Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series stupid price
This series is a brilliant example of what Star Trek is really about only taken further than any of the other franchises as many other reviewers have already stated. Rather than be good vs. evil, or clear morals and ethics, DS9 takes it all and adds more depth. Baddies whom you can sympathise with, goodies who do things they're not proud of, there is so much more...
Published on 4 Dec 2005 by Mr. T. F. Norton

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Check the small print!
I thought the picture of the boxed set looked great. However much to my disappointment it came in a different package. There was no booklet and the DVD's were slightly out of focus! Although I have to say that the 'seller' did refund me immediately. As an avid Star Trek fan I had hoped for something worthy and was greatly let down. All I can say really, is - BE CAREFUL...
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by Mr. Pc Marlow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series stupid price, 4 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. T. F. Norton (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is a brilliant example of what Star Trek is really about only taken further than any of the other franchises as many other reviewers have already stated. Rather than be good vs. evil, or clear morals and ethics, DS9 takes it all and adds more depth. Baddies whom you can sympathise with, goodies who do things they're not proud of, there is so much more realism to this series in terms of characters, repurcussions etc.
Suffice to say that I think it's an excellent show; however as stated in my review's title the price for it new in the UK is a joke. I purchased my boxset through Amazon Marketplace from China. I got it for £140 brand new, and it is identical to the UK version in all aspects (region 2, English Audio 2.0/5.1 Surround, English menus). The only difference is that there is some extra Cantonese on the box. And at £140 it's a steal. That is where I'd recommend to buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Class, 18 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
This show is an absolute classic
Being quite new to start trek, (i'd only really seen the next gen movies and 5 seasons of next gen) someone told me that DS9 was the best of the lot.
I ignored this advice until I watched the TNG crossover show, which was largly set on DS9 and featured Dr Bashir, i thought this looks interesting.
Have 2 weeks off work, i decided to buy the whole lot and watch them all (i know, i'm a loser!)
I must say i was blown away by what i saw, the 1st 2 seasons are prety much standard trek, but a litle bit darker. Season 3, however, when the dominion begin to appear, is where the show begins to shine.
The characters and not clear cut good and evil.
Ben Sisko's got to THE most complex captain in trek history.
Odo, the stern changling head of secuirty, eventually shows his emotional side after many years of lusting after a certain bajoran major.
Quark, the ferengi barkeep (one of treks truely great creations) keeps everyone on their toes, with his dogdy deals, and stolen goods.
and Jadzia Dax, possibly the sexiest woman in sci-fi history.
Lets face it, if your thinking of buying this set, then you've seen most of it, and know what lies in store.
If you haven't, trust me when I say it's worth it, I had never seen it either, and loved it.
I could rant on all day about how good this is.
On a final note, think of it this way
It's not so much a 7 season show, as a 176 hour mini series. The singles still come in seperate collectors boxes,and look great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ugly duckling., 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I remeber how at the time i seemed to be the only person who loved this show i really got hooked during the second season, deep space nine just got better and better and remains my favourite sci-fi show ever.Reading the reviews on amazon it is a very nice suprise to see how loved the show is, it deserves to be loved, every thing has already been said in these reviews and to be honest i could speak about ds9 for hours, it is a shame that they never filmed a follow up tv movie like they said they might but such is life in sci-fi land.
It may be a bit ugly during its first two seasons but it becomes a very beautiful swan no other star trek show has matched yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Quark would find this to be worth more than having his own moon, 20 Feb 2008
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Before DS9, Star Trek had a problem and it ws holding Trek down - It was far too limited. The Original series was cute, Next Gen was cute with very few dark moments that showed the Federation and Starfleet wasn't perfect. And then Deep Space Nine appeared. And showed just what Star Trek is capable of.
The box set being reviewed has all seven seasons, every episode plus extras and doesn't take up a lot of room. Weighs a fair bit, aye, but what do you expect for all the DVD's in it?

Deep Space Nine was a series that truly deserved to be respected more, it had a lot of strong story lines, even before the Dominion War came about, and great characters. When DS9 ended, one of the few remaining decent programmes on TV, in a flood of Reality TV, sports and mindless junk that's taken over, disappeared completely. When it's repeated, it doesn't get fully shown, same with Voyager.
So if you're craving some Star Trek and getting annoyed at the lack of anything worth paying the TV licence and Sky for, then I strongly recommend these box sets. And I've just started watching the DS9 box set for the fifth time over, and got the Voyager box set coming in soon, because I'm fed up of there being nothing on.

Deep Space Nine: Star Trek at it's finest. If it hadn't been for DS9, I would have probably never came to love Star Trek. And this box set is 100% worth the money. Definitely going to try and get the rest of Trek after I've bought the remaining box sets and the movies, especially if they're done so way as they are in the Slim Line editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Bunch, 30 Jan 2006
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a STAR TREK fan since i can remember and I have to say that DS9 has got the be the best of the lot! There are some people that say its just coronation street in space but nothing could be further from the truth!! I mean lets face it corrie, eastenders and soaps like that couldn't be worse if they tried !! No, DS9 is a proper drama, involving believable characters and facinating stories that eventually erupt into an amazing interstellar war!
So if your new to to STAR TREK or if you've been watching for years and hav'nt given DS9 much thought, or even if your looking for something fresh, I strongly recommend that you give this a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars please stock this again..., 15 Jan 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
come on Amazon - put some pressure on whoever it is decides that these sets get discontinued, or not - and get it back in stock!

please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please

there. i've said please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Four Greatest TV Series Ever Made...Although, 15 Sep 2008
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
`Deep Space 9' was, as far as I'm concerned, the very pinnacle of the `Star Trek' franchise.

The original series was ruined by Kirk's self-important posturing, vanity and constant womanising, American Cold-War propaganda and Gene Roddenberry's `Black & White' morality.

`The Next Generation' was far superior, but ultimately mediocre.

`Voyager' somehow managed to be even more patronising, moralising, irritating and smug than the original series. And `Enterprise' was so sickeningly cheesy that it struggled to reach a fourth year.

In the midst of all this however, DS9 created a collection of deep and enthralling storylines that lasted for seven whole series; far more comparable to `Babylon 5' than to any other `Star Trek' programme. And whilst some people have tried to describe it as `Boldly Standing Still,' the station was the focus of so many plotlines that there was less need for the usual cliches.

As I've already suggested, there were so many wonderful storylines, characters and emotive relationships that it would be impossible for me to describe all of them here.

Odo's quest to find his people, his love/hate relationship with Quark, the question mark hanging over the Cardassian tailor Garak, the Bajoraan's suspicion and fear of the Federation, Vedek Winn's feud with Vedek Barial...

These are just some of the great storylines that are played out in the first three series alone! But throughout all seven series, the underlying message is that there are no `Black & White' answers; no line between the `Bajoraans' and the `Cardassians' that declares one `Good' and the other `Evil.'

The uncertainty, the indecision and the ethical conflicts; these are what give depth and soul to every character and storyline in the programme. However, because it was an American series, the producers and networks demanded that this fake line be drawn so as not to confuse their `Lazy' viewers.

The number of endings that were hastily rewritten to fit this `Good vs. Evil' cliche is a joke.

"Don't worry. We know that Gul Dukat was trying to save some Bajoraans in this episode. However, we promise you that he is `Pure Evil,' so you don't have to think too much about it."

But in spite of these rewrites, the truth is there for anyone who is paying attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars der Vorteil bei weltweiten Import DVD Auflagen von Star Trek ist, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
... das, wenn man geschickt recherchiert (und einem bekannt ist, das "länderübergreifende" Auflagen meißt immer denselben Hersteller haben), man im europäischen Ausland günstiger kauft.

Da ich genau wie die meißten hier immer noch warte, ob endlich mal der Preis unter die 100 Euro - Marke fällt, habe ich eben zusammengerechnet, was alle Staffeln hier (Slimline, Seasons 1-7) einzeln in UK kosten würden. Und was kommt raus !?

