Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality film
What more can be said about the first two godfather films? They are both awesome in there own ways.

I love the flashbacks in this with RDN. Awesome stuff.
Published 11 months ago by S. M. Robinson

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review only
This is a review of the Blu-ray transfer from the trilogy box-set, but it'll be exactly the same as will end up on this single disc.

Well, I was so disappointed by this transfer, I actually almost gave the disc two stars. I mean the PART I Blu-ray isn't anywhere near pin-sharp, but at least it fairs better than this very mediocre, soft-looking effort. There's...
Published on 9 May 2011 by The Demon Pazuzu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, 5 Aug 2013
By 
S. M. Robinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
What more can be said about the first two godfather films? They are both awesome in there own ways.

I love the flashbacks in this with RDN. Awesome stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather II DVD, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Old Prof (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent purchase; undoubtedly the best of the Godfather series made and it bettered my expectations. Superb acting and film production plus top technical quality DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be watched more than once to appreciate it, 4 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
Godfather Part II is listed as one of the few sequels to better the original. While I prefer the first one myself, Part II is a great film in its own right and one of the finest ever made, although you might not think so after a single viewing.

Like many people, I loved the first film. However, the first Part was heavily criticised by some people for glamorising the mafia. They said it humanised mobsters, and portrayed them as family men who had a warped morality rather than being amoral. So Francis Ford Coppola decided that Part II should be much darker and show more of the downsides of the life of Michael Corleone.

One ingenious idea was to focus on Michael and Vito Corleone at the same stages in their lives, and compare and contrast how they had turned out. This means we also learn the back story of Vito, from his early days in Sicily right through to his establishment of a crime family.

Going into full details of the plot would be far too time consuming but certain sections need a mention. The first would be when Michael visits Hyman Roth and explains that Frank Pentangelli was behind the failed attempt on his life. He then visits Frank Pentangelli and explains that it was Hyman Roth. The acting is so good that it is not at all clear which one he is lying to. The other great scenes would be of Vito Corleone tracking Don Fanucci before killing him, Michael's mother's funeral and the look he gives Al Neri and finally, Fredo's demise.

Some of the shots are simply breathtaking, the music is fantastic, the acting is incredible and the whole film is a treat. However, it has to be said that it needs more than one viewing. The plot is rather complex is made more troublesome by Al Pacino's acting, which is so convincing that not only does he manage to fool both Hyman Roth and Frank Pentangelli, you as the viewer cannot work out what is going on. Subsequent happenings further confuse the issue and only when going through it a second time is it clear.

Likewise the final shot is melancholic and mournful rather subtly hitting you over the head with a sledgehammer as the first film did at the end and can make it easy to miss the point of the film. The idea is that Michael is damning himself by pushing away everyone in his family, and although he may have money and power beyond his father's wildest ambitions, he does not have his father's compassion and his family is a great theme, but easily missed first time out.

All this meant that I hated the film at first. It seemed like a poor imitation of the first film but it gets so much better the second and third time around and his incredible repeat viewing quality. If you don't like it the first time, watch a second time and be amazed.

Is it as good as the first? Not quite, but close enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review only, 9 May 2011
By 
This is a review of the Blu-ray transfer from the trilogy box-set, but it'll be exactly the same as will end up on this single disc.

Well, I was so disappointed by this transfer, I actually almost gave the disc two stars. I mean the PART I Blu-ray isn't anywhere near pin-sharp, but at least it fairs better than this very mediocre, soft-looking effort. There's very little clarity here, annoying heavy grain in dark scenes, overly golden skin tones (whether this was the cinematographer's vision or not, it still looks way too excessive) and that same irregular in-and-out-of-focus fault that was all too noticeable in PART I is back too. You even get the infamous "black jigsaw piece" that was noticeable for a few seconds during the Cuba New Year sequence on the old DVD. It's actually a piece of broken negative perforation that sits lop-sided at the bottom of your screen that hasn't been digitally removed, even during this supposedly new restoration process. Ah, well, doesn't spoil the film at all, just looks silly for a moment.

Honestly, it beggars belief why so many review sites are giving these transfers such glowing praise. Yes, OK, the films have never looked better, way better than the old DVDs, but, just like PART I, PART II looks more like a very good upscaled image than anything related to Blu-ray. I still recommend buying it though, as Paramount will have spent so much restoring it (probably a seven figure sum), you'll probably not see anything better than this for a very long time to come.

So as I say, this is way better than your old DVD, just please don't buy it thinking when you pop it in your BR player and watch it on your 1080p TV, like I did on a 32", that you'll end up staring mesmerised at the most perfect image of THE GODFATHER PART II you've ever seen - because you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of a college boy to Mafia Don.., 4 July 2014
The greatest mafia film in the history of film making, both part 1 & 2 will remain classic's a hundred years from now, and a original copy of Mario Puzo's novel will be placed in a museum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The film sorry movie is of course excellent, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. West - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
The discs are in excellent condition as advertised, doesn't look used so I assume whoever previously owned it never watched it or the company are very selective about what they sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bad buy, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
always loved this film. unfortunately this one wasn't compatible with our dvd player so no there was no watching it for me---DOH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie in a great quality, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Godfather was made to be on blu-ray. I love this movie and it's an important addition to my ever growing Blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AL PACINO - THE SEXIEST MAFIA BOSS EVER !!!, 6 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
What on earth can I write about The Godfather II film that hasn't been written already. It is a masterpiece. A stunning cast. Fantastically directed.

I love the way we are taken back in time to the roots of the Godfather. The focus is not just about the violence and power of the Mafia, its the creation and life of the Godfather, that counts for everything.

So many great actors in this film.

Al Pacino plays the role to perfection. His incredible looks, dark smouldering eyes, and that powerful voice, hold every scene. No one could have played this role better.

A brilliant performance too from a truly handsome young Robert de Niro, who does a first class job. Both Al Pacino and Robert de Niro proved in this film, that they would be around for many years with legendary performances.

The music is hauntingly beautiful.

Al Pacino's performance is outstanding. It was the start of many films about the Mafia, and there have been some great ones..'Goodfellas' etc., but no other Mafia boss has been as great as the legendary Al Pacino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 1 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
If you think that you would not enjoy this film, THINK AGAIN!
This is the BEST gangster movie ever and deserves all the praise it gets.
Over 3hrs 20mons of utter joy, exitement and the pleasure that you have just bought this, for next to nothing.
Staring Robert De Niro, and Al Pacino (In my view the greatest 2 actors). This portrayal of Vito Corleone as a young man and his son Michael as an old man fits together perfectly! Al Pacino is excellent again in this role and Rob De Niro produces the best parts of the films in my eyes.
Spanning from Ellis island in 1917 to The late 60's The Godfather in my opinion is the best film in cinematic history. MAGIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather: Part II [DVD]
The Godfather: Part II [DVD] by Gordon Willis (DVD - 2004)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews