Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BrownPolar Verdict
Interestingly evocative of `O' Brother Where Art Thou', this hilarious and light hearted parody of the staunchly religious life of ordinary folk in the American deep south is another testament to Coen Brothers' love for the humorous characterisation of common people under bizarre circumstances.

Predictably shunned by the critics as just "funny and enjoyable,...
Published 21 months ago by BrownPolar

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I've got the tenth-rate remake blues, September 13, 2006
The Ladykillers--remade with irritable bowel movements? WHY?

What a falling off was there! Run, do not walk to the Alec Guinness/Katie Johnson version to see what was so foully trampled on here.

Two stars ... because the professor is on rare occasions slightly amusing, so I cannot entirely despise the film.
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by L. E. Cantrell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I've got the tenth-rate remake blues, September 13, 2006, 16 Sep 2010
By 
L. E. Cantrell (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The Ladykillers--remade with irritable bowel movements? WHY?

What a falling off was there! Run, do not walk to the Alec Guinness/Katie Johnson version to see what was so foully trampled on here.

Two stars ... because the professor is on rare occasions slightly amusing, so I cannot entirely despise the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Coens just don't get the joke, 2 Aug 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Sometimes it only takes a single mistake to destroy a movie. The joke in The Ladykillers is a very simple one: namely, that a sweet tiny little old lady who lives in a world of her own and who wouldn't hurt a fly not only thwarts a gang of criminals who want to kill her and ends up with their ill-gotten gains but does it without even knowing it. Unfortunately, the Coens just didn't seem to get it and make one disastrous change in their remake: Mrs Lopsidey is now a huge, loud, obnoxious, hateful and extremely violent woman who you want dead on sight. Not only do the crooks never stand a chance, but within seconds of her first scene you have no desire to watch a minute more. When she waxes lyrical about her dead husband in a failed attempt to create some sympathy for her, Groucho's old line "He's not dead, he's hiding" springs all too readily to mind.

Things improve slightly when Tom Hanks' loquacious decayed Southern gentleman appears, but he's fighting a losing battle with her spite and vindictiveness. They then compound the error by casting Marlon Wayans, whose ability to spout obscenities is almost miraculously untouched by the ability to make any of them remotely funny. Thus the stage is set for the Coens' worst movie, and one that alternates too few genuinely funny scenes - most involving J.K. Simmons and Tic Ma's early scenes before the script run out of good ideas for them - with moments of pure torture (the less said about Ryan Hurst's painfully misfired performance as the dumb lummox of the gang the better). By the time the miscreants finally put their minds to lady killing, the Coens have long since run out of ammunition, making for a flat, unfunny and painfully unimaginative last half-hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just wish I could give it a 0, 21 May 2010
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Absolutely dreadful. The original is so good and this is so bad, it's worth watching just to compare and marvel. Just mind boggling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leave It Alone!, 30 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The normally safe hands of Tom Hanks and the Coen brothers failed to conjure up the magic of the original Ealing classic The Ladykillers [DVD] [1955]

This remake possibly suffers from the fact that it is a remake of a classic. Perhaps if you haven't seen the original, it will be possible to view it in a more open-minded and sympathetic manner than I and thousands of other people have managed. However, I have to wonder, why did they bother doing a remake of something that was already perfect?!

I think that all fans of the original Ealing comedies must now pray that Holywood (or anyone else for that matter), never contemplate remaking Kind Hearts And Coronets [DVD] [1949], which is the best of the best Ealing comedies. If it's a classic, leave it alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BrownPolar Verdict, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Interestingly evocative of `O' Brother Where Art Thou', this hilarious and light hearted parody of the staunchly religious life of ordinary folk in the American deep south is another testament to Coen Brothers' love for the humorous characterisation of common people under bizarre circumstances.

Predictably shunned by the critics as just "funny and enjoyable, but disappointing for Coens' standards", this is yet another example which proves that the two brothers make films for the sheer joy of it rather than to please anyone, let alone the critics, who usually find Coen films bewilderingly difficult to analyse, label and categorise to please themselves as they usually do!

Exquisitely crafted with the use of thoughtfully and painstakingly constructed sets, with imaginative imagery that Roger Deakins effortlessly captures form the very first frame to the last, and with spirited and satisfying contributions from the cast, `The Lady Killers' is as refreshing and heartrending as a summer breeze, while being uproariously funny at the same time.

BrownPolar
January 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overshadowed by the original, 20 Dec 2004
By 
- alikat - (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
As a stand alone film this is fine, but having grown up with the original, it's impossible not to make any comparisons with the 50's Ealing comedy classic. I won't go into the story etc as other reviews have done that, so keeping it short - if you're a fan of the original version with Alec Guinness, Peter Sellers & Herbert Lom etc then the odds of you liking this version are slim (very), however if you haven't seen the original then you'll probably enjoy this. Tom Hanks gives a pretty good performance, the general story line remains similar and the script fairly tight (though Hanks has a tendency to waffle unnecessarily). I would warn you this version has a lot of swearing (and I mean a lot), so if you're planning to buy it for your parents or grandparents for Christmas then I would seriously reconsider. I'm going to give this 2 stars as the original British classic is still in a totally different league than this modern day American remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 100% Rubbish, 13 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This movie is absolute garbage! I heard the Ealing Comedies version was great, so i thought this should be ok, considering the cast. How wrong I was!
The story/plot is incoherent, the jokes are shockingly first thought-ish and the acting is awful!
Why does everyone have to do an inaudiable accent; Hanks/Wayans?!
2/10 at the very best.
AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deary dear me! 1 star is too generous...., 6 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is soooo bad!
I couldnt finish it, theres so much wrong with it.
They Coen brothers have made a real stinker. The little old lady in the original was trusting, naive and very sweet. In this version the old lady is far too formidable.
I like Tom Hanks but his acting is just awful in this movie, but I dont think he's wholly to blame.
Its just sooooo dull.
Dont wast your time on this, life is too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish, 3 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
As others have said, i rate Tom Hanks and the Wayan's brothers (which is why i also bought it cause if they were in it, it was sure to be good) but what on earth happened with this film? I had seen the trailer on another DVD and thought it looked quite funny. How wrong can you be. It was so boring and senseless I didn't even get to the end and it was back on here for sale within an hour!!! I would really reccommned that you save your pennies and not buy this film. What a let down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 30 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Normally I love Coen Brothers films. But they've made a stinker here - I had to stop half way through before I fell asleep. Tom Hanks gives a terrible performance and there is none of the usual charm or black humour you would normally associate with their work. Give this a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004]
The Ladykillers [DVD] [2004] by Joel Coen (DVD - 2004)
3.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews