Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I want in a Godzilla movie
This movie has everything a good Godzilla movie should have--monsters, fights, spies, scientists, aliens, the works. You don't even have to wait until the end of the movie to see a fight because the action starts early in this one. First, an old cave is discovered with mysterious artwork on the walls and a unique statue in a cleft, and a young woman has a prophecy that...
Published on 29 Nov 2002 by Daniel Jolley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Subtitles ruin this
If you like Godzilla movies this is a great one.

I was bought this (and several others from the collection) for Christmas and they all have a major flaw - the subtitles are incomplete.

The film itself is fun, Godzilla is the good guy in this one if it matters to you, lots of silliness and people dressed in strange costumes - with the added bonus of 2...
Published on 28 Jan 2011 by C. Patten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I want in a Godzilla movie, 29 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This movie has everything a good Godzilla movie should have--monsters, fights, spies, scientists, aliens, the works. You don't even have to wait until the end of the movie to see a fight because the action starts early in this one. First, an old cave is discovered with mysterious artwork on the walls and a unique statue in a cleft, and a young woman has a prophecy that a monster will come to destroy the earth. As if on cue, Godzilla pops up, but he is immediately attacked by Anguiras. Right away, you know something's fishy because Anguiras is Godzilla's sidekick. This Godzilla is ruthless, and I am still upset about the injury poor Anguiras receives at his hand. Before long, Godzilla shows up, the two Godzillas fight and the impostor is exposed as a cyborg. Godzilla takes a pretty good beating and disappears, but MechaGodzilla is also forced to retreat and seek repair. Aliens are controlling MechaGodzilla, but they need the help of a brilliant Japanese scientist to make the necessary repairs. They capture the scientist and coerce him into helping them. Meanwhile, the good guys are running around trying to figure out the meaning of the strange statue found at the start of the movie. They find out that King Seesar, a guardian monster of sorts on Okinawa, is portrayed on the statue, so they must race to awaken Seesar to fight MechaGodzilla because they do not know if Godzilla is still alive.
The battles in this movie are quite good. MechaGodzilla has everything but the kitchen sink in his arsenal, and he even flies. King Seesar is a little weird, basically looking like a giant dog of some sort mixed with who knows what. The explosions, laser weapons, fiery breath, and general mayhem are very good, and many models are blown to bits. One of my favorite parts, though, is the song that is sung to awaken King Seesar--I have no idea what the words mean, but it is a great song I sometimes listen to just by itself. Interestingly enough, I assume the song is in Japanese, yet it is still dubbed (and rather badly in places).
In conclusion, this is easily one of the best movies in the original Godzilla series. If you don't enjoy this one, you almost surely won't enjoy any of the others, so this is a good litmus test for Godzilla newbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Godzilla movie ever made - if you want to see just one of them, it is this one!, 3 Jan 2008
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It is now more than 30 years since I became an afficionado of the oversized fire breathing dark green reptile with serious anger management issues and a Tokyo fetish. During this time I saw most of the kaiju movies and this one - together with the first "Godzilla" of 1954 - is my all time favourite.

For those of you who have not a clue about those movies, it is important to know that there are two series of Godzilla films - one in which it is a hostile force and another one in which it is a kind of protector of Japan fighting with other "kaijus" (giant monsters). Even in this second situation I always strongly suspected that Godzilla is fighting other monsters more to protect his own turf ("I AM the one to destroy Japan and nobody else will do it for me!") than to really protect humans...))) I like this second kind of movies more and here we have the jewel of the crown in which Godzilla faces possibly his toughest foe (yes, worse even than King Ghidorah!).

Mechagodzilla is a cyborg version of Godzilla, build by aliens who want to conquer the Earth (as always beginning with Japan) and who need to eliminate Godzilla first. Now, I think that everybody will agree that Godzilla movies are not "real" films - the scenario usually is reduced to almost nothing and must just give a pretext to the fight between kaijus or between Godzilla and the Japanese army. But this movie is an exception. Here the plot is rather credible and surprisingly interesting - and The Supreme Alien Leader is a really great villain! The atmosphere surrounding the ancient prophecy is really mystical and plays well. Humour is provided by the King Seesar, a guardian monster of Okinawa, a really cuddly thing that your kids should instantly love. And then there is the music, with especially the Miyarabi Prayer, a strikingly beautiful song in Japanese, which in itself is the reason to buy a collection of soundtracks of Godzilla movies.

I saw this movie many times and now that I am a grown up, I watch it sometimes with my kids - and we all have a great time! Really - if you are a fan and you do not know it yet, see it. And if you are just curious about the Godzilla phenomenon and want to see just one kaiju movie to try - well, pick this one. It is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Subtitles ruin this, 28 Jan 2011
By 
C. Patten (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you like Godzilla movies this is a great one.

I was bought this (and several others from the collection) for Christmas and they all have a major flaw - the subtitles are incomplete.

The film itself is fun, Godzilla is the good guy in this one if it matters to you, lots of silliness and people dressed in strange costumes - with the added bonus of 2 other of the Earth monsters making an appearance. My favourite scene is the ending fight one, watching a guy dressed as a strange sort of dog thing hurtling himself at a guy dressed in tin foil while another guy dressed as a giant lizard watches - great fun.

However in my opinion watching a dubbed version of this, or any Godzilla movie, is horrid.

Unfortunately I had no choice, the subtitles were beyond rubbish.

Whole scenes were forgotten, sentences were only partly conveyed, and if two people were talking at once you had no chance of following what was going on. Maybe I got one from a bad batch but if I could I'd be returning it to buy an older version, one where the picture may be a bit more grainy but at least I could watch the film as it's intended.

If you're someone who needs subtitles then this is not the disc for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars king seesaw?, 26 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'd pretty much agree with all the reviews above - this is an excellent, engrossing movie with a story line you actually want to follow rather than just waiting for them to get to the monster battles. My only caveats would be firstly about King Caesar - he gets the big build up throughout the film but when he appears he's a bit of a let-down in that the costume is covered in mangy-looking fur more reminiscent of Crack Fox from The Mighty Boosh rather than any lion I've ever seen and also SPOILER ALERT !the fact that he actually turns out to be a bit of a wimp in that he shows up, gets pummelled by MechaG for a bit then hides behind a rock until the real G turns up. A more general issue I have with these Columbia TriStar releases is the subtitles which are taken from the English dub rather than the original Japanese so they don't always reflect accurately what is being said (unlike, say Studio Ghibli discs which give you subs for both). I did enjoy the dubbed track though and the fact that they didn't seem to understand what King Caesar's name is based on so he ends up being called anything from King seesaw to King she her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla and the Cowardly Lion vs the Space Monkeys, 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
1975's Godzilla Vs. MechaGodzilla is from Godzilla's protector of Japan period and sees him up against a giant robot replica controlled by space monkeys. It's an attempt to move back into slightly more adult territory with increased (but not terribly convincing) violence and some hand-held camerawork, although the presence of space monkeys and the fact that Godzilla's ally, King Caesar, is a curious cross between the Cowardly Lion and a Pekinese dog, make it seem a somewhat half-hearted one.

Sony's Region 1 DVD offers afine 2.35:1 widescreen transfer with English and subtitled Japanese language options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla's 'Glory Years', 7 Dec 2009
By 
Ian Johnson "Ian" (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Considering I am only 16 years old (The account is my parents), I have only seen the crappy 2000 American version of Godzilla (No offence to the Americans there, the movie just sucks). And so I have been wanting to watch these older ones for a long time now, having seen some clips from them, and I believe that these older movies are more believable, even though they used rubber suits.

Toho has kind of made a name for itself with Godzilla, and it would be a shame not to check these older ones out (for those of you who have never seen them). Will be watching this tonight.

All in all, if you're a Godzilla fan, you owe it to yourself to get this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla meets his match, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
One of Toho's better efforts. During the making of these later Godzilla films, Japan was hitting a recession and it took its toll on the production of the films. But you can hardly tell. Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla is the first time you get to see Mechagodzilla (also seen in Terror of Mechagodzilla and Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla 1993). Fans of the older Godzilla films will also be delighted for a cameo appearance from Anguirus. We're also greeted by a bizarre new monster called King Seesar who is a giant lion. Add all of these elements together, as well as corny dubbing and bad Japanese acting and you get one of the better chapters in Godzilla's history. Also get your ear plugs ready for a terrible Japanese singer!
If you see this, make sure you see the follow up Terror of Mechagodzilla, although by now the suprise of a robot version of the Big G isn't as bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is crazy. I love it!, 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Godzilla vs Mechagodzilla is certainly the most entertaining Godzilla movie I've seen so far. The plot is outlandish: Some ape-like aliens have created a mechanic copy of Godzilla to help them conquer Earth. A princess is having visions about monsters trying to destroy Earth, and it all ties into some ancient prophecy, also involving a third monster, King Caesar, who is awakened by a song (sung by said princess)!

The movie keeps getting weirder and weirder as it goes along and it's all very, very entertaining. The soundtrack music seems completely out of place most of the time but just adds to the absurdity of it all. Certainly a must-see movie for fans of monster movies or just crazy movies in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla Vs Mechagodzilla [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £130.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews