Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bailey the Stand-up God.
Bill Bailey has always been a comedy genius but many people would disagree. His career in Black Books and his guest appearances in the much loved comedy sitcom 'SPACED' has increased his popularity in the number of years. I own Bill's last stand-up tour on DVD and I thought that was hilarious but 'Part Troll' is something else. I can't put into words how good it is but...
Published on 28 Aug 2004 by Carl Isaac

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review
Very funny to start with but it turned into a political rant, which a)is very boring and b)dates it. Stay with what you're good at, Bill, and leave the politics out of it.
Published on 3 July 2009 by Margaret Cahill


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bailey the Stand-up God., 28 Aug 2004
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Bill Bailey has always been a comedy genius but many people would disagree. His career in Black Books and his guest appearances in the much loved comedy sitcom 'SPACED' has increased his popularity in the number of years. I own Bill's last stand-up tour on DVD and I thought that was hilarious but 'Part Troll' is something else. I can't put into words how good it is but you have to trust me when I say that it is much better than his last tour. I saw 'Part Troll' live at the Apollo in London and I found myself crying with laughter. Anyone who did not get to see 'Part Troll' then please get this DVD because your comedy collection is missing something amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and insane, 20 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Bill Bailey is surely one of the most under-rated of UK comedians. This live performance always has me breathless with laughter, no matter how many times I watch. Worth the cash just for the wonderfully insane and very clever 'love ballad' and Kraftwork 'tribute' alone. But there's so much more beyond them. Bill's observations on life are hilarious, at times wandering into the bizarre and surreal and yet when you think about it all entirely logical and true! Which only makes them funnier, of course.
Treat yourself. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vastly Underrated, 29 Jan 2006
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Bill Bailey is rarely mentioned in a list of the greatest stand-up comedians. But he really should be. He is best known from Never Mind the Buzzcocks and Black Books. Although he is excellent on both these shows, as a stand up, he is pure comic gold. From start to almost finish, watching Part Troll, I never stopped laughing for long enough to breathe. I felt the show tailed off a little towards the end, which is why I only gave this DVD four stars, but it was otherwise perfect. If you have never seen Bill Bailey doing stand-up, buy this DVD. If you have seen him doing stand-up but do not own this DVD, buy this DVD. Missing this would be a huge mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bailey - Living God, 27 Oct 2004
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Bill Bailey has a unique act, combining astonishingly funny songs and musical gags, with rib crackingly funny stories. I only managed to see his last tour (Bewilderness- SUPERB!!!!!!) on video, but caught Part Troll at the Wyndhams in london, and despite almost dieing of Flu, i battled on determined to see the genius that is Bill Bailey. A must have for all comedy lovers, and more importantly, get yourself Bewilderness, and Black Books series 1 & 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Comedian, 31 Dec 2005
By 
Steven Stewart (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I have recently been to see Bill Live in person and I must say the DVDs don't do him justice, in his comedy shows Bill not only gives you a stand up comedy gig; he gives you a performance like you have never seen.

Bill has the uncanny gift to literally play any instrument to perfection, but he doesn't play his instruments in a show off way. He uses it to show that music can be used in a fun way to give more depth to his particular humour. Bill has to be the most random comedian you are ever likely to see live as he will begin to tell you one story and end with another completely different story. There are no morals and there are no meanings, they are simply the ramblings of a man who is to some described as an insane comic genius.

If you have ever seen Bill on Never Mind The Buzzcocks then before you venture into his world and buy his DVDs you should check him on Buzzcocks and see what you think as he certainly isn't for everyone. Some people get him and laugh the entire show, some people don't and simply find him too strange to be considered funny.

My opinion though is that if you're a fan of Bill's work as a whole then you should get this DVD along with the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Consistently Brilliant', 20 Oct 2005
By 
P. Bennett "peab999" (UK, Rochester.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Having watched and hugely enjoyed Bill Bailey's first DVD 'Bewilderness' i was delighted to see a second appear on the market, 'Part Troll' performed at the Apollo. The show exceeded all my expectations and was an improvement on his first hit show, not that i thought there was much room for improvement. He has a great comedic talent and is able to produce both regular stand-up and hugely hilarious songs that have a habbit of staying in your head and making you laugh at a later date. His topics are sometimes obscure and you often wonder how he ended up on a certain subject but when he makes them as comical as he does they don't need justifying.
In this show Bill gives a guide to Britain, expresses his opinions on the typical love song (producing one of his own that is not to be missed!), declares the need for a new national anthem and offers what he describes as a Kraftwerk tribute which to avoid spoiling i'll just describe as unexpected but brilliantly funny. In fact his topics are vast but all hugely amusing. It's clearly apparent from this DVD that Bill Bailey is both fantastically comic smart and hateful of anything Chris de Burgh related - again something not to be missed.
A huge bonus to the show, which is a good hour to an hour and a half long anyway, is the extras on the DVD or more specifically Bill Bailey's 'Tea, Coffe and Trouser Press Census' (his tour diary). It's a never ending piece capturing the best, and worst, of the tea and coffee making facillities found in Britain's hotels. My description might not do it justice but it is quite simply brilliant, perhaps because it's original and very much unexpected.
Overall if you have a keen eye for comedy then you can't fail to be amused by the wit of Bill Bailey. It's definitely a DVD worthy of a place in your collection and is probably the most perfect comedy package that's been produced so far. May he produce many more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Klingon Motivational Speaker I've Ever Seen, 31 Dec 2004
By 
D. Rounding "tykeswiller" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I went to see this guy live in London in October merely to pass a night away that I was staying there and I did not regret it. I have seen many stand up comedians but this guy just blows them all away. His banter with the audience was exceptionally good, his off the wall view on life was hilarious (Argos, with the laminated book of dreams...) and his musical talent with various instruments was amazing. From a hillbilly version of Lady In Red to his versions of Zippedy Do Da and the Hokey Cokey just have to be seen to be believed. Buy this DVD - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of hilarious!!, 28 Dec 2004
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Bill Bailey returns with the 'sequel' to his Bewilderness live show - Part Troll. After seeing his song Insect Nation ("Human slaves, in an insect nation. Ahhh-AAHHH-ahaha!!") on Comedy Store, I got this, and it was hilarious.
Although his stand-up is great, where he really excels (and gets the biggest reaction from the crowd) is his musical performances.
These include the 'Scale Of Evil' (featuring such evil icons as Hitler and Chris De Burgh...you'll see what I mean when you watch it) and 'Drum & Bush' (Drum & Bass combined with vocal samples of George W. Bush).
If you're a fan of Bill Bailey (whether from his Bewilderness show, his appearance on Black Books or on the music/comedy quiz show Never Mind The Buzzcocks), then this should take pride of place in your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, an original, eclecic mix of music and comedy., 2 Nov 2006
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
In an age where comedy, especially stand-up, is becoming ever more preidictable and un-original, it's great to see a comedian taking a different slant on the stand-up routine. Bill Bailey is first and foremost a genuinly talented comedian, but he is also a great musician, and his many musical moments are some of the best parts of his act. Completely underrated, Bailey deserves to be more recognised than he currently his. Part Troll is like nothing I've ever seen, in a good way that is. If you want original, smart, well structured comedy and not the trash that is spurned out by the likes of Jimmy Carr, then watch this and enjoy one of Britian's most talented comedians at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was there., 30 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. P. M. Anthony (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
My first experience of Bill Bailey live was brilliant, I always thought Chris De Burgh was evil, now we have proof, and as for Linda Barker well (only joking).
After the first five minutes, which mainly seemed to be jibberish the rest was fantastic. I know that he has re-used some earlier material but as I had never seen it that didn't matter.
Well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadde2aa4)

This product

Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997]
Bill Bailey Live - Part Troll [DVD] [1997] by Nick Morris (DVD - 2004)
4.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews