal which is a great coupling since Joey and Pacey !!
This is a must buy, for all sci-fi fans and fans of series such as Dawson's Creek, The O.C. and others like these. You will love it as soon as Max and Liz bond in an amazing scene in the pilot episode, accompanied with the haunting sound of Sarah McLachlan. The music is brilliant, the show is totally excellent. Please buy this boxset (all of them, you must to see it to the very end) you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roswell series 1-3, 4 July 2005
By 
Mrs. Emma Booth "jonous101" (sheffield, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I think this series is fantastic!
I was up to 4.00 am in the morning because i couldn't sleep with thinking about what was going to happen next.
Max and Liz are so perfect for each other, it's a romance, but it's a sci-fi and should have run on for more than 3 series!
Jason Behr is one good looking guy - maybe it's more of a chick series than for a man - but still fantastic.
If you want romance, action thrown in with a bit of comedy then this is for you, it won't let you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roswell- its out of this world!, 31 Oct. 2004
By 
L. E. Breto "route285" (London ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Roswell in a nutshell, it about three teenage aliens (eventually four) and there human friends. But its more than that, its a love story, one of the strongest and most powerful love stories i have ever seen: its about sacrifice for the one you love, finding that inner strength you never knew you had to make sure the object of your affection comes to no harm. The story relates to every teenage life (and in some ways even adults), becoming an adult, finding oneself yet still trying to be a kid and go through high school. This is a show that has touched many hearts all over the world, young and old, are moved by the story of the teenagers from another world, who find allies and form relationships with humans they would never of imagined would be pivotal to their survival. The main theme of the story is Max the young alien king and Liz, the human who's life he saved (by using his powers) risking discovery of his origins because he had always loved her and could not bear let her die: the bonds forged will last a life time. and so begins the adventure. Maybe it was not a weather ballon that fell in Roswell in 1947; You will never think of aliens the same way again! Welcome to Roswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Muhammad F. B. Mufti (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Hello, I would recommend to everyone to buy this series, Rosewell.
This story is written from first point of view, Liz's POV as she writes her dairy about what happens to her.

The 3 seasons are not enough for someone who is eager and want more plus does not want the story to end. This story has brought me to think further about the science fiction, even though the general truth about alien is no where to be found.
On top of that, this series is created around 1999, therefore, if u compare with other series that far advance the graphic is a bit unreal.

Nevertheless, the actions and how they solve the mysteries are fantastic.In addition, the plot of the story is unpredictable. There are also a complete series from written type but the characters i guess not that handsome and beautiful. xD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, Amusing and Gripping, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
We only got this based on the reviews here, never having heard of it on tv, but it turned out to be even better than we expected. It starts off in the first season as a very enjoyable teen love drama with an alien twist, concentrating on the love between Liz and Max. We felt that Season 2 was a step down in quality, with some fairly ridiculous enemy aliens on the scene, but the second half seemed to move up a gear, almost as if someone different was writing it.

Season 3 was somewhere between the two, with some plots and characters that went nowhere or dropped off the screen, but it was very pleasant and interesting viewing for all that.

The characters were mostly very sympathetic and likeable, with none of the 6 or 7 main ones being annoying (ok, maybe Michael at times) and it was nice to see Sheriff Valenti and Kyle developing as they did. Liz really was as sweet as they come and you just couldn't help wanting to hug her and tell her that everything would work out fine. The episode with future Max and present Liz was probably the most touching and moving storyline I've seen outside of a big-budget Hollywood film and you may need a hanky if you have any soul at all.

We really came to care for the characters and are sorry to see it end after only 3 seasons, but at least there was a proper ending and it didn't just disappear without resolving anything. Definitely recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aliens+Humans= Romance and suspense, 28 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is the best series I have watched on TV, the series is the classic love story told in Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet but with a twist. The firs two seasons encapsulate this with passion romance and suspense. The only problem is that season 3 didn't have the same feeling running through the series it was quite week compared to the other two seasons. Never the less I'm very pleased to be the proud owner of this box set and I recommend it to anyone who like the series , interested in the type of genre and to anyone who has read the books before you will be taken on an interstellar romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, watch it and love it..., 11 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is an amazing box set. I always knew I would buy Roswell on DVD when the seasons were released, this three-seasons-in-one-set was perfect for me. The one thing that I do miss a little are special features. Each season comes with commentary for 4-5 episodes, that is less than one episode a disc. Most commentary is by Jason Katims who created the show which is nice, but still... When it comes to featurettes it is even worse; most of the featurettes for seasons 1 and 2 are 1-2 minutes long. There are the usual "making of season..." for each season, and while the ones for season 1 and 2 are decently long and interesting, the "making of season 3" is only 13 minutes long and I ended up feeling a bit cheated. However I bought the box set for the series itself, and that is superb. The audio is a bit wonky at times and they (Jason Katims and the music crew) changed some of the music, but the overall impression is very nice. Whether you liked the series when it was on TV or only watched an episode or two and want to see more; I highly recommend getting this box set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000]
Roswell - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2000] by Shiri Appleby (DVD - 2005)
£22.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews