Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious movie and very cleverly done!
Having seen the number of dissing reviews on the IMDB, I just had to put in this review in defiance, as a chap who watches a movie to enjoy it rather than blam it.
The plot is simple. Garfield, fat lazy lasagne-loving telly-addict cat is living his very simple life, when his owner Jon get a new pet from his vet girlfriend, Liz. A puppy dog called Odie. Odie quickly...
Published on 28 Dec 2004 by DEC Normington

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What Fun!
Considering this had been panned everywhere, my 4 year old and I really enjoyed it! Slightly corny at times yet strangley compelling with the cheesey happy ending this made for a good aftenoon's entertainment. Not sure I'd buy it but well worth renting! The CGI is fantastic, even the swirling cat hair seems real and there are some classic comedy moments with Garfield and...
Published on 22 Dec 2004 by wiggyboo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious movie and very cleverly done!, 28 Dec 2004
Having seen the number of dissing reviews on the IMDB, I just had to put in this review in defiance, as a chap who watches a movie to enjoy it rather than blam it.
The plot is simple. Garfield, fat lazy lasagne-loving telly-addict cat is living his very simple life, when his owner Jon get a new pet from his vet girlfriend, Liz. A puppy dog called Odie. Odie quickly turns Garfield's life on end and the two are always quarelling over their hometurf. Then Odie is kidnapped by an evil TV showman and Garfield must face his guilty conscience and rescue him.
While not the most brilliant of movies, Garfield is still hilariously funny and you'd have to be incredibly sour not to laugh. The special effects are brilliant - not just the CGI Garfield, but the whole facial animation with the other animal characters. The way that Garfield portrays moral developement is also good and I recommend this as a truly delightful family movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purrfect, 7 Dec 2004
This review is from: Garfield The Movie (Two Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i totally love this movie and so do my cousins it does the cartoon justice if you have kids buy it for them if not buy it for yourself please buy you will not regret it has everything and i hope there is a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garfield the Movie, 23 Jan 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
If you're looking for a film to buy for the children and it must have that certain play-over-again-and-again-ability then you could do a lot lot worse than choose Garfield The Movie.
My daughter (9) was bought this film for Xmas and has played it over and over again. Her brother (4) adores the film as well and the two of them even quote lines back and forth between themselves.
I've watched the film with them and although it can only hold limited appeal for the adult audience it is well made and does have its own charm. Bill Murray is excellent as the voice of Garfield and the real life animals are fantastically trained. The CGI Garfield is quite brilliantly done and interacts so well with the real life film. Favourite part must be the end credits when Garfield performs he very own special dance.
Great film to have in the collection for that rainy Saturday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garfield the Movie, 18 Jan 2006
By 
Mrs. Hs Horrocks "helly" (Portishead, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garfield The Movie (Two Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I rented Garfield the movie for my 6 year old daugher. She was hooked! ... so were the rest of the family. We all really enjoyed it. Good family entertainment with nothing scary in. It was very funny. Would certainly watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable fun, 30 Nov 2004
Although this film has been panned by the critics... i bought it and enjoyed every minute of it.. ok it has a few faults but name me a film that dosen't.. If you enjoyed the cartoon strip/Books back in the 80's YOU WILL ENJOY this...My only problem was with the 'Live' Odie's interaction with an Animated Garfield but this is only a very minor one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Fun, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There have been many live action movies made of popular cartoon characters over the years, and quite a few of them have failed to please. 'Garfield' however, I'm happy to say did not.

As a loyal reader of the comic strips, I was never of the opinion that Garfield was for children's only, far from it. However, it is kids (who will learn about the importance of friendship) who will probably be the main audience for this film, but the delightful humour and cute story will also win over the adults.

You'd have to have a serious lack of humour to not find the quirky, lazy cat with the huge appetite for lasagne funny. The plot is simple, Garfield finds himself having to save Odie (much like the classic cartoon short 'Here Comes Garfield' from over two decades before) from a life of hell as a TV puppet. Actors Breckin Meter and Jennifer Love Hewitt are good as Garfield's owner Jon and his love interest Liz, the latter who has been long established as a character in the comic strip.

If your sceptical about a live action Garfield adventure, don't be - I think you may be pleasantly surprised by this 2004 film.

I've always disliked cats, but I have to make an exception for Garfield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 8 Jan 2005
By A Customer
I didn't want to watch this film, but was persuaded to. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. It was very funny and Garfield's moves were just like a real cat's are. If you want some light entertainment that you do not have to think about, this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo Garfield!, 6 Jan 2005
By 
C. H. Skrine "merlynhawk" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was one of the cutest movies we've seen in a long time.
Even with no kids at home to share it with, it was well worth seeing. The only glitch in it was that Jon was not nerdy enough.
We have a new movie to put on to our favourites list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 24 Dec 2006
By 
This is a superb comedy!! Garfield is utterly awesome/funny in this movie! As it is hard to really explain, I reccomend that anyone watches this as it's a fun, comedy, great for all the family to see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garfield The Movie, 25 Aug 2005
By 
Mrs. J. A. Marks "tweety pie" (Stockport, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very funny & witty would watch it again. It was brilliant how they have managed to mix real life and cartoon. Recommended for any age group. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garfield The Movie (Two Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2004]
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews