Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars17
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2004
Well written, well crafted and beautifully performed.
This is a debut that ranks along side the the debut albums of The Stone Roses, Blur & Oasis.
This is bluesy without being blues and rocky without being rock, it meets the two genres half way and really works.
The album kicks in with "The Devil In Me" which is a wondeful track and the standard never drops. All the singles are on here and this deserves to be massive. If you want to take a chance on some new music, liked the singles or you're a fan of the Stones then I'd recommend this CD 5/5
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2004
I came across this album purely by chance and it turned out to be a stroke of good luck.
The style isn't original, but the songs are special enough for you not to care. There's certainly a Doors influence in there, with a raw, unpolished sound that works astonishingly well and, for some weird reason, reminds me of The Animals.
"Devil In Me" is a cracking start to the album and, when followed by "Such A Fool", you know your in for a treat. There are a couple of tracks that take a few listens to get used to and "The Things That Lovers Do" is the weak track on the album. However the icing on this particular cake is "Shoot Your Gun" which has to be one of the finest tracks I've heard in ages.
All in all, a fantastic debut that deserves the plaudits it's received from the media.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2004
First off, I'll admit I'm not a huge fan of the White Stripes or BRMC, though I am a fan of rock in general. I saw the 22-20's at the Isle of Wight Festival, and decided then based on their passionate live performance and the individual strengths of their songs that when the album was released, I'd pick it up.
The album goes from strength to strength, culminating on heavy, riff-laden tracks like 'Why don't you do it for me?' and the single '22 days', which had me dancing through the kitchen whilst doing the washing-up!
I'll admit it's not perfect, it's weaker moments tending towards the slower, for example 'Friends', which could have come straight off a 'best of Country' album - a genre of which I am not too fond. However, it is an excellent debut, and highly reccommended, if you're a fan of the bluesy rock particularly, but even if not it's riffs will have you jumping around like a little kid!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2004
I am a huge fan of this band , and was worried that the album would not live up to the previous live effort of 05/03, but i shouldnt have this is a quality debut showing that the band can pull it off in the studio and as a live band. well worth a purchase and well worth seeing live
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2006
The annals of rock music are littered with bands that after impressive first efforts proceed to churn out mediorcrity after lifeless mediocrity, never recapturing the intital spark of greatness, until quietly slipping into relative obscurity. Equally, there are those who make the arguably greater mistake and decide to split before ever realising their full potential, or at least the pressures of band-life reach such levels where it becomes impossible to continue as a collective... and then slip into relative obscurity.

UK blues/rockers 22-20s are a prime potential example of the latter.

Their eponymous debut (and as it turns out, last) album, is a riff-laden eclectic mix of blues, rock, folk and country that sounds fresh and invigorating despite the band`s obvious influences.

The album bursts into life with the pacey Devil in Me and the relentless pounder Such a Fool - both great introductions to lead singer/guitarist Martin Trimble's raspy, vigorous laments and ear for a good riff.

The raucous 22 Days, with its thumping basslines and distorted vocals is 3 mins of pure adrenaline, while the sublimely mellow slide guitars and heartfelt lyrics of the beautiful Friends gives us a much needed respite before its back to the boot-stomping with Why Don't You Do It For Me? - sounding like an amped-up Kings of Leon at a hillbilly wedding - and the muscular menace of Shoot Your Gun.

Unfortunately, the second half of the album does't quite live up to the promise of the first - with the dreamy Lou Reed-esque The Things That Lovers Do seeming at odds with the tempo and conviction of the previous tracks, and the band committing the cardinal sin of ending a record weakly with a rather lame country effort, reminiscent of a below par Dylan.

These low points aside, akin to White Stripes, Jet, Gomez, Kings of Leon, the 22-20s effectively blend old school blues sensibilities and familiar motifs with intelligent contemporary songwriting to create an album that is both modern and orginal, whilst giving the feeling that many of these songs have always existed. 22-20s triumphs on so many levels as a brave, mature and enjoyable first effort, certainly deserving to be mentioned amongst the best of 2005. It would have been interesting to see if the band could've developed their style beyond a pastiche into a more orginal sound that would've marked them out as a truely great talent for the future. Although their recent split may hint at new directions for the respective members, lets hope they don't rue their sudden dismemberment as I'm sure bands like Eat, Unbelievable Truth, must. Who? you ask? Exactly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2005
I first heard the 22-20s on Later with Jools Holland about 18 months ago, and I was blown away - their sound was rumbling and intense, full of energy. They played with great skill, but with rough edges in all the right places, and most of all, steeped in the blues in a way that four twenty-year olds have no right to be. I tried to buy the album online that night, and to my amazement found that there wasn't one - disaster! I consoled myself with the singles and waited.
This album is well worth the wait! It features some absolutely brilliant tracks, and the band are on top form throughout. The first plus is the production - it is polished enough, without taking away the raw energy - in fact it seems a bit like a live performance at times, only much tighter.
The drums and bass work together to devastating effect on the frantic "Why Don't You Do It For Me?", with the guitar snarling in the chorus, and powerful lyrics. "Devil in Me" is perhaps the best known of these tracks, and it's a great one, rhythmically complex, with relentless groove, and a gorgeous distorted guitar sound. "Shoot Your Gun" is a dark, angry piece that hints at a deeper side to the group - the lyrics are superb, and the arrangement is accomplished and emphatic.
This album is a great opener, demonstrating much more musical depth and experience than most. This is a powerful statement of intent, without a really weak number throughout, and I await their second album with excitement. Do yourself a favour!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2004
Quite simply, this is a stunning album. One of the best British albums of the year, along with Franz Ferdinand and The Zutons. The stand-out tracks are Why Don't You Do It For Me?, Devil In Me and Baby Brings Bad News.
If you don't have this album - get it. You honestly won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2004
after hearing 'devil in me' a few months ago, i became interested in the 22-20s
they have a cool, fresh sound that stands out from a lot of the indie/rock scene , with theyr feet planted firmly in blues
the debut album is a great one and all songs are funky, foot-tapping and addictive- GO BUY!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Great album from start to finnish. Heavy rythm n blues i would say.Devil in me and such a fool released into the charts are my favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
If rock music is still to be found in the UK then these guy are it, this album is shear class, just buy it and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.66

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)