Würden sie heute bestellen, wären es bei A***.co.uk 74,93 Pfund Sterling, - macht laut aktuellen Wechselkurs gerade 85,95 Euro.

Ansonsten gibt es hier absolut nichts zu beanstanden, - Deep Space Nine ist wohl die beste Serie aus dem ganzen Star Trek Universum. Allein schon die deutliche Nähe zu Babylon 5, von der gewaltigen, später (ab Staffel 3) episodenübergreifenden, epischen Geschichte bleibt einzigartig.

Wie bei Babylon 5 dienten die ersten beiden Staffeln also mehr dazu, um sämtliche, einzelnen Charaktere erstmal beim Fan einzuführen.

Okay, nun dichte ich gerade der Serie zuviel gutes an ;-)

In Wahrheit verhielt es sich schon eher so, das man zunächst einmal nicht wußte, wird das Projekt bei den Fans angenommen. Man wollte sich eben ein wenig absichern, dh. wäre die Serie vorzeitig wieder abgesetzt worden. Daher entschloss man sich am Anfang, fast alle Episoden für sich abschließen zu lassen.

Nach dem trotzdem furiosen Start ... und spätestens, als das Thema immer mehr in Richtung großer Konflikt mit den Gründern bzw. das "Dominion" gegen die Förderation ging, wurde es aber immer besser.

Ich habe selten (wie gesagt, höchstens nur im Vergleich noch bei Babylon 5) dermaßen vielschichtige Personen gesehen wie in dieser Serie, dagen kommt ein Jean Luc Picard nicht an.

Auch eine Kathryn Janeway hat mich da weniger begeistern können, ebenso überhaupt alles von TNG bzw. VOYAGER ...

... was hier passiert, ist, das mit dem davor schon beinahe Star Trek üblichen - und inzwischen echt langweiligen Schema von "schwarz und weiß" radikal aufgebrochen wurde. Kaum einer ist hier eindeutig gut bzw. schlecht, - alles hat Grauzonen.

Sogar ein Gul Dukat - obwohl im Grunde das personifizierte böse, kann einem da zuweilen recht sympathisch werden. Und manchmal ist man sogar angewidert von den Sympathieträgern, vor allem, wenn ab,- und zu auch deren "Leichen im Keller" (wie z.B. Fehlentscheidungen oder moralisch fragwürdiges) bekannt werden.

Wir sehen wieder einmal mehr, das auch Science Fiction, die Zukunft, keineswegs "perfekt" ist. Es ist im Grunde nur eine Fortsetzung unserer heutigen Probleme. Und das macht eben das besondere an Deep Space Nine aus, es bleibt ein Spiegelbild der derzeitigen Gesellschaft.

Der Spannungsbogen baut sich immer weiter auf und dadurch ist es einfach schön, kann man dann wie hier, das ganze am Stück, - Folge für Folge und ohne Werbeunterbrechung genießen.

Kaufempfehlung, für die komplette Serie (DVD Auflage) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Check the small print!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Pc Marlow "Sci-fi geek" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the picture of the boxed set looked great. However much to my disappointment it came in a different package. There was no booklet and the DVD's were slightly out of focus! Although I have to say that the 'seller' did refund me immediately. As an avid Star Trek fan I had hoped for something worthy and was greatly let down. All I can say really, is - BE CAREFUL AND READ THE SMALL PRINT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NOVELISED SERIES, 6 Dec 2005
By 
M. MISTRY "mistry01" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
It is fitting for deep space nine to be sold as a boxset, because fans of the series will know that it cannot be judged on one episode it is a complete saga, which investigates the interpersonal natures of good, evil and the real nature of humanity. They cover politics, religion, sexuality, family and friendship values throughout the saga. They may not warp out at the end of 45mins, nut they face the consequenses of their actions, it is a microcosm of all the values that exist in the world today from love to hate. May the saga live on forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD]
Used & New from: 370.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews