Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars148
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

'Robbie Williams' famously walked away from 'Take That' in 1995 (the group completed
their tour, and split in 96' upsetting tens of thousands of their loyal fans)
'Take That' had achieved phenomenal success during their first and second coming with
27 Top 40 hits, 11 of which topped the U.K Charts, of course 'Robbie' did re-join the
re-formed group during their recent history, only to leave again.
'Robbie's' solo career achieved instant success with a number two Chart-Hit in 1996 which
is curiously not included on this CD the song 'Freedom'
However many of his well known numbers are, as a solo artist 'Robbie' has had 36 Top 30
entries, twenty seven of those were Top 10 hits, of which seven have Topped the Chart those
being - 'Millennium' (1997) 'She's The One' (1999) 'Rock D.J' (2000) 'Eternity' (2001)
'Something Stupid' (sung with 'Nicole Kidman' 2001 -not on-board) 'Radio' (2004) and
'Candy' (2012 - not on-board) This album covers many of his best known and loved songs
between 1996 - 2004
Surprisingly everybody's favourite fell short of the number one slot 'Angels' though it did in fact
remain in the charts for 27-weeks.
Some of the other well known songs on-board this 19-Song CD include 'No Regrets' (A hit also
for the 'Walker Brothers') 'Strong' 'Kids' 'Feel' and 'Misunderstood'
This album certainly a great reflection of 'Robbie's' solo career, well worth having it within your
music collection.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2004
First of all,he is the ultimate male pop icon in the UK and around the world.Who can deny it? We've actually grown with Robbie's Music since we were teens (for me)! With his rough edge attitude,perky pissed off humors and bad boy charm,he's the man!
The hit songs reflects his undeniable charisma through the ages in the music industry.Kinda think of it's pretty fast how the time flies,when you could sing along to Robbie's tunes.His "Greatest Hits" takes you back in time to his "one hit wonder"...No Regrets,Angels,She's the one and Strong.All I can say that this are 'real classics',truly candy to the ears.
When Ilisten to theses tunes,it's like wow...it's like travelling back to your memories whether you're having your first kiss,striving for the best in high school,becoming a man or anything that u can think of.
Not forgetting the evolution of Robbie's music through the years with upbeat tunes like"Rock DJ,Millennium,Let me Entertain You".Plus,the latest #1 hits in the present like Feel,Sexed Up,Come Undone.A must have for Robbie Fans.It's a complete wholesome of Robbie's masterpieces in one GREAT CD.
I just wish that Robbie will go on feeding us with more great tunes in the future.Only time will tell.For now enjoy Robbie,enjoy LIFE!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2004
Firstly, I think it's important for me to say upfront that I have never bought a Robbie album before...until now.
This is without a doubt one of the best collections of hits that I have seen. 19 tracks, 2 new and both are excellent - 1 of which is radio, the recent No1 single (and a real musical departure) and Misunderstood, a beautiful popwer ballad that he does very well.
Is there really any point in me talking about the songs themselves, other than to say that this is a truly uplifting, incredible selection of popular songs that everyone should have in their music collection. I can sing along heartily to EVERY track.
A couple of songs are missed out (noticeably Something Stupid with Nicole Kidman) but this doesn't effect the quality of the cd at all. This will be the biggest album of 2004
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2005
It's been 13 years since a lycra-clad Take That first stormed the charts, scoring an earth shattering number 38 'hit'. Sure, they ended up having a pretty glittering run but, to use Noel Gallagher's words, "could you really have seen the 'Fat Dancer from Take That' surviving in a sphere of musicality where lip-synching live to a vocal track is tantamount to admitting to liking the remake of The Avengers?"
It is undeniable that Robbie Williams' foray into solo stardom was initially met with more than a touch of trepidation, but 19 top ten singles, 5 number 1 albums and global album sales in excess of 32 million can't be argued with.
Cataloguing the journey from boy-band oblivion to all conquering supreme, Greatest Hits is required listening for any pop fan. Opening the collection is lads anthem Old Before I Die, one of many high standards from the infancy of Williams' solo career, immediately followed by classic-in-waiting Angels, which will no doubt be the highlight of the album for many buyers.
One of the biggest problems facing Greatest Hits' compilations is keeping the release fresh, hence so many artists now include a new track or three to get the interest flowing and Robbie is no exception. Latest number 1 Radio is a hint towards a new era in Williams' evolution with it's darker edge and electronica, and with new track 2, Misunderstood, featuring in the latest Bridget Jones movie this collection surely can't miss! Standout tracks would definitely be Lazy Days, Let Me Entertain You and Kids, Robbie's duet with Kylie Minogue, and though not all tracks are as strong, Williams is an artist who weaves his soul into each release and such honesty alone makes every track deserving of your attention.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
I do have to say that this is one of the best albums I own. But I also think it could be much better, because some of the songs do not appear in their full verisons. Here is what I think of the tracks:

1.Old Before I Die 9/10
2.Lazy Days 7/10
3.Angels 9/10
4.Let Me Entertain You 8/10
5.Millennium 6/10*
6.No Regrets 10/10*
7.Strong 9/10*
8.She's The One 9/10
9.Rock DJ 10/10
10.Kids 10/10**
11.Supreme 5/10
12.Let Love Be Your Energy 8/10*
13.Eternity 9/10
14.The Road To Mandalay 6/10*
15.Feel 8/10*
16.Come Undone 10/10*
17.Sexed Up 9/10*
18.Radio 9/10
19.Missunderstood 8/10

*-Radio edit
**-Please note that this is the version that appears on Kylie's "Light Years" album and not the verison that is on "Sing When You're Winning where Robbie has a spoken fade-out rap towards the end. Instead the chours repeats untill the end oof the song.

The good:
It includes lots of Robbie's big hits like "Angels","Rock DJ" and "Feel". I also like how the tracklisting is in release order unlike SOME greatest hits albums like "Celebration" by Madonna and #1's by Destiny's Child. Also like the new songs "Radio" and "Missunderstood". Some pepole may dissagree with me here, but I like that "South Of The Border" is not included on this CD.

The not so good:
As said by some other pepole, it ommits some of his greater hits. Where's "It's Only Us", "Somethin' Stupid", and Something Beautiful? I would also like if "Freedom" was also on this release, but it wasn't to be. Also the album cover is UGLY.

Overall I'd say great album, but I don't think it's the best from Robbie Williams. I got this in a supermarket for £5, and it's worth it at that price. Let Robbie entertain you today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
I can remember 10 years ago asking a cousin what her favourite music was and she said "Robbie Williams", a name which meant nothing to me until I matched it with the all time classic;"Angels". Now this C.D is maybe my top pop music ever. Play "Old before I die" as you start a car journey and you really feel you are setting off on an adventure.
Not sure what Robbie meant by 'hell is gone, heavens here' in "Let me entertain you" but I like to think he is pointing out that science has proved that parts of ancient texts like the Bible have been disproved. As Richard Dawkins points out in "The greatest show on earth" evolution is now a proven fact. This proves the Bible unreliable, and so hell has gone, into the myths of time. Also Bible scholars like John Loftus in "Why I became an atheist" and Dan Barker in "godless" explain how analysis of the Bible has also confirmed that these texts are only musings by primitive superstitious people who didn't understand what was going on in their world. I used to try to believe the Bible but now I realise man created the gods so I have burned the effigy of my old ideas- so this song means a whole lot to me.
"No regrets"- fantastic- stay positive, look forward. Alot of good ideas in these lyrics. I think Robbie speaks in his songs that it is up to us what we make of life. We can make our own future be good. 'It's time to move your body'
Is it possible to criticise this C.D? I can't think of anything. It is musical genius. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
I'm a huge fan of Robbie Williams' solo stuff, and listening to the good material without the 'swing', you can't help but think that the guy should have been in Oasis and not Take That.

This excellent nineteen track album spans little short (2 years to be exact) of ten years worth of material. All the upbeat classics like 'Let Me Entertain You' (repetitive after a while maybe, but infectious as well) and 'Rock DJ' are here, alongside brilliant ballads like 'Angels' and 'Sexed Up'. the song which really turned his fortunes around after he departed rom Take That, and paved the way for a successful solo career. Robbie could certainly pen a good song, and 'Angels' was the proof.

This album was released in 2004, and so includes Robbie's then latest hit 'Radio', which was a favourite of mine at the time, and it still holds up. The only track that I'm disappointed that it didn't make this album's selection is 'Something Beautiful', which deserves it's place here. Nevertheless, it's just one song that you can easily pick up elsewhere. 'Greatest Hits' is an excellent introduction to Robbie's music, and confirms what a talent and showman he is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 October 2014
I'm a huge fan of Robbie Williams' solo stuff, and without the 'swing' (thankfully omitted from this collection), you can't help but think that he should have been in Oasis instead of Take That.

This compilation falls only short (two years to be exact) of ten years of material, showcasing Robbie's versatile talents at creating music. From upbeat classics like 'Let Me Entertain You' (repetitive yes, but infectious) and 'Rock D', to beautiful ballads like 'Sexed Up' and 'Angels', which was the song that really turned his fortunes around after he departed from Take That. Robbie could sure write and perform a good tune, and 'Angels' in 1997 conformed this.

'Greatest Hits' was released in 2004, and contains his then latest single 'Radio', a favourite of mine at the time that has aged well. The only disappointment for me was 'Something Beautiful', surprisingly absent despite it's success. Whilst this great song deserved it's place here, you can easily find it elsewhere. This 19 track album is a solid collection of the show master's work, and deserves a place in any CD collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2005
If ever we required proof that Robbie Williams has become more popular and successful than all of his fellows from Take That put together three times over, this album is that evidence. This spectacular showman's Greatest Hits package is just that, nineteen tracks reflecting his best work from a solo career now spanning almost nine years, and not merely every single he has ever released, as is the custom with those acts who hurriedly release a Greatest Hits album after only eleven or twelve singles.
Sadly, Robbie favourites such as "Something beautiful" and "It's only us" did not make it onto this album, nor did his swingin' collaboration with Nicole Kidman, "Somethin' stupid", but the absence of certain tracks does not weaken this album in the slightest. Indeed, every single included here fantastically displays how far Williams has come in the music industry and how much both his voice and his musical direction has matured. So many of his hits are regarded as classics nowadays, notably the infectious "Let me entertain you", "Old before I die", "Millennium", "Rock DJ" and, of course, the stunning ballad "Angels", the song that arguably established Williams as the incredible musician that he is today. Astoundingly, this beautiful track did not even make the Top 3 in the UK, instead becoming the UK's biggest selling no. 4 single ever.
This album also shows how versatile Williams has been regarding his single releases, providing his listeners with ballads, laid-back pop and numerous rock-influenced tracks such as "Lazy days", an ultimate guitar fest, "Let love be your energy", one of the most catchy Williams songs with its infectious bass-driven bridge, and "Kids", his kicking duet with Kylie Minogue. "Angels" is not the only ballad that is thoroughly deserving of its classic status; "She's the one" is also a much-loved Williams track, despite being the only one of his singles which he hasn't had a hand in writing, and the haunting "Eternity" is just as popular among his loyal fans.
I personally admire Williams most for his mature, mid-tempo pop tracks, a genre which he has emphasised even more recently on his amazingly successful studio album "Escapology". Songs like "Come undone" and "Sexed up" are reminiscent of this laid-back style, and the mysterious use of the piano in "Feel" really moves the listener. Their lyrics are very meaningful and somewhat harsh compared to other Robbie tracks, except perhaps the disturbing reminder of his days in Take That, "No regrets", one of the best songs on the album in my opinion (although that was an exceptionally difficult choice to make). My other favourite is the totally unique "The road to Mandalay", which doesn't seem to fit into a particular genre. Its distinguishing chorus is very curious, with a slide guitar coming into effect over Williams' minimalist lyrics at this point ("pum, pum, pum, pa-da-da-pum-pum..."), and its minor key gives the song a mysterious aura.
The two most recent singles featured on this album are "Radio" and "Misunderstood". The former can be very strange on first listen as it is so different musically to anything Williams has released before, but it is instantly memorable. Synthesisers dominate this superb track, and its lyrics humorously show Williams' trademark innocent arrogance: "My performance is easy, I am the god of romance." "Misunderstood", on the other hand, is a much slower track smothered with a beautiful harmonica, again perfectly displaying Williams' versatility.
It is incredible when I consider just how successful Robbie Williams has become; I am sure he is the sole ex-boy band singer who has achieved five consecutive no. 1 albums in the UK and enjoyed over twenty top-selling singles, collecting fifteen BRIT awards and clocking up six UK no. 1 singles in the process. This Greatest Hits collection is an absolute must-buy for anyone who is a fan of mature pop music with a hint of individuality. In fact, a lot of individuality - there will never be another Robbie Williams.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2005
Some might critisize robbie williams for releasing a greatest hits album after just 5 albums but i would'nt be one of those people. After selling over 38 million albums worldwide,achiving 6 number one singles and 6 number one albums i think he has the right to sit back and reflect over his brillient career. From start to finish this is a fantastic pop/rock compilation. Although he might not have broken america but he still sells just as much albums as Usher or Justin Timberlake do. The 2 new songs are not as great as some of the others but are still good pop songs. Radio is an electro-type track that is very catchy while Misunderstood is a classic robbie ballad. as good as this album is it is missing a few good songs like something beautiful,freedom,south of the bourder and #1 something stupid. another thing about robbie is that it is not necesarily his singles that are his best songs so if you want all his gratest songs buy gis studio albums for song like win some lose some,better man ect. the best songs on this album are angels,millenium,no regrets,let me entertain you,rock dj and feel.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)