Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Madeleine Magic
I first heard this magical album or rather a track from it, 'Don't wait too long'whilst on holiday on an island. The voice was so familiar, tender, that my husband could not wait to get off the island, home and buy it.
I implore you, so does he, to buy this album and play it constantly.
Madeleine Peyroux's treatment of Bob Dylan's 'You're gonna make me...
Published on 3 Aug 2005

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love her voice but not the band
The musical director or arranger for this session should be taken out and shot. The CD starts well with two good tracks but then the messy accompaniments seem go from bad to worse. The Organ and piano frequently compete in the backing and fills and the whole thing becomes very slushy when the electric piano takes over. The sugary bell like chimes that pervade most of the...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by R. F. Culverhouse


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars I don't like it, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
Not really what I ecpected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
very poor sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
Great voice great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 4 Feb 2005
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. From Madeleine's incredibly beautiful and atmospheric voice to an inspired choice of songs, this is as close to perfection as you're likely to get on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. J. T. P. Goode (Cornwall, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
Beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MORE LOVE, 8 Feb 2006
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
I have never really been "turned on" to, or by, Jazz music and in all honesty have found modern-day efforts to combine the genre with Blues at best foul...the sultry/sexy tones of Madeleine Peyroux has certainly change that rejection instinct. I'm sure by now Madeleine will be a familiar name to our readers, "Careless Love" having already charted, even if only due to the media's interest in Madeleine's disappearance following the albums release. For those who are unfamiliar, Madeleine has a vocal style reminiscent of key female Blues/Jazz vocalists that are today so revered (Ella Fitzgerald, Bessie Smith and in particular Billie Holiday). On "Careless Love" Peyroux's silky/soothing vocals give an extra dimension to what are in fairness overly polished covers of the likes of Dylan, Hank Williams and W.C. Handy. Without Madeleine's vocal class this would be an unremarkable, dreary affair at best. Possibly style over substance but far more interesting than anything Norah Jones, or Katie Melua, has mustered thus far.
©Blues Matters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 14 Feb 2005
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
This young lady has a Voice of an Angel and looks to go with that, however I am not going to mince words, JUST GO OUT AND BUY IT.
The other Albums too.
Keep it up,
Pure Class Girl:-)
Barrie From Surrey in The United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH CD!, 28 Feb 2005
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
I just took delivery of this CD today, having bought it 'on a wim'having seen a TV advert - its fantastic - great voice, good arrangements - realy mellow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 7 July 2009
This review is from: Careless Love (Audio CD)
Bought this to check her out and ended up disappointed. the optimum word in reviews is "mellow" and if thats what you like OK but if you want something with a bit of umph, that swings and is challenging, then don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Careless Love
Careless Love by Madeleine Peyroux (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews