Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MANY OF 'ROBBIE'S' FAVOURITES ON-BOARD'
'Robbie Williams' famously walked away from 'Take That' in 1995 (the group completed
their tour, and split in 96' upsetting tens of thousands of their loyal fans)
'Take That' had achieved phenomenal success during their first and second coming with
27 Top 40 hits, 11 of which topped the U.K Charts, of course 'Robbie' did re-join the
re-formed group...
Published 12 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No doubt, this is only part one...
It's been 13 years since a lycra-clad Take That first stormed the charts, scoring an earth shattering number 38 'hit'. Sure, they ended up having a pretty glittering run but, to use Noel Gallagher's words, "could you really have seen the 'Fat Dancer from Take That' surviving in a sphere of musicality where lip-synching live to a vocal track is tantamount to admitting to...
Published on 19 April 2005 by disco_daveuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good but.........., 23 July 2013
By 
T. Waller "tracey_w" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love Robbie and this has the tracks I would have expected on a greatest hits album from the early part of his carear. BUT if you've already got in and out of conciousness or your considering which one to get then it's probably not worth putting your money here. This is less than £2 cheaper and has much less on it. The newer one has a much wider range (understandably) and also covers most of what's on here plus the newer ones. However if you only like Robbie's earlier stuff and think that he's lost it (and I know some people do) then this is the album for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 27 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Finally! A Robbie Williams album which gets rid of the cheesy filler material and solely concentrates on the Hits.
I am no great fan of RW but the tracks included on this Greatest Hits package are all amazing. It is just one hit after another and will surely go down as one of the best Greatest Hits albums of the past decade.
"Angels", "Let Me Entertain You", "Millennium", "Strong", "Let Love Be Your Energy" and "Feel" are the highlights of the compilation, although the album is well worth getting for the decent stand-alone single "Eternity", which is not available on any other UK album, and "Radio", which is RW's most recent chart topper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
So
It was my friends birthday, and this was the perfect gift. Elliot Rice Birchall went to a mates house and had to sing a song. This was Angels, by Robbie. This was a perfect gift, as it has Angels on the C.D. So i decided to purchase this as this was a banterous present.
The next reason for this purchase was inlight of a comment made by Elliot. This was him calling a certain girl an 'Angel' This made the present even funnier as it reminds him of that special girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERES ONLY ONE ROBBIE!!!!, 5 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The reviewer From Nottingham has me some what confused why did he review the ablum if he Hates Robbie,my guess has a closet Robbie fan,my message to him come out its Ok to be a Robbie Fan.
This Album is wonderful full of classic Robbie who could ask for more,The thing i like about him is he can do all types of music from Rocking greats like 'Let love be your energy' to the underrated 'Come undone' then classic Ballards like the timeless 'Angels' and the beautifull new song 'missunderstood'who needs guy when Robbie can come up with another classic like that.
heres to the next Greatest Hits
Pop Idols come and go but Robbie Williams is her to Stay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After you hear this, you won't be asking "WHO?" anymore, 27 Jun. 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Robbie Williams has got to be the best kept secret outside of the UK. Since leaving the group "Take That", he has notched hit after hit, but try as he might, he just can't scratch the diamond surface of the USA.
Largely ignored by the mainstream pop crowd, Robbie sings to ears that won't hear, and shows his videos to eyes that won't see. A word of advice to music fans - try this album! Borrow it if you must, but give this album a shot.
Listen to the excellent ballad "Angels", and then hop to "Millenium", "She's the One", "Feel", "Eternity" and "Misunderstood" which is new on this album. Go back to "Old Before I Die", "Let Me Entertain You", "Strong" and "Kids" then start dancing around to "Rock DJ" and the quirky "Radio".
Every song deserves to be on a greatest hits album, the one glaring and unfortunate omission being the duet "Something Stupid" with Nicole Kidman.
Don't take my word for it - let Robbie entertain you today.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie is simply the Best, 11 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I am a mum and 51 yrs old, but still just love good rock/pop music and a great live performer. I have seen the bestlive acts over the years, Queen, Rolling Stones, Elton John, Dire Straits, Led Zepplin, Cream, Eric Clapton, Moody Blues, Bad Company/Free, Eagles, Doobie Brothers, James Taylor, Mike and the Mechanics, Genisis, Phil Collins etc etc. All I can say is that Robbie Williams is up there with the lot of them after seeing him at his live concert. As for his songs I love every one of them, and cannot hear Angels and Free without singing along and feel emotional. As for Let Me Entertain You - it just lifts my spirits. I am not one to join fan clubs and rave about performers, but Robbie proved at the Live8 concert that he can hold an audience. He was the best act there, although The Who (a group I would have loved to see live, but never did) came a close second.
So anyone wanting to hear great music - buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars his appeal is ageless!!, 4 Dec. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Ive bought this album for my man for xmas as he's a fan, played it, loved it, my mum heard it, she's a young 70 and she fell in love with it..... so ...yep...ive bought it for her as a surprise crimbo pressy.......she's gonna be so pleased...just goes to show...if your a talented perfomer/singer....you dont just appeal to a certain age group...Robbie has a great following which is ....AGELESS!!!!.....KEEP GOING ROB!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..a greatest hits album which deserves the title, 28 Nov. 2004
By 
Bukhtawar Dhadda (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Whether you are a Robbie Williams fan or love music of any kind you have to agree that there are too many 'Greatest Hits', ' Best Of..' etc albums on the scene. A lot are by artists who have had a few hits and suddenly decide to cash in by releasing a compilation of their few hits padded out by their obscure or new songs. Well not Robbie - it is refreshing to hear an album where virutally every song is recognisable from start to finish..a true Greatest Hits album..highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every hit so far..., 30 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Robbie Williams consistent popularity with the British Public has long since bemused 'artistes' and musicologists alike, but in truth he is the quintessential 'British' pop star. Caught somewhere between a cheeky Sean Connery and a rather self analytical Norman Wisdom, Robbies ability to entertain may be totally lost on our friends across the pond, but to the brits he has a bit of everything for everyone. For the pubrock lads and lasses there's plenty of Oasis-lite pop here (Old before I die, Angels, Lazy), for the Bon Jovi fans - a Keep the Faith inspired tour-de-force in the shape of 'Let me Entertain You', for the girls - the 'I will survive' infringing 'Supreme', for the dancefloor - the thumping (if not slightly irritating) Rock DJ and so on...
You name it - Robbie's done it and, annoyingly enough for his critics (me included), done it well. It's not often you'll pick up a best of and understand why someone has been so successful, but the album is crammed full of memorable tune after tune. Love him or hate him - you can't deny the fact that he's had some of the most enduring songs over the last 8 years and his continuing popularity can no longer be consigned to the fact that he was once in Take That. Nowadays he's everything you saw 'Carry On' movies celebrating about Britain; the cheeky chappie who's your best mate always up for a pint, the seaside holiday entertainer from Blackpool, the James Bond wannabe from Sean Connerys era and (for the girls) the unobtainable, but (worryingly) vulnerable boy who just wants to be loved...
All of which is sickening if you don't like him, but as there's only about 15 of us in the entire country who think like that, it's as well to point out that he's successful, and succesful for a reason. For every RW fan this album is largely pointless - most of them will have bought the two new songs as singles and doubtless own the rest on their respective albums, but as everyone's a completist these days - it'll shift like no other. For those of you who've never found the time to pick up one of his forays into stardom - it'll be a good starting point - probably closely followed by 'I've been expecting you' and 'Escapology'.
How his career develops from here remains to be seen, but even without Guy Chambers, he can still bang out a good melody. Expect this to be the first of many...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8, 7 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
gr8 product & service mmmmmmmmmmm nnnnnnnnnnnnn hhhhhhhhhhhhhh gggggggggggggg ffffffffffff ffffffffffffff gffffffffffffff hbbbbbbbbbbbbbb fffffffffffff fffffffffffffff gggggggggggggg bbbbb ddddd ddddddddd dddddddddd dddddddd dddddddddd dddddddddd dddddddddddd dddddddddd dddddddddd ddddddd d dd d d d d d d d d d d d d d d d d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Robbie Williams (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews