Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That good
This is the Kinks at their best no question.
It starts off with a fine country vibe with gentle lyrics about wanting to be free before bursting in with the electric guitar and shouting about all the constraints Ray Davies found were wrong with the music industry. A wonderful justaposition considering the freedom real music can bring you. Infact most of the album is...
Published on 10 Aug 2005 by C. B. Softley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kinks Embrace The Seventies - With Mixed Results
'The Kinks Part One -Lola Verses Powerman And The Moneygoround' seems like a rather pretentious title for an album who's most significant theme seems to be the subject of business disputes within the music industry. This may sound like a rather indulgent theme on Ray Davies' part yet it does at times lead to some really inspiring moments.

With this album Ray...
Published on 28 May 2007 by Jervis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That good, 10 Aug 2005
By 
C. B. Softley "Badger" (Wolverhampton, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
This is the Kinks at their best no question.
It starts off with a fine country vibe with gentle lyrics about wanting to be free before bursting in with the electric guitar and shouting about all the constraints Ray Davies found were wrong with the music industry. A wonderful justaposition considering the freedom real music can bring you. Infact most of the album is Ray Davies pushing against the system in which he'd found himself at the time. Basically, 'my music earned 'X' amount of money, how come I don't have it?' The songs are all fantastic, from Daves seriously rocking Rats to Rays heart broken This Time Tommorow, you barely get time to breath with all the musical frustration thrown at you. But that shouldn't put you off, this album is amazing and also includes the hits Lola and Apeman, a wonderful way to round off a brilliant musical diatribe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The human condition by Kinks in their peak years, 21 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
Despite the typically poor production, with Ray's words buried in the mix in some places, this is one of the all-time great British albums alongside their Village Green, Muswell Hillbilies and Arthur. The title is perhaps a sign of the self-indulgence at the expense of subtlety that set in from Everybody's In Showbiz on, two years later ('72), but Powerman is absolutely still a stunner. Unlike those from '72 onwards, it doesn't seem at all calculated, and seems still to be a rock album rather than an unproduced musical. This is a marvelous, profound album that takes in the human condition, beginning with the child waiting for the big bad world to happen, and the innocence before it does, to being jobless and at the mercy of others, then trying to make it in the music industry, making it, and being used and spat out, and still having much to do before finishing this life. The cynicism through experience gives way to the recognition that we are all just animals after all, and some of these animals don't want to share what they've got! It ends on a positive note, offering the possibility of being strengthened by all this, and unbowed. This all sounds very calculated, but it's not at all explicit, or songs-to-order as post-'71 would feel. It's truly profound, and once heard 15 or 16 times can be truly appreciated and recognised as a marvelous artistic statement. It is no academic tract however, but rather a top-rate rock n roll album, with tunes, riffs and licks that grab hold and don't let go, in every single song. It's Dave Davies strongest Kinks album too, with great, integrated playing and hist best two songs: Strangers and Rats, the album's two extremes of innocence and cynicism. Above all, there is much more of of Ray's sly social wit on display here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 19 Feb 2007
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
In my opinion, one of the best albums of one of the best British bands. Combining rock with excellent songwriting and fantastic tunes, this album hits you with one great tune then hits you right back with another.

'Lola' made me laugh, as did 'Apeman'. 'Strangers' nearly made me cry and 'Powerman' is just a great rock tune, by any standards.

It may not be as filled with famous tunes as 'Something else..', but this is a great album, and one you will never tire of playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangers on this road we are on, we are not two we are one., 13 April 2005
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
This 1970 release includes the Kink's most popular hit, the trannny-date anthem 'Lola'. Seeing Ray Davies,O.B.E, perform this song at the Queen's Golden Jubilee, with thousands of Brits of all ages and classes singing along, showed how gracefully the song and the writer (and the country) had weathered the previous twenty-five years.
This album is one of their finest, and continues the 'concept-album' themes of 'Arthur', 'Village Green', 'Something Else' and 'Face To Face', i.e. life in late 20th century England interpreted by Ray and Dave Davies and band. 'Lola Vs. the Powerman' is also more biographical and self-referential than any Kinks album before or since.
Many of the the songs are pointed satirical ditties about the the greed and corrruption inside the British pop music machine-'Denmark Street', 'Money-Go-Round', 'Top of The Pops'- and the rest are loosely related to that world- life on the road, the problems and alienation that come with too much money and fame.
The album's more modest hit single 'Apeman', and the Dave Davies penned and sung proto-punk raver 'Rats' are about escaping from a polluted and over-crowded industrialized world, among other things. These two strong songs highlight the different styles and talents of the Davies brothers.
But it's the low-key, almost folky songs like 'The Contenders', 'Strangers', 'This Time Tomorrow' and 'A Long Way From Home' that are most affecting. They don't rock like 'Lola' or 'Victoria' but have some typically lovely Kinks melodies. The lyrics seem to be as much about Ray and Dave's difficult sibling/musical rivalry as they are about relationship problems in general.
The production sounds relaxed, not over-produced or fussy. As on 'Arthur', we hear a rock group, well practiced for years and probably playing 'live' in the studio, assisted at just the right moments by a banjo or a silver band or a marimba, or the occasional sound effect. The total is less complex than 'Village Green', more open and varied than 'Arthur'. The banjo intro to the first song returns near the end of the album and ties it together nicely.
Of course, with the Kinks or any other great rock band, it's the passion and energy in the singing and playing that counts. That sound comes through on this album, clearer than ever, seven years into their long career.
The latest remastered version seems fine, with three bonus tracks- the single version of 'Lola' plus nearly complete sounding demos for 'Apeman' and 'Powerman'. You don't need those extras too much, but you do need to get a copy quick, before it goes missing again. And did Dave Davies get HIS O.B.E. yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone Missing?, 20 May 2012
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
The recent batch of re-issued & remastered Deluxe Editions of the Kinks' Pye albums were a treat and just about perfect . . . but for one thing. For reasons that, as far I know, have not been explained 'Lola Versus Powerman' remains conspicuous by its absence in the Deluxe format- as does its companion album, the 'Percy' film soundtrack. These are the only Pye albums not afforded the Deluxe treatment & if anyone at Universal can account for this discrepancy I'd appreciate a message explaining exactly why this one has been overlooked because it is probably the most hard-edged item in the band's catalogue & also features the all-time classic hit 'Lola'. So come on guys, you know the pairing of Lola with Percy as a Deluxe edition makes perfect sense, so why not the make this re-issue program complete?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just a great listen, 11 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Owen Martin "owen m" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
this album has music hall, folk, rock, humour, and great lyrics. what more do you want? as a kinks album probably only 2nd to the excellent village green. there are 10 great songs here that you will want to listen to again and again. tracks 6,9 and 10 are filler but they still contain good lyrics. highlights are strangers, moneygoround, got to be free, powerman and of course the 2 singles lola and apeman. forget oasis, blur or pulp or any of that and buy a copy of this great english album. as I said 10 great songs on one album - what more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kink Klassic, 7 July 2008
By 
C. Whitworth "juliehill87" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
Another slab of brilliance from Ray, Dave Davies and co. The paradoxical and contradictory nature of mankind has never been written about better (by any philosopher or intellectual heavyweight) or understood (as much as it is possible to do)more so, than Ray Davies. The very nature of this album is contradictory and i'm sure the irony of this has not been lost on Mr Davies himself. It's a mixed up muddled up shook up world............indeed it is. Buy and cherish this.Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice one, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Jack (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
There's a few filler tracks, but once skipped theres simple pleasure in tracks like 'strangers', 'the contenders', 'top of the pops' and 'rats'.
'Lola' is brilliant as many know, 'Apeman' too, and there is an overwhelming sense of dignity to the soaring 'this time tomorrow and the pacey 'powerman'. It should also be said that 'A long way from home' is nice, with typical real-life-encounters-inspired lyrics of the kinks.
Its a real shame because this would be a favourite album of mine if some of the forgettable tracks were left out or replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Music-Go-Round, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Hans-henrik Christensen "Hans-Henrik" (Århus, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
This has become one of my favourite Kinks-albums. Kind of growing with myself into senior maturity. It's simply lyrics and music. Not any kind of fashion, sound, hype, flash and so on, but art in the way rock is at its best.
And the main thing is, that a Dane like me finds the incredible Ray Davies not only a viewer of life in Britain, but even better just people.
And the band is perfect. "This time tomorrow" is the key song. I've had this album in my car for months, and I've never got bored...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The production is a bit odd to me., 12 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Lola Versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Audio CD)
Yes, this is an OK Kinks CD. I have only recently heard it for the first time. I do prefer the early stuff, but it's good to hear the Davies writing tunes closer to their hearts. However, I really was taken a bit aback by the crude production. It this me? The vocals quite often sound unmixed and in the background with the drums way out front. It has a way of sounding really flat, almost mono, but it sure isn't. Strangers is one of their all time great tunes, but I get the feeling I've heard this tune is better prodction somewhere, maybe a b-cast or something. It sounded like a demo here. Any comments anyone about this??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews