Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars81
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2015
Initially this looks like a J-version of Amityville, but the plot is a lot less fascinating - and scary - than the premise sounds. The quality of the film is great, the ideas are unusually just don't expect anything near the complexity of Ring and Dark Water.

Recommend for diehard J-horror fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2004
This film is geniumely scary, a must for film fans who yearn for something a little different than the usual Holywood drivel. The fact that Sam Raimi made some good films in his early days (i.e. the Evil Dead series) doens't mean that after making the Xena debacle he can make anything worth watching. If the sort of lame American viewer/REVIEWER thinks an American remake has any merits what-so-ever then it is a sorry world we live in. Please watch the Japanese original before wasting a few hours of your valuable lives watching a pale American imitation, because like all such attempted remakes, you will be left wondering what could have been, sometimes not knowing an original exists.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
I have a grudge for wasting 90 minutes watching this. They took a very cheap, Tarantino-like approach to the plot by showing it from the perspectives of several different characters. There were a few genuinely creepy moments, but I felt it dragged along with not much happening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
Hollywood are about to unleash their remake of this awesome Japanese horror this month. However, I would urge everyone to check out the original in the form of this DVD. Nothing can prepare you for how scary this film actually is. It's relentless in it's ambition to frighten the viewer, you will find yourself peeking through your hands by the end - I know I was! If you loved The Ring and The Eye (which also being given the obligatory hollywood cash in remake) then you will like this alot. One particular bit will change the way you look under your bed sheets in future...enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
A chilling film from the acclaimed film maker Shimizu Takashi, a film based on a Japanese legend The Ju-On. The Ju-On is a curse that is generated by someone that is killed in the grip of a powerful anger.
The basic plot of the film is the following of five women that are haunted by the the spirits that are now residing in the house in which they were killed. Now what you have to remember about this film is the budget that it was made on. Unlike the hollywood remake that is out soon, this film still can compete, even though the acting is slightly wooden and special effects slim it still manages to freak you out. There are options on the dvd to watch it in english dubbed but I would recommend to watch it with the subtitles its much better. Overall I found that it did live upto expectations, but if your only intrested in special effects and gore then this is not for you. However if you want to be scared by haunting characters and noises then i would totally recommend this film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2004
I found this film to be way scarier than The Ring (Japanese version). A couple of scenes, one involving a security guard and a detective, another a group of school kids and a third between the bed sheets to be particularily bone chilling. Anyone who enjoyed The Ring (Japanese version) will enjoy this film. A word of warning Never See This Film Alone! It takes the haunted house theme up an extra level. Be prepared for the most chilling experience of your life. Well done Mr Shimizu Takashi.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Thought it was English version but wasn't so could only bear 5 mins of subtitles :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
My own fault - didn't realise it was the foreign version with subtitles! Doh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2004
The Japanese have a reputation for producing some of the scariest horror movies this generation has seen. From the absolutely terrifying "Ringu" to "The Eye" & "Dark Water", so naturally, after reading "Ju-On: The Grudge" was co-written by a writer of the original "Ringu", I was intrigued.
I purchased this movie after seeing the trailer for the upcoming US remake with Sarah Michelle Gellar, and that looked interesting, considering the Americans usually tend to trash originals (the US remake of "The Ring" was a little disappointing), so I assumed the original would be far superior.
The film opens with a slightly disturbing flash of images, including a blood stained man, an apparent murder of a cat(?) and a mysterious little boy. We later discover that a husband killed his wife and his son, and was found dead himself. The house is now inhabited by a new family, and Rika (our "heroine") is asked to go visit the elderly inhabitant. When she arrives, she discovers something hidden in a cupboard which is sealed by duct tape. When she opens it, she discovers a little boy. What she doesn't know, is she has unleashed a powerful curse.. the Ju-On. When ever someone dies in a state of rage, a curse is created, which then passes on to whoever comes into contact with it (according to famous Japanese legend). The movie follows the bizaare events that happen after, flashing between past and present, examining various inter-connected events to do with the house and the curse.
The movie, at first, doesn't look terribly exciting. It does have a very cheap look, and it is a little slow to begin with, but once it picks up, it manages to pull in several disturbing scenes with demented imagery and jump moments. I admit to being quite scared through out this movie, but I always find myself scared watching any horror movie. The SPFX are low, but I give top marks "Kayoko", the victim who spreads the terrible curse, for her "spider-walk" and general menacing on screen presence (especially with the "bones clicking" and the strange chattering noise she seems to emit). The little boy isn't as menacing as other people will try and make you believe, simply because all he does is "appear" now and then, and "meow", which lets face it, isn't really frightening. But when combined with all the other elements, it works, and will leave you with an unsettled feeling. I was particularly disturbed during a scene involving CCTV footage, which shows a black shape walking down a corridoor, before looming up onto the camera, and out of the fuzziness, we see two pale eyes, which almost leaves you with a feeling that they are actually looking directly at you.
Overall, it's not excellent, it's not going to win any awards, but, following the tradition of "ringu", the sinister atmosphere and camera angles pave the way for a memorable experience that will jangle your nerves. The American remake looks promising, let's just hope they keep to the original plot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)