Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless release for DePalma's 80 classic
I have always thought of this film as unique amongst gangster flicks, it has all the violence of Goodfellas or Casino but feels more like a Disney adventure in spirit, especially the rather saccharine relationship Ness has with his prissy wife. Still, it paints a gritty and credible picture of life in depression era America, and the performances from the "all star" cast...
Published on 30 Jan 2009 by K. O'Leary

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Untouchables
I recently ordered The Untouchables - The Special Edition DVD [1987] because of the pictures of the DVD within the product description. In the pictures it makes it seem as if you will get a DVD box with Kevin Costner on the front, a picture of Al Capone on the inside the cover, as well as a mock up newspaper on the flip side of the cover. It also appears that you will get...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by chicklit_obsessed


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic film, 23 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never bought this film on DVD, only having seen it on TV, but bought it on Bluray and have now watched it twice.

First of all the film:- Despite being a gangster film it feels somehow more human than many of them do. I don't know if it's because we know the story of Elliot Ness, and recognise he is going to triumph, or because of the great acting, but it feels more like a Western with its strong moral themes than a gangster film to me. The cast list is great with trademark performances from De Niro, Connery and in particular for me Kevin Costner. I'm not always a fan, but he really got it right here.

Picture Quality is very good. It has strong colours and lots of atmospheric shots. The city has a slightly foggy kind of feel to it and there is a small amount of grain present. Contrasts and shadows are very strong, with the detail still not getting swamped in the night-time shots. For me the whole thing works - it looks like I expect a film to! It is presented in 2.35:1 so it will be letter-boxed on a widescreen TV unless you stretch it.

Audio:- Sound is again very good, with a score by Morricone, which perhaps adds to the Western type feel for me. Sound effects are very clear, and generally very good. A pet hate of mine is muffled dialogue, but by and large it is very good with only a few difficult to get lines. The top offering is a 6:1 DTS track.

There aren't a great deal of extras on the disc, but these aren't important to me, and I didn't do much more than scan through them.

All-in-all the whole package came together very well for me, with no real weaknesses at all, making it a sound 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him", 11 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Untouchables [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
I am what you could call a relatively new movie fan. I have always liked movies, but I didn´t use to watch too many of them. Things have changed, but due to that previous attitude, I still have a lot of old movies to “discover”. That is the reason why from time to time I find some jewels that were released a long time ago, but that are totally new to me. “The untouchables” (1987) is, of course, one of such movies.
This film is set in Chicago, during the prohibition, a time were mobsters had enormously increased their influence due to the contraband of alcohol. The most important of all mobsters was Al Capone (wonderfully played by Robert De Niro), whose influence was pervasive and somehow accepted by most as a fact of reality. Capone controlled Chicago with force and bribes, and a philosophy that the scriptwriter of this movie (David Mamet) summed up in a phrase that the actor that plays Capone said: “Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him”.
Things change when a newcomer to the city, Federal agent Elliot Ness, forms a small group to fight crime and target Capone´s shady dealings. The group formed by Ness, an old Chicago cop (Sean Connery), a rookie police officer (Andy Garcia) and an accountant (Charles Martin Smith), replays in a highly entertaining way Brian de Palma´s cinematographic version of “The untouchables”.
I should point out that you shouldn´t expect a movie that tells you the historical truth about that period in America´s history. If that is your purpose, you are likely to be sorely disappointed. However, if you want to watch a great film, with wonderful performances and marked by a dynamic pace, rent this movie :)
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Blu Ray Transfer of a classic, 31 Dec 2008
By 
P. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say, this is an absolutely stunning transfer of a film which is now over twenty years old. Clearly, it's not up to the same quality in terms of picture as some of the more recent films on Blu Ray (it does come close); but I'd certainly say its by far the best looking Blu Ray transfer I've yet seen of an old classic from the '80s and without doubt a significant and vast improvment over the previous DVD releases. Watching this, I noticed detail in the picture I hadn't noticed before and I've seen this film over the years more times than I care to remember. Highly recommended. And not least a timely reminder of how great Robert De Niro - playing Al Capone here - once was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Untouchables, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Untouchables [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
I recently ordered The Untouchables - The Special Edition DVD [1987] because of the pictures of the DVD within the product description. In the pictures it makes it seem as if you will get a DVD box with Kevin Costner on the front, a picture of Al Capone on the inside the cover, as well as a mock up newspaper on the flip side of the cover. It also appears that you will get a mini poster of Kevin Costner. This is not the case. The DVD that arrived had a picture of Kevin Costner on the front just as I expected but the other things that attracted me to that particular version of the DVD were missing. All that I received was a basic black DVD box with the DVD inside. I was very disappointed. To me this does not seem as if it is a special edition at all, even though the product description states that it is.

Yes it is a brilliant film and yes I will be keeping it, but if you are buying it just because of the pictures you see in the product description, don't. They are not submitted by Amazon and leave you with a false impression of what you are going to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of DePalma's best, 19 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Untouchables [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
The Untouchables was originally released in the UK three years ago on a disc without significant extra features.
This new Collectors Edition adds some featurettes but isn't otherwise particularly distinguished.
There are 5 featurettes on the disc. They are pretty interesting but predictable all the same.
"Script" and "Cast" running at about 15 minutes each deal with...what did you expect...the script and cast.
"Production Stories" is better with more recent interviews from the Director himself.
"Re-inventing the Genre" deals mainly with the deaths on screen and the border scene, but good all the same.
Then there's the Trailers to beef it up.
Lastly "The Untouchables" still remains one of my favorite films, and one of Connery's standout performances. It also contains one of film's most memorable shoot-out's. (The train station near the end), priceless!
Its a gangster flick and it's violent; pretty much everytime Pacino is on screen he looks unpredictable.
A classic, but I don't know if the extras are strong enough to warrant updating your current version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Untouchables, 12 July 2002
Brian de Palma's masterful direction and ingenious cinematography, coupled with David Mamet's excellent script powerfully evoke the Prohibition Era of 1930's America. From the opening scene where a genial Al Capone, played by Robert de Niro, gives an interview to the international press, to the final scene where he's convicted for tax evasion in a Chicago courtroom, we're shown the menace and sudden violence lying just beneath the surface of the most notorious gangster of his time.
De Niro's masterful performance is matched by an equally strong supporting cast. Kevin Costner plays young, principled, but nave US Treasury Agent Eliot Ness, who persuades savvy but cynical Chicago beat-cop Sean Connery to join his team in the fight against illegal liquor distribution. Each draws heavily from their relationship with the other as Connery regains his belief in the values that made him a cop, whilst Costner's Ness learns on the job how to handle himself in a world of corruption and violence. The pair recruits Chicago police cadet Andy Garcia, who quickly becomes Connery's protégé, whilst the unlikely final member of the team is a Treasury accountant played by Charles Martin Smith.
The film follows this unlikely team of "Untouchables" through some memorable scenes in their fight against the Mob with shootouts from backroom bars, to the Canadian border, a railway station and finally the roof of a courthouse. This film is quite simply one of the best in its genre. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 20 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The Untouchables" is a classic film with the power to appeal to all generations. It is appealing on many levels; it has the shoot-'em-up elements expected of a cop vs. gangster film, it panders lavishly to the fantasies of luxury associated with gangsters, and the lead characters are all interesting. Robert DeNiro's Al Capone will go down in the history of film. He is witty, charming & even likeable when addressing the paparazzi whilst conveying the underlying sinister mindset of a crime lord. Sean Connery, as always, brings something special to the table. He gives the character of Malone his trademark combination of gravity and intelligence, allowing him to be effective in the role of mentor.

The picture has been upscaled beautifully to blu-ray. Okay, it isn't "The Dark Knight", but it is extremely impressive none the less. "The Untouchables" is a blu-ray disk no collection should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Untouchable - A Classic Film, 12 April 2009
Great film with a great transfer to High Definition for a film of its age. The part in the railway station with the pram is one of the great scenes of modern films and completely comes to life in Blu-Ray. A truly wonderful film with great performances by Costner, Garcia, De Niro, etc.. but the star performance was by Sean Connery and was worthy of the Oscar. Over 20 years old, but in my opinion doesn't look like it, and a well worthwhile upgrade of a classic film and a highly recommended addition to anyone's Blu-Ray collection..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 22 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Untouchables [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This is a classic, untouchable so to speak. This film is a fantastic mob movie filled with excellent performances from all the cast, in particular, Robert De Niro, who plays the role of Al Capone. The acting is excellent, as is the story and these combine to make a classic, a truly great film
In one word, amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely untouchable, 20 Jun 2003
By 
I have seen this film more times than i can even remember and i never get bored with it, the way that it portrays chicago, at the time of the prohibition is amazing, and the way that it details the power which the Al Capone organisation had over the people of chicago is second to none. with brillant acting from, De Niro, Costner, Connery and Garcia, along with the rest of the cast is quite dumbfounding.
this film is a classic and is definately my favourite film off all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Untouchables [DVD] [1987]
The Untouchables [DVD] [1987] by Brian De Palma (DVD - 2004)
9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews