Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Collection.
To fans of John Ford and John Wayne, of which I am sure there are still plenty, this collection must be akin to the Holy Grail. Although it does not contain that wonderful film "The Searchers"(56), which was perhaps the creative zenith of their partnership, it still contains some very good films, and will also represent a nostalgic trip back down memory lane for the grey...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture.
Oh, the picture quality on these is bad. That said I've not seen any other versions of these discs or alternate copies but they are so fuzzy it's like watching very old videocassettes. If all releases of these films are to the same standard it's a sad day for them because they're dying before our eyes.
Published on 28 Jun 2009 by A. J. Lovell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Collection., 14 Feb 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
To fans of John Ford and John Wayne, of which I am sure there are still plenty, this collection must be akin to the Holy Grail. Although it does not contain that wonderful film "The Searchers"(56), which was perhaps the creative zenith of their partnership, it still contains some very good films, and will also represent a nostalgic trip back down memory lane for the grey surfer brigade.

I have already reviewed "Stagecoach"(39), at great length on Amazon, which you can of course read. It was a seminal film in the history of the western, and was also the film that propelled Wayne to super stardom after a long period working in poverty row westerns. He had worked as an extra for Ford, who had first discovered him on set. Ford remembered him and cast him in the lead role of "The Ringo Kid". The film follows the adventures of a disparate group of passengers as they travel through hostile Indian territory.

Ford's cavalry trilogy is also a very famous and lauded canon of work. "Fort Apache"(48) also stars that fine actor Henry Fonda, who was often used by Ford. He plays the role of a martinet officer, who seems to be loosely based on George Armstrong Custer. Wayne plays a more sympathetic officer struggling with his dictatorial command. "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon"(49) is Ford at his most sentimental. Wayne plays Nathan Brittles a long serving cavalry offcer about to retire. But he has one last job! There is some good simple knockabout comedy involving Victor McLaglen, and the film is beautifully photographed to accentuate the pervading sense of nostalgia. Wayne had shown us what a good actor he could be in Howard Hawk's "Red River"(48) and he does it once again. "Rio Grande" is probably the weaker of the three films and follows Wayne as a cavalry commander with family problems. His son, with whom he has not had any relationship, joins up under him and comes in the line of fire. To add to the problems his estranged wife played by maureen O'Hara, turns up in typically feisty fashion to complicate matters further.

"The Quiet Man"(52) is pure Hollywood, Fordian blarney. We get a very "Brigadoon" version of Ireland, with American Irish actors putting on some very strange Oirish accents, that might fool an American tourist, but might not convince the Connemara locals! None the less it is good innocent fun, and much loved by many. I have also reviewed this film at much greater length. Wayne plays an ex boxer come to Ireland to claim his ancestral home and escape the past. There is much rumbustious fun involving McLaglen, and once again with the irrepressible flame haired Maureen O'Hara.

Overall this is a very strong collection. There isn't really a weak film amongst them. Ford's films have gone down in stock more in recent years, whilst others have risen. Yes, he was prone to over sentimentality and folksy whimsey, but it is easy to forget that they are still very entertaining films. The collection can be purchased at a very reasonable price at the time of this review and represents very good value. A comfortable four stars. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 27 Jan 2010
Bought for my hubby who is a big John Wayne fan. Has a number of JW titles already so dont want to duplicate. Great Buy at Great Price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture., 28 Jun 2009
By 
A. J. Lovell "tony" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Wayne: The John Ford Collection (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Oh, the picture quality on these is bad. That said I've not seen any other versions of these discs or alternate copies but they are so fuzzy it's like watching very old videocassettes. If all releases of these films are to the same standard it's a sad day for them because they're dying before our eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Well., 7 Mar 2006
By 
Richard C. Grace "Zero Ball" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wayne: The John Ford Collection (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This could have been one of the great boxsets, sadly this isnt much of a collection as it misses out several key Wayne and Ford classics such as the Searchers and Liberty Vallance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quiet Man, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd like to suggest that The Quiet Man is the best film ever. It's a simple story set in an idyllic Irish country setting. Everyone is a character. The chemistry between Wayne and O'Hara is magical. No one swears, no-one is killed. It's just a classic tale of unrequited love that ends happily. It is a treat to watch and a welcome reminder of a happier, better world. Casablanca is the other candidate for my best movie ever but I think it's now a close second.
'I'm thinking of getting a tractor' says Sean Thornton (John Wayne)
'Why would we want a nasty smelly noisy thing like that?' replies Maureen O'Hara, 'Horses are much better and they have other benefits for the roses' she says sweetly.
I could not agree more!
Fantastic,
JP ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its the duke obviously its good, 6 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: John Wayne: The John Ford Collection (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
i got this as a present(meaning i wanted it so my wife got it) and its a super collection of the dukes best work which was always with the admiral (Ford). the only thing you have to add to this collection is Horse soldiers, red river and true grit. but really this is perfect. because the duke was a master when he was with ford, ford made him act! the other director's/films just made him money. so get this collection and at a very fair price its brill my fav is still the quiet man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was just as described, received package very quickly would definately do business again. A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars class act, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wayne: The John Ford Collection (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
We love the mix of films, the quiet man is my absolute favourite of his films, I'm not really a cowboy fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Duke at his best, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classics ! "The Quiet man" is a MONUMENT ! The Cavalry trilogy is a MUST ! A box set indispensable in the film library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wayne and Ford, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: John Wayne: The John Ford Collection (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The films in this set are absolutely fantastic, some of the greatest ever made. All six are 5 star masterpieces, without question. Sadly, the picture quality on some of the films is terrible, and unfortunately this is the best there is picture-wise for these films in UK Region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Wayne: The John Ford Collection (Box Set) [DVD]
59.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews