Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great French Pop, 8 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
France Gall was a top ye-ye singer during the 60s and arguably the top French female singer alongside Francoise Hardy. But this compliation tackles her 70s-80s work which was penned by France's husband Michel Berger. She does not possess a strong voice that will blow you away, instead she has a fun, childlike voice full of energy and desire.
I must say that whether you are a fan of French pop or not, as long as you are not too snobbish or anti-pop, you will enjoy this double compilation. All the songs are melodic and France and Michel obviously had fun writing and singing these songs. There is also a duet with Sir Elton John.
I can guarantee that should you enjoy Miss Gall's music, these songs will be stuck with you a long time after listening to them.
Simply an album of well-produced, catchy French pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of her music from 1971 onwards, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
This superbly packaged double CD contains 39 tracks, plus a booklet that names the original album from which each track was taken (where applicable) and has comments about each track, together with lyrics for two of the songs.

I don't know any French really, but plenty of French words ended up in the English language thanks to the Norman conquest. I also know a few other French words. Despite my lack of French, I enjoy listening to France Gall because she has a wonderful voice provides excellent support while always remaining secondary to her voice.

This is basically a greatest hits collection for the period covered, including a tribute to Ella Fitzgerald. Track 5 on CD 2 (Laissez passer le reves) mentions Charlie Chaplin, but I need to brush up on my French to find out what the song is about. On the first CD, there is a duet with Elton John, who sings his part in English on Donner pour Donner.

This is a brilliant collection of one of music by one of the finest French singers there has ever been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superbe, 22 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
An excellent compilation featuring all her biggest hits plus a few rarities such as the duet with Elton John, "Donner pour donner". Good to hear the remastered sound which seems to have been done well, and well done Amazon for selling this at such a good price. Definitely worth £5.47 of anybody's money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars une voix unique, 20 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
Adolescent adorable,femme enchanteur, une voix unique,un grand humanaterian,une voix,une magie,qui vivra pour toujours,oh pour une machine de temps.France Gall,je te aime pour toujours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evidemment - A master class contemporary music, 9 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
Her writing partner and husband before his death, Michel Berger, was once described by Sir Elton John as the best songwriter in the world. It is evident here that in Evidemment we have a master class in how it should be done. Anyone that claims to have an interest in music should listen to this album. Excellence personified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
To have so many hits on one collection, for this price, is a real gift. It's gentle, jazzy, rocky, and unmistakably French. So refreshing too to have a collection that really does include core material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars france gall, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
Myself and my sister grew up with singers like france gall and it was great to hear this cd and reminisce about the years gone by!! A real feel good cd and we both loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent overview of her work with berger, 12 Sept. 2011
By 
C. esteban Andres (buenos aires) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
although i have a weakness for france gall's sixties recordings and their naive charm, this collection helped me a lot to appreciate much more her excellent work with michel berger which lasted from 1975 to the nineties. bouncing melodies, some disco sounds, but also jazzy and with great vocals. good quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential compilation, obviously!, 17 Sept. 2005
By 
Richard Rossi (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
The baby doll who illuminated the sixties, alive legend of the French song, heart breaker who inspired the planetary tubes like "My way" (in French "Comme d'habitude" by Claude François), it's France Gall. Always for her, another French singer, Julien Clerc, sang "To suffer by you is not to suffer" ("Souffrir par toi n'est pas souffrir"). The union of her life with Michel Berger is marked by a great song, "The declaration of love" ("La déclaration d'amour") followed of the arrival to the world of two children and innumerable hits.
After 40 years of songs and 30 years at Warner, here the artistic result of the "Doll of sound" who becomes a woman of flesh who sings. All the great compositions written by Michel Berger and remastered under the direction of Bruck Dawit are there: "Music", "If, mom, if " ("Si, maman, si"), "Need for love" ("Besoin d'amour"), "He played piano standing" ("Il jouait du piano debout"), "Very for the music" ("Tout pour la musique"), "Resists", "Diego, free in his head " ("Diego, libre dans sa tête"), "To give to give" ("Donner pour donner" duet with Elton John), "Disconnects" ("Débranche"), "Cézanne is painting" ("Cézanne peint"), "Ella, she has it " ("Ella, elle l'a"), "The only thing which counts" ("La seule chose qui compte"). Essential compilation, obviously (Évidemment) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars France, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidemment (Audio CD)
The essential of France Gall, for the fans. good compilation, very best of, cool with good sound and arangements. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidemment
Evidemment by France Gall (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
In stock on June 1, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews