Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost is cool
Quality english drama at its best. Good characters, good plots and well acted. It is a delight working through the series and watching the development of the minor characters and the constant, Jack Frost, and his own way of getting the job done and living his life. Thoroughly enjoying each episode. I thoroughly recommend it.
Published on 15 April 2010 by Philip Ballard

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Substandard DVD
Frost is my favorite among all the British mystery series I've purchased over the years. Unfortunately, these "Playback Studio" DVDs are an inferior product. Video is substandard when compared to other DVDs (including other Frost DVDs from both Region 1 & 2) and there are no subtitles. I purchased this set and returned it to Amazon UK as soon as I noticed these...
Published on 13 Jun 2010 by James L. Gideon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost is cool, 15 April 2010
By 
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Quality english drama at its best. Good characters, good plots and well acted. It is a delight working through the series and watching the development of the minor characters and the constant, Jack Frost, and his own way of getting the job done and living his life. Thoroughly enjoying each episode. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab box set - quality not so fab!, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I absolutely love Frost, so my purchase of series 1 to 5 was a bargain. However, the quality of the recording isn't the best, but if you love Frost you can see through that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Frost, 17 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Although this was a Dutch produce DVD the lanuage was english once you press play. From start to finish the whole ordering and delivery was easy and very quick. The Frost series was very enjoyable and made good watching. It was good value as you cannot get Frost 1 - 5 series for under 100 anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Substandard DVD, 13 Jun 2010
By 
James L. Gideon "Jim Gideon" (Killeen, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Frost is my favorite among all the British mystery series I've purchased over the years. Unfortunately, these "Playback Studio" DVDs are an inferior product. Video is substandard when compared to other DVDs (including other Frost DVDs from both Region 1 & 2) and there are no subtitles. I purchased this set and returned it to Amazon UK as soon as I noticed these flaws.

Other Frost DVDs I own, produced by other studios including ITV, are of excellent quality. Unfortunately, Amazon UK appears to be offering Series 1 through 5 (as this 1-5 set or individually)only through these inferior "Playback Studio" products, so I've chosen to purchase the more expensive Region 1 DVDs.

Too bad Series 15 appears to be the final series and includes only one program. I'll miss Frost -- but I'll have all the original episodes in quality DVD format (not "Playback") to view again over the coming years. Meanwhile, I now know enough to stay away from "Playback Studio" products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Frost, 9 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I bought this set along with another to complete the whole series - the best detective series ever, I think.
Amusing, sad, tense at times, but David Jason, as always, as Frost, is a brilliant actor.
DVDs in excellent condition and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jack's the lad, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Very good compendium of eary Frost.Good solid entertainment. Just the thing for winter nights. I'm still waiting to see if Frost gets the girl.He might consider changing his bacon sarny diet for a start. Perhaps he might change the hat for a stetson. No question though,he gets the villains.Highly recommended. Go on ,you Frost fans you kow you deserve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Frost!, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I've loved to wathc these episodes! David Jason is the right person to play Jack Frost's role. The humor is just right and the storyline exiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top draw detective series, 18 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
David Jason has always been 'Del Boy' to me, so I missed the first two series because I didn't think I would be able to take this seriously. Hands up, I have never been more wrong. In fact, this is probably one of the two greatest TV Detective Series ever made (Morse is the other). Yes, it is that good.

Frost is a hard working, good, decent and honest policeman, who occasionally has small problems with rules and procedure. He is also very human and has the frailties that go with it. He lives and works in the real world and Jo Average can easily identify with this. It is very difficult not to like Frost.

Although there are quite a few moments of humour, this is still very top quality drama, and very addictive. There are quite a few other regulars in the series. Bruce Alexander (his long suffering boss Supt Mullett), John Lyons (long time friend and colleague DS George Toolan) and Arthur White (police archivist Ernie Trigg)in particular.

Check out 'A TOUCH OF FROST: SERIES 6-12'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Frost DVDs, 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
bought these DVDs as a present for my daughter in law and she loved them. No problem with ordering, delivbery or quality of product - what more can i say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Greats, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift for myself. Classic Frost from one of todays greatest. Good quality in general and at a bargain price. Sorry I didn't buy series 6-15 when they too were at a fantastic price will now have to wait for them to come down again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992]
A Touch of Frost: Series 1-5 [DVD] [1992] by David Jason (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: 23.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews