Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hellboy: A Reel Collection Review
This is an incredibly well-presented DVD set, which contains one of the most uniquely dark and compelling comic book adaptations in recent years. The Reel Collection currently consists of quite a varied and yet oddly modest compilation of films, spread across genres as varied as horror, the historical war movie, science-fiction and some of the great modern classics of...
Published on 1 Jan. 2008 by Fantasy Lore

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where did all the special features go?
This 2012 limited steelbook edition Blu-ray contains the following special features:

Director commentary
Making Of documentary
Deleted scenes
Production workshops
Understanding Comics with Scott McCloud
Trailers

The DVD set I bought in 2005 has all of the above, plus the following:

Director intro
Composer...
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by xandermac05


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hellboy: A Reel Collection Review, 1 Jan. 2008
This is an incredibly well-presented DVD set, which contains one of the most uniquely dark and compelling comic book adaptations in recent years. The Reel Collection currently consists of quite a varied and yet oddly modest compilation of films, spread across genres as varied as horror, the historical war movie, science-fiction and some of the great modern classics of cinema. So I doubt that anyone except the most die-hard of film-buffs could justify to themselves purchasing all twelve of the movies in this eclectic compilation, at least not purely for the sake of owning every edition. But going by the quality of this particular example, I have to admit to being tempted myself.

I bought this DVD because I wanted a special edition of this film, a film that in my view breathes new life and dynamism into one of my favourite comic book creations and this edition is nothing if not special...

The Case - composed of a durable, thick card depicting a great image of the film's hero and with an aperture that reveals the tin inside.

Interior - thick protective black foam protects the old-style replica film reel tin that holds the two DVD discs - one for the film and the other for the special-features.

Art Cards (x4) - can be found stored behind the foam. These glossy high-quality images depict some of the best characters and scenes from the movie. On the reverse of each is a short anecdote on the making of the film.

Last, but not least - the menu's and extra's are well-presented and completely comprehensive, just as with the normal 2-disc version, no fan of `Hellboy' could wish for more. In conclusion - I recommend snapping up your copy before it disappears forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars region label, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THE AMAZON DESCRIPTION. This steelbook IS region free. It was listed as such during during pre-order period but amazon changed description to B/2 a few days before release for some asinine reason and practically gave me a heart attack. ABC region free symbol is visible on back cover and on the disc. I live in region 1 and it plays fine.

run time is labeled incorrectly as well. this is the director's cut - 132 min.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where did all the special features go?, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
xandermac05 (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2012 limited steelbook edition Blu-ray contains the following special features:

Director commentary
Making Of documentary
Deleted scenes
Production workshops
Understanding Comics with Scott McCloud
Trailers

The DVD set I bought in 2005 has all of the above, plus the following:

Director intro
Composer commentary with isolated score
Branching comics
Set visits
Storyboards
Screenplay
Script supervisor's book
Director's notebook

Selma Blair intro
Character biographies
Storyboard/scene comparison
Multi-angle breakdowns
Character sculpture vid gallery
Poster explorations
Filmographies

Ron Perlman intro
Cast video commentary
Comic-Con 2002 Q&A
Production Design galleries
Mike Mignola production art
Concept art galleries
Comic art pinups
+ easter eggs

NOT COOL, SONY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perlman is perfect, 13 Jun. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellboy [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
First off, all those who think this rendition of a comicbook hero fails, have missed the point: Hellboy is very much an ANTI-HERO. How many big-and-bad action heroes do you know who like cats, and eating chillie? Hellboy would rather be eating chillie, and sitting among his many cats, than fighting evil. The juxtaposition of this big softy fighting evil monsters and the undead, accentuated by his comical self-deprecating one-liners which he mutters after vanquishing a villain, is funny. He'd rather be doing anything than fighting evil, and it's this conflict within him which forms the foundation for the film.

'Hellboy', to me anyway, was always a good old fashioned, tongue-in-cheek, good-versus-evil romp and there's now't wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm fireproof... you're not, 27 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Hellboy [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
When I first read about Hellboy I was a little unsure about the concept, don't get me wrong, I have a particular fascination for movies based on comic characters - especially Marvell comic characters, though being honest I'd never even heard of Hellboy, and based on what I'd read about the character; a red being/creature with one big stone hand/fist and a red pointed tail who, as a child was transported from another dimension (or hell if you like) during a Nazi experiment and is then captured and raised by a secret CIA type organisation and trained to fight evil in return for sanctuary just sounded a little too much for me. However, when I discovered that Ron Perlman (Blade2, Alien Resurrection) had been cast for the part of Hellboy, I decided to give it a watch, and I'm glad I did, it's brilliant!
Ron Perlman is a fine actor, and is brilliant as Hellboy. His fantastic deep rich voice and dry sarcastic wit combined with his cool facial expressions just bring the character to life in a way I don't think anyone else could... Ron Perlman IS Hellboy; He was made for the part!
The story/plot is pretty much standard fair; an evil adversary (Rasputin!) is planning to open a portal to hell and bring civilisation as we know it to an end, and yep you guessed it, Hellboy has to stop him. However, this evil enemy is also not of this earth and has the power to summon all manner of mythical creatures etc to help him achieve his goal; consequently the film is awash with all manner of high quality special effects and CGI, which only adds to this films appeal.
Definitely recommended, I loved it, I'm sure you will too.
Hellboy 2 is already underway; I just hope it's as enjoyable as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere between Heaven and Hell..., 1 Aug. 2008
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hellboy [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This completely passed me by when it first came out, but given I've now seen a trailer for the second film, which looks fantastic, I thought I'd better get my hands on this and check it out. And it's certainly worth a watch.

The film begins during World War II. Mad man Rasputin is in cahoots with Hitler, and together they manage to open the gates to the supernatural world. By the time the good guys manage to restore normality, the portal was open for long enough for something to escape. Soon enough, they discover something did. And it turns out to be a cute little monster-type thing. Only it is not as harmless as it looks, the 'thing' is in fact a baby demon, capable of wreaking complete and utter havoc on the world. As the bad guys aren't around, the kind-hearted Professor Bloom takes charge of the little creature, and brings it up as his son. So what could have been the scourge of the earth is in fact one of its biggest protectors. The aptly-named Hellboy is trained to obliterate the bad guys. However, in doing so, he's attracting a lot of attention.

Squeaky-clean FBI agent Myers is brought in to try and keep tabs on Hellboy's actions and stop him from causing so much havoc. However, he doesn't do such a great job. He develops a crush on Liz, the love of his charge's life, which just gives Hellboy another reason to misbehave. They're soon forced to club together, though, when the evil Rasputin reappears, once again dead-set on destroying the earth. But will Hellboy follow his destiny as a demon and help bring about the end of the world, or will he stand true and defeat the enemy? Only one way to find out...

This wasn't a bad film. It wasn't the most tense or action-packed superhero movie I've seen, but it wasn't the worst, either. It's probably not as popular as some of the other movies due to the fact the character isn't quite up there with Spiderman, Batman and Superman, but if you're into the genre, you should definitely watch it. It's a bit different, it's got humour, it's tongue in cheek, and there are many worse ways to while away a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Comic Book Adventure from Guillermo Del Torro and Mike Mignola, 9 Aug. 2008
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
"Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is a fun comic book adventure that's one of the better films I have seen this year. Director/writer Guillermo Del Toro and writer - and Hellboy creator Mike Mignola - have crafted a superb superhero action adventure film featuring the often-overlooked Ron Perlman as that devilish hero Hellboy. Sure, he's a flawed son of Satan now committed to fighting for "truth, justice and the American way" (oops, wrong superhero, but you get my point), while also indulging in beer and expensive Cuban cigars. But this time around, he has two problems. First, his relationship with his long-time girlfriend, the fiery Liz (Selma Blair) seems to be reaching a new low - or rather is it? Second, he must deal with the war-like wishes of Elven prince Nuada (Luke Goss), seeking to save his Elvish people from humanity, by resurrecting the legendary, immortal Golden Army. So does Hellboy succeed with his pals Liz and Abe Sapien (Doug Jones) in resisting Prince Nuada's hostile intentions towards humanity? While I won't spoil the fun - but instead, urge you to see the film - I shall note that you'll laugh, cry and eat lots of popcorn watching Hellboy and his friends at work, trying to save America and the rest of humanity. And once you do see the film, I hope that you will realize how ready director Guillermo Del Toro is in tackling J. R. R. Tolkien's "The Hobbit" as his next cinematic masterpiece after "Pan's Labyrinth".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie and fantastic Blu-ray, 28 Mar. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this movie and think Ron Perlman is the perfect Hellboy. I loved the story, all of the special effects and, especially, the cast.

The Blu-ray is equally fantastic; the picture quality and lossless PCM soundtrack are amazing. This is a definite A+, must have Blu-ray if you like this movie.

I imported this to the US and it plays on US players (it is encoded for all regions) so if you cannot wait for the US release later this year and want a sure thing, great import this is a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HELLBOY Blu-ray UK, 21 Oct. 2008
By 
MartinD1 "Martin The One" (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As dark forces gather to hasten the Apocalypse, Hellboy fights fire with fire and humour in this mind-blasting supernatural action-adventure from visionary director Guillermo del Toro (Blade II, Pan's Labyrinth). Based on the comic book.

Special features:
- Deleted Scenes with Optional Commentary.
- Featurettes.
- Hellboy: The Seeds of Creation Documentary.
- Director's Commentary.

Audio format: English 5.1 | English PCM 5.1 | Spanish 5.1 | Spanish PCM 5.1
Video format: Aspect Ratio 1.85:1
Subtitles: English Hard Of Hearing | English | Hindi | Spanish

Notes:
- This is the Director's Cut of Hellboy which includes 12-13 minutes of extra material put back into the film.
- The Spanish audio tracks are in Castillian Spanish not Latin.
- The Subtitles options extend to the special features. All special features have subtitles in English, Spanish and Hindi languages.

If you speak english or spanish this has to be the best edition around. I believe the USA edition doesn't have Spanish subtitles and the other editions doesn't have subtitles in the special features so this is the best edition to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the absence of light, darkness prevails, 17 July 2008
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
While some good directors never quite "get it," it took Guillermo Del Toro only one misfire -- the icky, slow-paced "Blade 2" -- to get the whole comic-book adaptation thing right.

In fact, just about everything is right with "Hellboy" -- Del Toro crafted an action blockbuster with a grimy, slimy cult-movie feel and a quirky sense of humor. It's graced with excellent acting, spectacular action scenes, and the trappings of clockpunk and Lovecraftian horror -- not to mention that it stars a six-foot-tall scarlet demon with a soft spot for kittens.

In 1944, young Professor Broom accompanied an army regiment to a remote Scottish island, where the Nazis -- led by Rasputin -- were about to open a portal to another world, and allow the vast tentacled Ogru Jahad (Seven Gods of Chaos) to enter our world. Rasputin and the Nazis were destroyed, but something came through the portal -- a baby demon, whom Broom names Hellboy.

Fast-forward sixty years -- a grown Hellboy (Ron Perlman) and his fishy friend Abe (Doug Jones) are working at a paranormal government agency that specializes in policing the supernatural, with the weirded-out Agent Myers (Rupert Evans) just joining the team. Soon afterwards, Hellboy is called on to kill Sammael the Hellhound -- but it turns out that Sammael can replicate himself indefinitely.

As Hellboy and his team try to hunt down the remaining Sammaels, the dying Professor Broom (John Hurt) finds that a revived Rasputin and his immortal Nazi followers have orchestrated all this. And Rasputin is continuing to pull the strings behind the scenes -- including using Hellboy's love Liz (Selma Blair), a depressed pyrokinetic. And when Hellboy suffers a devastating loss, his journey will take him right back to his roots -- and the potential destruction of the world.

Watching "Hellboy," it's easy to see how Guillermo Del Toro because world-famous for the exquisitely dark "Pan's Labyrinth," and why he's been chosen to direct the forthcoming "Hobbit" movies. This adaptation could have just been another paint-by-numbers comic-book story, but Del Toro gives it the kind of grime, quirk, brains and heart that a lasting cult movie should have.

Part of that cult appeal is "Hellboy's" distinctive look, with Lovecraftian tentacle-gods and some steampunky details. And the action scenes are pretty spectacular -- trains, slimy hellhounds, sword-swinging Nazis with chopped-up faces, giant clock cogs, and a fiery explosion in a mental asylum. And there are some truly spectacular action scenes in a vast underground labyrinth, full of ancient hammers and collapsing bridges. There's just enough action and grossness, without going overboard.

But Del Toro is able to balance out the action with some truly touching moments, such as the aged Broom's final scenes in his firelit study. And there's a lot of dark humor here as well -- and not all of it is Hellboy's dry one-liners. The movie is liberally peppered with dark humor moments ("1945, you mean. Hitler died in '45." "DID he now?"), including some hilariously macabre scenes involving a bad-tempered Russian zombie ("This is Ivan Klimatovich. Say hi, Ivan." "Go that way, Red Monkey!").

Most importantly, Del Toro is able to give his characters little human quirks -- hair plugs, love of cats, and Hellboy sanding down his horns in the morning. Perlman is simply amazing as "Red," whose gruff scarlet exterior hides a kindly, affectionate heart. Not many actors could emote through that many prosthetics (including a very lifelike tail), but Perlman makes it look natural.

Though he's playing a ninetyish old professor, Hurt plays his role with a quiet, powerful sense of goodness. Jones and Evans also do excellent jobs, one as an erudite psychic fish-man ("We lead a charmed life," he observes as cockroaches skitter around him) and an earnest young agent. Selma Blair is the one downside -- she sort of mumbles in a monotone most of the time.

"Hellboy" is one of the best comic-book adaptations that Hollywood has turned out, primarily because of the darker, eerier aesthetic Guillermo Del Toro brings to it. Definitely a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews