Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why has no one invented one of these before
We have the lime (the best of all) lemon and orange squeezers in this series.

They are quite simply awesome.

Wonderful.

Cut the fruit in half, put it cutside down in the device (this seems as if it would be the wrong way round but it is not) and squeeze

It could not be simpler, and you get so much juice!

Simple to...
Published on 25 July 2009 by Doug

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as efficient as the lemon and lime squeezers
When compared to the same brand of lemon squeezer and lime squeezer this may seem slightly disappointing and not quite as efficient a tool. It's a little harder to squeeze as although the cup is bigger, the handles are the same length as for the lemon and lime squeezers. Also, as one reviewer noted, it does not appear to fully compress the orange when the handles are...
Published on 23 Dec. 2009 by E. L. Wisty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as efficient as the lemon and lime squeezers, 23 Dec. 2009
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
When compared to the same brand of lemon squeezer and lime squeezer this may seem slightly disappointing and not quite as efficient a tool. It's a little harder to squeeze as although the cup is bigger, the handles are the same length as for the lemon and lime squeezers. Also, as one reviewer noted, it does not appear to fully compress the orange when the handles are closed; it may work better with bigger oranges than I have been using, but given my experience of trying small oranges in the lemon squeezer, some juice would probably squirt out of the sides with big oranges.

Certainly it does not extract every last drop, but definitely the majority. Other reviewers may well be noticing that a considerable amount of the flesh remains in the squeezed half. This does not necessarily mean that the juice is not being extracted. With other juicers such as the Philips Citrus Press, which I also own, although the skin may be stripped relatively clean of flesh, a large amount of the flesh will end up over the juicer itself and some as "chewy bits" in the juice. The juice extracted by this tool is quite "clean" in that respect which may partly account for a lower volume.

I didn't concur with those reviews stating that only half of the juice is obtained. I estimated that hand squeezing afterwards probably only gave another 10-15% extra at most on top of what was extracted by the tool. But to be sure I performed an experiment, cutting two oranges in half, juicing one half from each (to average out any differences in yield between the two fruit) with this squeezer, and one half from each with my Philips. The latter machine yielded 90ml of fairly cloudy juice with bits. This hand tool gave 60ml of clearer juice; putting the spent halves on the Philips yielded a further 20ml of cloudy juice. So it gives about two-thirds as much as the machine, but you have to take into account the different pulp content of the resultant juice.

If I want to juice a large number of oranges for juice for drinking, I would get out my Philips, entailing getting it out of the back of the cupboard, finding worktop space to plonk it, unravelling cable, plugging in, squeezing, having to dispense of a large amount of wet pulp and pips which get all over your hands and dribble juice everywhere when you take the rotating squeezer part out to remove the jug, having to wash off all the remaining pulp, dry thoroughly, wrap up cable, return to the back of the cupboard. However if I want to squeeze just a half or one orange for cooking or for cocktails (where clearer juice is often desirable) I would rather use this - squeeze, dispense orange half in one piece, wipe clean, done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why has no one invented one of these before, 25 July 2009
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
We have the lime (the best of all) lemon and orange squeezers in this series.

They are quite simply awesome.

Wonderful.

Cut the fruit in half, put it cutside down in the device (this seems as if it would be the wrong way round but it is not) and squeeze

It could not be simpler, and you get so much juice!

Simple to use, rinses clean under the tap, and more juice than you would ever have thought possible makes this a must have kitchen gadget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money!, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
J. L. Kravitz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
Absolutely waste of time and money.. Its quite heavy and you will really struggle with getting a juice out of orange! It leaks al over,get very messy ,yet no result... stick with what you know in this case !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to expectations., 22 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
"All of the juice will be extracted, but all of the seeds and pulp are retained in the juicer!"
"This funky hand-held Orange Juicer is ideal for squeezing every last bit of juice from the fruit."
-
These two statements in the product description directly state that 'all' or 'every last bit' of the juice will be extracted.
This was not my experience and the product was returned the day after it arrived.
If you squeeze the orange with your hand after it has been squeezed by the device you will get about the same amount of juice coming out, i.e. the device only releases half the juice.
On the positive side, the device has a certain asthetic appeal if you have room in your kitchen for such things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ideal for my needs..., 28 April 2011
By 
HDK (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
just wanted something non electrical that i could use to make small volumes of juice.. ie one or two glasses, and be small enough to easily store out of the way. very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative stuff, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Cynthia Lo (Stockholm., SWEDEN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
Smart "gadget" and great price as well. Not even available here when I first bought them so pretty cool stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother.., 8 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
I tried squeezing oranges in this and neither work that well - some juice came out but there was still so much left in the fruit it wasn't worth it. The gap between the two halves is too big when closed so maybe if you have an orange with really thick skin it might work, but I really wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for lemons and limes!, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
Should really have bough the lemon one instead as used for squeezing lemons and limes and is a bit too big to get all of the juice out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer (Kitchen & Home)
wprks well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amco Orange Citrus Squeezer
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews