Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars136
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£49.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2004
I hate to be repetative but just remember this wasnt originally intended to be recorded at all and only a spontaneous live event. And all these people grousing about this artist's performance wasn't there because they wouldn't allow it or that one's set was shortened to make room for the more famous acts. Quit your b****in! They didn't even have to make this available to you at all!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
It doesn't matter if you like this or not, or what the quality's like, the important thing is the cause you'd be helping by buying it. That was the reason for Live Aid in the first place, and 20 years on, people are still suffering. So do your bit and help them out, it'll be the best thing you do this christmas. And basically, it was a damn good concert
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Have watched many times and will watch many times more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
brillant, came on time and in good order. very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Great item, as described, and fast delivery A+++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Great to watch Live Aid again. Still brilliant!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
A phenomenal concert, this is that for posterity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Great item good condition Now mu heart is full
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2007
Like so many other reviewers, I devoted the day to watching this, put the radio through my band's PA in the garden, bought in about 4 barrels of Beardoe's Old Weasel (which went pretty quickly), invited a gang, fed all the livestock early for once and put the TV in the window so that we could all watch. Even farming had to stop for a day.

And what a mixed bag it all is. I do not agree with the last reviewer that it is "dross" but there is a lot of truth in what he says. Like 'em or loathe 'em, Dire Straits and Queen showed everybody the way home, closely followed by B B King on quite magnificnet form, beamed to our TVs. In fact, a lot of our guests had only the vaguest notion of who B B King was, but after a few numbers they all knew very well who he was. I find it almost beyond belief that his performance is hardly ever mentioned. There were some real horrors, such as the now-famous debacle with Dylan, which was unspeakable, and our gang found U2 pretty unbearable, but at least they could cut it.

There is no point in reviewing all the acts, but this DVD picks up a very great deal of it. Nobody in their right minds could sit through all four DVDs (you need 6 pints of Beardoe's Old Weasel for that), but you can pick at it. The bottom line is that it veers from very good to beyond parody, sadly with more acts heading towards parody. I suppose the wonder is that like the bumble bee, it flew at all. If only Bob had managed to get Eric Clapton and, even better, Rory Gallagher, then it would have started to become an event to remember for the music rather than for the event. Very flawed, but interesting.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2004
Ok so I'll admit it. I haven't seen all the DVD and I was born in 1989 and so most of the people on it I don't recognise. BUT why does every review I read go along the lines of
"It was good, but this song wasn't on it so I can't give it 5 stars. I'm really disappointed."
If the recording of the songs no longer exsist or have never exsisted then how on earth do you think they are going to get them on the DVD. It's not like they can magic them out of thin air. It could be worse, there could be no songs or DVD as they had said in 1985. But then again middle-aged men need something to complain about!! Dont they??
Overall I loved the concert and am looking forward to watching the rest.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)