Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN UNDERATTED CLASSIC
One could call "Ghoulies" a cheap and nasty monster movie from the mid 80's, but if you look further you will see an epic of unimaginable proportions containing not only the most horrific creatures ever seen on film but also a roller coaster of a plot hell bent on beating the s**t out of you until you can no longer resist the opportunity to scream with fear at it's...
Published on 23 Dec 2009 by John Buechler's Beard

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghoulies 1....
In this, the poor mans Gremlins, some eighties audience members from top of the pops inherit a house, and have a party, which includes the bloke from police academy 3, but with all parties, they go into a room where they haven't been before and find a symbol on the floor.

It turns out that years ago, one of the members of Duran Durans project Power station was...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN UNDERATTED CLASSIC, 23 Dec 2009
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One could call "Ghoulies" a cheap and nasty monster movie from the mid 80's, but if you look further you will see an epic of unimaginable proportions containing not only the most horrific creatures ever seen on film but also a roller coaster of a plot hell bent on beating the s**t out of you until you can no longer resist the opportunity to scream with fear at it's immeasurable, total unshakable knack of scaring you witless whilst simultaneously making you laugh like a banshee.

I wouldn't want to spoil the meticulously planned plot for you, but suffice to say you would never see coming the copious amounts of midgets, monsters, zombies, black magic, and sunglasses with wipers. This is truly the 80's at its best!

If you've never got round to seeing "that movie with the monster popping out of the toilet I used to see whenever I slunk down to my local video shop circa 1985" buy this very reasonably priced DVD which also includes the worthy sequel and sit back, eat some monster munch, and drink in every dated but somehow warmly loved classic from the that grainy era when you had to rewind before you returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rubber monsters kill teenagers - what more do you want from a film?, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
To fully appreciate Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2, you need to ask yourself a few questions first. Such as, do I like cheesy, eighties horror, like Troll and Demons? Can I ignore the fact that the monsters are actually just puppets (albeit well-made puppets)? And am I looking for high-brow, quality entertainment, or am I just after a silly giggle?

If you like eighties horror, don't mind puppets and are looking for a laugh, Ghoulies and Ghoulies 2 might just be for you. They come as a pair. The first film shows how the `Ghoulies' (rubber demonic puppets just to clear that one up) were brought to our world then part 2 shows where they go next.

I found them both a lot of fun. I even go as far as to say that part 2 is better than the first (although, seeing where Ghoulies set the bench mark, that's not hard).

They're not Shakespeare, but they're probably still better than any of the Transformers franchise. Meow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They'll get you in the end!., 25 Mar 2012
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This was quite an entertaining double feature, Ghoulies and it's sequel Ghoulies 2 are a perfect example of cheesy low budget 80's horror. It's basically the poor man's Gremlins, with evil muppets running wild and wreaking havoc. And it's loaded with camp too. Although the first film does get a bit tedious and dull for a while the sequel was great fun just as long as you don't take them seriously. The material is handled well though. I think they knew the limits of what they could do, and never attempted to cross them and the score done by Richard Band was great. The two films were also released by Charles Band's defunct film company Empire Pictures. The first film is about a couple that get this new mansion since Johnathan Graves has inherited it, the caretaker Wolfgang knows all about Johnathan's history since he rescued him from his Father when he was going to sacrifice him. Soon Johnathan finds a book about magic and finds himself obsessed in finding the power and the knowledge, in the basement he finds his Father's robe and spear and at night he summons the Ghoulies, little creatures that will serve the master who woke them. They end up killing a few party guests and its up to Johnathan to try and stop them. I must admit that the humor was pretty stupid, but some of it's amusing. Some good creepy moments. Unintentionally humorous because it takes itself so seriously and it has some decent effects. This first installment is not one of the greatest cheesy 80s horror films you could find, but it's still worth a look if that's your thing. And if you do find yourself enjoying it like I did, then I recommend you check out part II because it's actually better. Ghoulies II is a great sequel to the original Ghoulies. You've got sweet special effects, cool looking ghoulies (I especially liked the giant one in the film's climax) and a decent story line. The Ghoulies escape and go to a carnival and cause chaos. It's got some gory parts too, one clown get's his arm eaten off. It's not really scary, but hilarious. It's like a dark horror comedy. Then you've got the hilarious part with a ghoulie that gets a guy when he's on the toilet. This is probably my favorite movie in the Ghoulies series and I highly recommend you check this one out. It's one of those great B movies from the 80's that can be watched over and over again, almost like a fun guilty pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghoulies 2, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Graham Kidd "Arcade" (Wiltshire, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fair enough, this is a double pack, and also fair to say that Ghoulies 1 is slow, a little tedious in places, and appears to be quite dated now.
But if you're a fan of B movies, along the lines of Demonic Toys, Critters, Killer Klowns From Outer Space, and Puppet Master, then Ghoulies 2 will be a real treat!
Directed by the king of '80's schlock horror, Charles Band, it's a funny and entertaining romp with a few twists, and featuring B movie stalwart Royal Dano as the owner of a failing fairground attraction.
Without wishing to give the plot away, I'd say that it is one of the best of its ilk.
Besides...how closely can you seriously analize a monster movie?
The third outing..'Ghoulies 3- Ghoulies Go To College' is inferior to the second flick, despite a wonderfully eccentric performance from Kevin McCarthy.
To sum it up, if you like monster movies, you could do a lot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ghoulies 1...., 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In this, the poor mans Gremlins, some eighties audience members from top of the pops inherit a house, and have a party, which includes the bloke from police academy 3, but with all parties, they go into a room where they haven't been before and find a symbol on the floor.

It turns out that years ago, one of the members of Duran Durans project Power station was a devil or something worshipped, and made weird latex animals pop up from nowhere, and also made his eyes go blue.

The new family start to become obsessed with the past and decide to wear even funnier clothes than they had in the eighties, and act like goths for no reason.

And thrown into the mix, we get two midgets who act like Hugh Grant and Emma Thompson, and fight with the monsters.

In the eighties, these films were rife and were released almost every other week. But for some reason, this really became a cult favourite, and for the life of me, I cannot begin to think why.

The effects are awful, the acting is very bad, and the story, just doesn't excite or stimulate.

It's trying to be Gremlins, and that movie is a bona-fide cult favourite, because it's actually brilliant and highly original.

This is just bad..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghoulies 1 2, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ghoulies

Ghoulies is a thoroughly entertaining film. The only downside it has is he Ghoulies don't really attack anyone until near the end of a film.

The best kill in it is where the woman gets killed at the start by getting her heart ripped out.

I would rate this film 7/10.
Ghoulies 2

Ghoulies 2 is better than the first. I think it's very entertaining.

The best kill in it is where the priest at the start gets knocked in a barrel of toxic waste by a prehistoric thing.

I would rate this film 8.5/10.

Both these movies are on one disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch!, 3 May 2013
By 
Mr. Barry J. Evans "bazmufc" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ghoulies one I could take it or leave it. It was slightly entertaining with an Ok story although I was slightly bored as the film dragged on.

Ghoulies 2 however I would give 5 stars if it was based on just that. You've got to see it, it had me in stitches!

I would buy this just for the 2nd film. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goody Goody Ghoulies., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ghoulies 1 & 2 are those terrible types of Movies where you have to ask yourself, who made these and why, who thought this up, why would anyone think this was a good idea, and why am i watching it!!! But that is the point, they are so bad they are likeable simply for the silliness that they are, they are what i refer to as a Drunken mans Movie! Pointless Crap yet Entertaining, you either Love or Loathe them, me personally i like a good old Joke of a Movie from time to time. Enough said, give them a watch and have a laugh! enjoy........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so much fun, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I remebered ghoulies 2 from a young age and even though there are some bloody bits, compared to todays TV it is nothing harsh. So much so I shared it with my 9yr old son who howled with laughter during most of the film. We both especially enjoyed the bad mans tiolet scene and he thought it was justice....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb179abc4)

This product

Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD]
Ghoulies/Ghoulies 2 [DVD] by Albert Band (DVD - 2004)
7.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews