Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED THRILLER
I thought this was one of the most original and enjoyable detective thrillers I have watched for a long time and was quite surprised after reading the poor reviews. Ashley Judd, Andy Garcia and Samuel L. Jackson all put in the fine performances you would expect from three great actors. The tension built between all three characters was fabulous and some good performances...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Looking for great things

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Deja Vu
Jessica Shepard (Judd) is a free spirited, feisty woman with a tragic past. As a newly promoted San Francisco homicide detective, her first day on the job with new partner Mike Delmarco (Garcia), is thrown into a downwards spiral as a string of men that she has had intimate relations with, turn up dead.

On first inspection Twisted has everything going for it,...
Published 7 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED THRILLER, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was one of the most original and enjoyable detective thrillers I have watched for a long time and was quite surprised after reading the poor reviews. Ashley Judd, Andy Garcia and Samuel L. Jackson all put in the fine performances you would expect from three great actors. The tension built between all three characters was fabulous and some good performances from the supporting cast. The atmosphere of the famous Bay area location of San Francisco was well shot, almost reminiscent of the old Streets of San Francisco and Macmillan and Wife (but I am showing my age here!) but with a much more interesting plot and better acting. I would highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underated actress ever, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Another good thriller from Ashley Judd...in fact pick any Ashley Judd film and you just know you're in for a good film. Put your feet up, sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good thriller with a twist towards the end so aptly named. Thoroughly enjoyable and totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
saw this film ages ago and just had to have it for my dvd collection, great suspense film and a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Deja Vu, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Jessica Shepard (Judd) is a free spirited, feisty woman with a tragic past. As a newly promoted San Francisco homicide detective, her first day on the job with new partner Mike Delmarco (Garcia), is thrown into a downwards spiral as a string of men that she has had intimate relations with, turn up dead.

On first inspection Twisted has everything going for it, strong cast, interesting premise & dark, neo-noir style well implemented by Peter Deming (My Cousin Vinny) that suits the story & foggy/detective credential San Francisco setting very well. However it's a combination of the material & pacing that doesn't give it's stars enough to shine with. Once the story hits it's stride around when the first body is found & suspicion falls upon Shepard, her drinking at home becomes more excessive with infuriating Deja Vu scenes at the heart of the film where we watch her passing out drunk over & over, as fresh bodies of her past lovers appear all with the same MO. In her moments of clarity she never even questions or realizes the connection which rips the immersion apart for such an intelligent cop. But it merely serves it's purpose to keep her under suspicion with a Jekyll & Hyde personality, while all her past lovers & acquaintances around her, are more than willing to act oddly & throw their names into the hat as suspects. Even though, if your a crime fan you will know already who the baddie is.

Ashley Judd (Double Jeopardy) is at home as siren Shepard, doing her best in a role that sees her being quite an unlikable character at times, seeking solace in seedy bars, lashing out at the slightest provocation & circumstances beyond her control in a groundhog day style drunken routine. Samuel L. Jackson (The Negotiator) as Judd's fathers ex-cop partner who brought her up, gives a carefree performance through his limited screen time, never really needing to break a sweat. Meanwhile Andy Garcia (The Untouchables) is his usual dapper, smooth self with a fiery Cuban temper when provoked, having a good rapport with Judd, yet is railroaded with an OTT fondness of Shepard which paints him as yet another in a long line of suspects. Also co-stars a host of well known faces, of note, David Strathairn (Alphas).

In conclusion, Twisted's slow burning neo-noir crime thriller has it's charms, it's just a shame it goes about it in an unexciting & by the book manner. Contains strong language, disturbing & mature themes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not great, 12 Dec 2004
By 
Brian Moroney "ttm254" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to watching this film, seeing as how Samuel L. Jackson stars in it, and as he's my favourite actor I assumed it would be awesome! Unfortunateley it wasn't that great. The basic storyline is fairly original, and the acting was quite good from all the main actors, but Ashley Judds character is so annoying and stupid that I found myself wanting to turn it off halfway through. There are a few twists, and a good ending but I would avoid it unless you're a huge fan of one of the main actors and want to see it for the sake of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If only it were possible to give no stars!, 29 Aug 2009
By 
I. Maughn (South of Nowhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
If someone pays you to watch this, then you've still been overcharged!

Given the cast, I expected a lot more but the plot is risable, the characterisations laughable, and the only way the dialogue could get any more wooden is if it had been carved from a tree! Beyond the general awfulness of it, it's impossible to really explain what makes this so very poor without giving away the conclusion, such as it is (though anyone who isn't actually asleep will have figured it out almost from the beginning). Believe me though, it really isn't worth hanging out either to discover it, or to find out if you were right!

Ashley Judd appears to have taken too many lessons in 'face acting', which, rather than conveying the confusion/anger blah blah blah she is supposed to be feeling, instead has the unfortunate effect of making her look like she is competing in a gurning competition throughout, and there is absolutely nothing in the character or the story itself which give the slightest clue as to why she is apparently so incredibly desirable to so many people. Rather, she is an exceptionally irritating and unconvincing character. However, she is not alone in that: all of the characters behave in the most ridiculously implausible way throughout, and not a single one of them is even remotely likeable. Even Samuel L. Jackson manages to deliver an utterly unconvincing performance as an utterly unconvincing character - though really, none of the actors can really be blamed for that as trying to extract anything worthwhile from this dross, must have been like trying to knit fog!

Really, don't waste your time. If you can't find a decent thriller and want to watch a pointlessly bad one instead, there are hundreds out there and bad as they are, most of them will still be better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Got Better Near The End!, 17 Feb 2005
By 
S. Mangan-Taylor "strawberrybounce2005" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The beginning of this film was rather boring but seemed to get a bit more interesting right near the end where this film earns an extra star!
The acting was good from all the main characters and the storyline was more orginal than I had first expected.
Only watch if you're a fan of detective films otherwise I wouldn't bother!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you listen v carefully during the scene where the guy with the hot glutes bangs Ashley it gives away the identity of the..., 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
... Killer. Thus destroying the twist. However the film is still worth watching for possibly Andy Garcia's last film appearance where he was moderately hot. Ashley Judd always delivers. And this cast is excellent. You hear a certain sound throughout this film and it's what you hear right before the nastiness occurs. Watch out for a brief, one scene (uncredited), cameo by Veronica Cartwright who also appears, credited, in the director of this films other San Francisco set thriller Invasion of the Bodysnatchers (1978). Also future Tomorrow People baddie appears and he's as hot then as he is now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD]
Twisted (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] by Philip Kaufman (DVD - 2004)
£4.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews