Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Second Nature
Second Nature is the second CD released by Katherine Jenkins in 2004. Like the first, the album achieved chart success, hitting the No. 1 spot in the classical music charts and reaching No. 16 in the UK album chart. It was also awarded Album of the Year at the Classical BRIT awards on 25th May 2005.

The cover artwork is an improvement on the previous album...
Published on 15 Oct 2007 by Mart

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music
I am really pleased that I bought this album. Not being a fan of classical music, I am always scared of buying a CD just in case I don't like it. This CD is beautiful and what made it even better for me is that one of my favourite songs "Calon Lan" is on there. This is a song I have loved since a child and haven't heard it sung since then. It conjured up memories of...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by Free Spirit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Second Nature, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
Second Nature is the second CD released by Katherine Jenkins in 2004. Like the first, the album achieved chart success, hitting the No. 1 spot in the classical music charts and reaching No. 16 in the UK album chart. It was also awarded Album of the Year at the Classical BRIT awards on 25th May 2005.

The cover artwork is an improvement on the previous album which I think didn't make the best of the singer's appearance. The girl next door look is discarded in favour of a bolder more glamorous operatic image.

Like the first album, the choice of music will have a broad appeal, for it is another carefully chosen selection of classical, opera, traditional and crossover styles with some modern works thrown in. Many of the established classics are here, including works by Verdi, Rodrigo, Bizet, Dvorak, Offenbach and Mozart, but my favourites are the more surprising and unusual inclusions.

`Time to Say Goodbye' is an Italian operatic pop song, composed by Francesco Sartori and first performed by Andrea Bocelli in 1995. It didn't achieve widespread success until a second recording of the song was made, this time pairing Bocelli and soprano Sarah Brightman, after which it achieved major record sales when released as a single.

It has now been widely recorded and performed, and this version, which opens the CD, is a song I've seen Katherine Jenkins use to great effect as the closing number on her live concerts.

`Vide cor Meum'( See my heart) is an operatic duet with Welsh tenor Rhys Meirion, composed by Patrick Cassidy for the film `Hannibal' where it was used in the outdoor opera scene to brilliant effect by marking the realization (to Inspector Pazzi) that Dr Hannibal Lector was sitting in the audience. The extreme contrast between the sheer operatic beauty of the music and Hannibal's concealed violence makes this piece, for me, unforgettable.

`Hymn to the Fallen' is another cinematic score, this time by John Williams for the 1998 film `Saving Private Ryan'. I always thought the music was poorly placed in the film, at the end while the credits rolled, so that cinema audiences were too busy exiting to fully appreciate it. This version I think improves on the original one, benefiting from the extra vocal emotion provided by the use of a single soprano voice (Jenkins) backed by choir (Czech Film Orchestra). This is my favourite of the CD.

This is another successful 2004 release by Katherine Jenkins, which will appeal to fans of her first album, Premiere, as well as a wider audience amongst the (so-called) crossover genre thanks to the inclusion of some non-classical tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!! What a voice!, 28 May 2006
By 
beethovenguy (The back of beyond) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
Having heard Katherine Jenkins on the radio many times, I decided to finally buy her CD. I was certainly not disappointed. Her voice has a wonderfully rich and full sound inherent of a mezzo voice but has a large enough range to tackle some of the soprano repertoire, such as "Song to the Moon" from Dvorak's "Rusalka". The richness of her voice adds a third dimension to her performances of soprano repertoire that most sopranos (Renée Fleming being a noted exception) cannot achieve. Her choice of songs is impeccable and she conveys the necessary emotion in each to perfection. Although her voice has a great operatic quality, she doesn't overdo the vibrato and slide lethargically up to higher notes like some opera singers. Some may say that Jenkins is in fact copying Sarah Brightman in her performing and repertoire. Although Jenkins is singing some songs done by Brightman (and why not?) she certainly does not imitate her voice by any stretch of the imagination and has her own style. Overall I think this CD is amazing and the best track in my opinion is "Song to the Moon" which is sung with such yearning and passion that it is worth buying "Second Nature" merely for this interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Second Nature, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
(Identical to other 'Second Nature' UK CD release, other than packaging. Slidepack CD case = slimline version of standard CD jewel case)

Second Nature is the second CD released by Katherine Jenkins in 2004. Like the first, the album achieved chart success, hitting the No. 1 spot in the classical music charts and reaching No. 16 in the UK album chart. Second Nature also won Album of the Year at the Classical BRIT Awards on 25th May 2005.

The cover artwork is an improvement on the previous album which I think didn't make the best of the singer's appearance. The girl next door look is discarded in favour of a bolder more glamorous operatic image.

Like the first album, the choice of music will have a broad appeal, for it is another carefully chosen selection of classical, opera, traditional and crossover styles with some modern works thrown in. Many of the established classics are here, including works by Verdi, Rodrigo, Bizet, Dvorak, Offenbach and Mozart, but my favourites are the more surprising and unusual inclusions.

`Time to Say Goodbye' is an Italian operatic pop song, composed by Francesco Sartori and first performed by Andrea Bocelli in 1995. It didn't achieve widespread success until a second recording of the song was made, this time pairing Bocelli and soprano Sarah Brightman, after which it achieved major record sales when released as a single.

It has now been widely recorded and performed, and this version, which opens the CD, is a song I've seen Katherine Jenkins use to great effect as the closing number on her live concerts.

`Vide cor Meum'( See my heart) is an operatic duet with Welsh tenor Rhys Meirion, composed by Patrick Cassidy for the film `Hannibal' where it was used in the outdoor opera scene to brilliant effect by marking the realization (to Inspector Pazzi) that Dr Hannibal Lector was sitting in the audience. The extreme contrast between the sheer operatic beauty of the music and Hannibal's concealed violence makes this piece, for me, unforgettable.

`Hymn to the Fallen' is another cinematic score, this time by John Williams for the 1998 film `Saving Private Ryan'. I always thought the music was poorly placed in the film, at the end while the credits rolled, so that cinema audiences were too busy exiting to fully appreciate it. This version I think improves on the original one, benefiting from the extra vocal emotion provided by the use of a single soprano voice (Jenkins) backed by choir (Czech Film Orchestra). This is my favourite of the CD.

This is another successful 2004 release by Katherine Jenkins, which will appeal to fans of her first album, Premiere, as well as a wider audience amongst the (so-called) crossover genre thanks to the inclusion of some non-classical tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A voice that comes naturally, 4 Nov 2004
By 
Budge Burgess (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
Already something of a singing sensation, Katherine Jenkins is the latest Welsh singer to take both the classical and the popular charts by storm. A mezzo-soprano (her range is midway between soprano and contralto), the voice glissades effortlessly between the high and low notes. Technically, to my untutored ear at least, she sounds faultless. I saw her perform at Cardiff Millenium Stadium, entertaining the rugby crowd. Even a tiny figure, faced with an imperfect sound system, an arena not exactly built to enhance acoustics, and competing with the voices of the packed crowd, she exerted a presence. Star quality is, perhaps, a cliché, but she was given a warm and deserved reception.
Her voice certainly does have a presence. Listening to the songs on this CD, the emotion, the warmth, the professionalism all come across. She rocketed to stardom very quickly. Perhaps the most surprising thing about her voice is its confidence. You sense she knows precisely what she is doing and takes considerable pride in the quality of her singing. There is no sense either of nervousness or of overconfidence. There is no sense of prima donna celebrity - she manages to create an intimacy and honesty in her contact with the listener. You sense there is a bubbly, natural human being singing for you, not a distant star singing into a mike. She simply sings beautifully.
You would have to be tone deaf and wholly lacking in human emotion not to enjoy Katherine Jenkins' voice. The only question is whether you enjoy the choice of songs. For many, the real test of quality is in the sustained performance of an opera role like Carmen, or in a more tightly controlled selection of songs - say Katherine Ferrier's interpretation of folk songs. "Second Nature" includes an eclectic selection, ranging from the operatic to the popular, the religious and the secular, and even the football anthem, "You'll Never Walk Alone".
There's something here to please everybody, but equally, there may be songs you enjoy less than others. The marketing people obviously try to put together a selection which will result in the maximum number of sales, but the accusation then is that the finished product ends up 'middle of the road', and never really allows Ms.Jenkins to portray her talents to the full. But, forget the debate over choice of selection, just listen to her voice. She has extraordinary quality, and the presence, the confidence comes across in the recording. In places, quite inspirational, at times tender, even humorous, "Second Nature" is well worth a listen ... and you will surely find at least one track you like, probably several. Possibly all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 28 Aug 2007
By 
J. Sweeney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
As a 16 year old who doesn't really listen to classical music, i was suprised to know that i actually love the album second chance and living a dream. Just how can one person have a voice as amazing as Katherine Jenkins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classical singing without the histrionics, 24 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
Although I like to think that I like most types of music, one blind spot has always been opera and classical singing, which has traditionally been over-emotive and mostly unintelligible, even when sung in English. On the other side of the coin I can only take in small doses the current crossover trend that likes to add heavy modern pop or rock beats over the vocals. So, for me and thousands of other people, to judge by this album's sales and awards, Katherine Jenkins hits the bullseye.
The songs on this her second album in the space of a year are mostly from the light popular classical drawer, with a few show tunes, sacred songs and Welsh trad thrown in. She has a very warm and mellow sound to her voice and her range is in the mezzo-soprano - purists will detect strains when she hits high or low notes - and the songs have been cleverly arranged (some jointly by herself) to show it off in its best light. Her diction is also crystal clear, so you can hear every word (even if it's in a language you don't understand!) and there is very little noticeable vibrato.
The arrangements of all the songs, both vocally and orchestrally, put the atmosphere firmly in the easy listening category. The tone is set with the opening track, "Time To Say Goodbye" which makes for a soothing contrast with the more famous version by Sarah Brightman (with or without Andrea Bocelli) and this laid back treatment carries on, through "Caruso", "House of No Regrets" (which is an adaptation of Morricone's "Chi Mai"), Offenbach's "Barcarolle" to the finale of "You'll Never Walk Alone" to name just a few.
The repertoire here has already been much recorded by many other classical singers, contemporaries and those more experienced alike, and it has to be said that most do them with more passion. However, this is a great album to unwind to, for easy evening listening, and is well-liked by all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Mezzo of our time, 29 Oct 2004
By 
Nicola Jarvis (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
This woman came from no where last year and quickly gained the top spot in the Classical Charts. I'm sure this album will share similar success. The best song of the album is definitely 'Time To Say Goodbye' originated by Sarah Brightman and Andrea Bocelli. Being used to hearing a soprano singing the song it was very different to hear Katherines rendition but she really brings something new and fresh to the song like no other. Her vocal range soars in this song especially. Other notable songs are Djorvaks 'Song To The Moon' given the English treatment, the lyrics aren't amazing but the her vocals are strong in it and makes it one the best songs of the album. Next up would be 'House Of No Regrets' by Ennio Morricone. Ennio's music has never failed to become a song in the past and this is no exception. Its beautiful and moving.
By gripe with this album is the same as the last one, the choice of songs. Although she brings new life into each (she adapts them herself), they are songs we have heard before one way or another. It would be lovely to hear some original songs from her to show us what she is really capable of, not just with the voice, but how she can use it.
Overall, this is a voice you do not want to miss out on. It is flawless and she is going to have a very promising future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alluring, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Nostalgia (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
There is only one question you should ask yourself - "Can perfection be improved upon?" The answer - "Only by Katherine". This second studio album contains a glorious collection of songs, performed impeccably by Wales' (and the UK's) top mezzo-soprano - need I say more? Try it and see - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katherine Jenkins - Second Nature, 12 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
It isn't always that you can obtain an 'easy listening' performance of the voice, with an 'easy on the eye' artist. The range of songs is excellent, especially 'O Holy Night'. In my opinion, this is the best CD that KJ has made, allowing her voice to provide unforgettable clarity and definition.
The selection of these tracks has been skilfully constructed to give a balanced performance throughout. If this CD was purchased 'blind', the buyer would not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katherine's breakthrough album, 3 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Nature (Audio CD)
Having shown promise with her debut album Premiere, Katherine enhanced her growing reputation with this follow-up. The enclosed booklet contains full lyrics, complete with English translations where the original lyrics are in another language (Welsh, Italian or whatever). It is particularly interesting to read the translation of O sole mio, which is nothing like any English lyrics normally associated with the tune, most famously by Elvis Presley (It's now or never). Note that there are no lyrics for Hymn to the fallen, on which Katherine's vocals are limited to ah-ah and similar sounds, only much better than I can describe it.

Katherine sings four of the songs in English. O holy night is the Christmas classic. You'll never walk alone is the Rodgers and Hammerstein song that became s British number one hit for Gerry and the Pacemakers, but which is best known now as a football anthem. I know that Katherine has performed at a cup final at least once, so it made sense for her to put this song on an album. I don't remember hearing the other two English-language songs (House of no regrets, Song to the moon) elsewhere, but they are definitely worth hearing.

Classical purists may deride Katherine and other crossover singers, but there is no doubt that she takes classical and operatic music to people that the specialist singers cannot reach. Katherine may eventually decide to take her career in a different direction, or she may decide to do other things with her life, but while she continues on her present course, she will continue to popularize classical music in Britain and elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa27648b8)

This product

Second Nature
Second Nature by Katherine Jenkins (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews