Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality film
What more can be said about the first two godfather films? They are both awesome in there own ways.

I love the flashbacks in this with RDN. Awesome stuff.
Published 18 months ago by S. M. Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Great
I didn’t find this chapter engaging as much as the original ‘The Godfather’ film, contrary to the general love for this film over the original. However, it is brilliantly acted by Al Pacino and Robert De Niro taking us through 2 periods of the Corleone crime family. It works more than expected dipping between both stories that at times mirror each other,...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. C. Gelderd


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
S. M. Robinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
What more can be said about the first two godfather films? They are both awesome in there own ways.

I love the flashbacks in this with RDN. Awesome stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Great, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I didn’t find this chapter engaging as much as the original ‘The Godfather’ film, contrary to the general love for this film over the original. However, it is brilliantly acted by Al Pacino and Robert De Niro taking us through 2 periods of the Corleone crime family. It works more than expected dipping between both stories that at times mirror each other, but at others I sort of found it a little jarring when wanting to follow one, I was then switched to the other.

Not saying director Francis Ford Coppola was at fault doing this, as his film-making is superb with authentic set pieces and real feel for both eras of New York fuelled by the criminal gangs that made it what it is. A strong story of family and honour runs through both; learning who to trust, why to trust them and the factors that made a man more than just guns and explosives.

It’s a long one at over 3 hours, but it doesn’t drag given the split narrative. If anything, I just found the original more compelling and fuelled by a more fascinating and interesting group of characters who worked in a tight knit group that I felt was missed in parts here. But Pacino and De Niro carry their characters forward with great intensity and an air of danger as we see the highs and lows in the dangerous world of organized crime.

A wonderful soundtrack once more and a simply well written story make this an enjoyable follow-up and continuation of the story you can’t help but be drawn into and remember long after watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather II DVD, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Old Prof (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent purchase; undoubtedly the best of the Godfather series made and it bettered my expectations. Superb acting and film production plus top technical quality DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be watched more than once to appreciate it, 4 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
Godfather Part II is listed as one of the few sequels to better the original. While I prefer the first one myself, Part II is a great film in its own right and one of the finest ever made, although you might not think so after a single viewing.

Like many people, I loved the first film. However, the first Part was heavily criticised by some people for glamorising the mafia. They said it humanised mobsters, and portrayed them as family men who had a warped morality rather than being amoral. So Francis Ford Coppola decided that Part II should be much darker and show more of the downsides of the life of Michael Corleone.

One ingenious idea was to focus on Michael and Vito Corleone at the same stages in their lives, and compare and contrast how they had turned out. This means we also learn the back story of Vito, from his early days in Sicily right through to his establishment of a crime family.

Going into full details of the plot would be far too time consuming but certain sections need a mention. The first would be when Michael visits Hyman Roth and explains that Frank Pentangelli was behind the failed attempt on his life. He then visits Frank Pentangelli and explains that it was Hyman Roth. The acting is so good that it is not at all clear which one he is lying to. The other great scenes would be of Vito Corleone tracking Don Fanucci before killing him, Michael's mother's funeral and the look he gives Al Neri and finally, Fredo's demise.

Some of the shots are simply breathtaking, the music is fantastic, the acting is incredible and the whole film is a treat. However, it has to be said that it needs more than one viewing. The plot is rather complex is made more troublesome by Al Pacino's acting, which is so convincing that not only does he manage to fool both Hyman Roth and Frank Pentangelli, you as the viewer cannot work out what is going on. Subsequent happenings further confuse the issue and only when going through it a second time is it clear.

Likewise the final shot is melancholic and mournful rather subtly hitting you over the head with a sledgehammer as the first film did at the end and can make it easy to miss the point of the film. The idea is that Michael is damning himself by pushing away everyone in his family, and although he may have money and power beyond his father's wildest ambitions, he does not have his father's compassion and his family is a great theme, but easily missed first time out.

All this meant that I hated the film at first. It seemed like a poor imitation of the first film but it gets so much better the second and third time around and his incredible repeat viewing quality. If you don't like it the first time, watch a second time and be amazed.

Is it as good as the first? Not quite, but close enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review only, 9 May 2011
By 
This is a review of the Blu-ray transfer from the trilogy box-set, but it'll be exactly the same as will end up on this single disc.

Well, I was so disappointed by this transfer, I actually almost gave the disc two stars. I mean the PART I Blu-ray isn't anywhere near pin-sharp, but at least it fairs better than this very mediocre, soft-looking effort. There's very little clarity here, annoying heavy grain in dark scenes, overly golden skin tones (whether this was the cinematographer's vision or not, it still looks way too excessive) and that same irregular in-and-out-of-focus fault that was all too noticeable in PART I is back too. You even get the infamous "black jigsaw piece" that was noticeable for a few seconds during the Cuba New Year sequence on the old DVD. It's actually a piece of broken negative perforation that sits lop-sided at the bottom of your screen that hasn't been digitally removed, even during this supposedly new restoration process. Ah, well, doesn't spoil the film at all, just looks silly for a moment.

Honestly, it beggars belief why so many review sites are giving these transfers such glowing praise. Yes, OK, the films have never looked better, way better than the old DVDs, but, just like PART I, PART II looks more like a very good upscaled image than anything related to Blu-ray. I still recommend buying it though, as Paramount will have spent so much restoring it (probably a seven figure sum), you'll probably not see anything better than this for a very long time to come.

So as I say, this is way better than your old DVD, just please don't buy it thinking when you pop it in your BR player and watch it on your 1080p TV, like I did on a 32", that you'll end up staring mesmerised at the most perfect image of THE GODFATHER PART II you've ever seen - because you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of a college boy to Mafia Don.., 4 July 2014
The greatest mafia film in the history of film making, both part 1 & 2 will remain classic's a hundred years from now, and an original copy of Mario Puzo's novel will be placed in a museum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The film sorry movie is of course excellent, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. R. West - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: Part II [DVD] (DVD)
The discs are in excellent condition as advertised, doesn't look used so I assume whoever previously owned it never watched it or the company are very selective about what they sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bad buy, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
always loved this film. unfortunately this one wasn't compatible with our dvd player so no there was no watching it for me---DOH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie in a great quality, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Godfather was made to be on blu-ray. I love this movie and it's an important addition to my ever growing Blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the first film for me, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly the same format as the Godfather. Lots of storyline with some violence chucked in mostly right near the end. Almost as good as the first film for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather: Part II [DVD]
The Godfather: Part II [DVD] by Francis Ford Coppola (DVD - 2004)
£9.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews