Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Served!!!
If you're looking for good actors & an original storyline -- don't look this way!! BUT, the film does comprise amazing dance skills & excellent music! Perfect for any RnB, B2K, or street dancing fan; what the film lacks in acting skills it more than makes up for in awe-inspiring moves & a good sound track! Not short of a star studded line-up, the film boasts, not only B2K...
Published on 17 Oct 2004 by Hannah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent with a shot of the ill-est moves
You dont get a dance movie to discuss directorship and photography, or the deeper sociological messages, lets get that clear right from the outset! That established, what you DO expect is moves that'll get your feet going. If you are reading this, and therefore are into dance, you know what i'm talking about: you are sitting there watching (the movie, live performance or...
Published on 11 Jun 2009 by x iLeon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Served!!!, 17 Oct 2004
By 
Hannah (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you're looking for good actors & an original storyline -- don't look this way!! BUT, the film does comprise amazing dance skills & excellent music! Perfect for any RnB, B2K, or street dancing fan; what the film lacks in acting skills it more than makes up for in awe-inspiring moves & a good sound track! Not short of a star studded line-up, the film boasts, not only B2K & Marques Houston, but the likes of Lil Kim, Steve Harvey & Wade Robson, who make appearances - & not to mention numerous actors recognisable from Sister Sister & My Wife & Kids. The energy of the cast & their successful performances can only promote a sense of awe!! So, while the film follows a fairly predictable storyline, it is a must-see for any fan of dance films or B2K!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best dance moves I have ever seen, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
You got served is dedicated to the art of break dancing. The film itself wouldn't win any awards for the pretty obvious storyline. However, don't dismiss this film until you have seen it. This DVD was released in 2004 and was written and directed by Chris Stokes. The two main stars of the film are Omarion Grandberry, Marques Houston and Jennifer Freeman. Both the male stars of this film are no strangers to the limelight with both of them having been or still part of a group.

David (Grandberry) and Elgin (Houston) are best friends and together they have formed and run a street dance crew. This involves them and their crew going down to the infamous `Mr Rad's' where all the other crews end up having various dancers to win respect of the crowd. David has been friends with Elgin since they were young but when he falls for Liyah (Freeman) he knows Elgin won't be happy. In Elgin's eyes nobody is good enough for his baby sister including David. Elgin is the man of his house and with no father figure he gets pulled into the shady world of drug running. He wants to be able to support his baby sister through medical school and feels like this is the only way to do it. At first David helps him, but when their luck runs out Elgin goes it alone.

The crew are constantly battling with other crews and their visits to Mr Rads are frequent. However, when a competition comes up to give every crew a chance to win a competition and cash prize they jump at the chance. They start practicing but when Elgin finds out David has been seeing his sister all hell breaks loose. On top of that Elgin is being threatened by the `Drugs Boss' after Elgin failed to complete a delivery. He is given a warning and told that if he doesn't replace the money they will be coming after him and he will never dance again. With David and Elgin not talking the rest of the crew do their best to try to get them back together because without each other they may not have a shot at winning the competition.

The actual film is NEVER going to win any awards for acting, storyline and plot. It's certainly not the worst film I have seen in terms of storyline but it does have the clichéd feel to it and you can almost write the ending yourself about halfway through the film.

The one major plus that I don't feel has been beaten before or since is quite simply the dancing. This film shows a lot of the dancing scenes, various battles and to be honest just highlights the fact that most of the people that are `actors' in this film are nothing of the sort but are truly talented dancers. The dancing is amazing to watch and at times I had to go back a scene to make sure that I really did see a particular move made. All in all if you are a dance fan then you will enjoy this film. I defy anybody to not watch this and say "wow" when some of the dance scenes are being played out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sick film!!!, 30 Jun 2004
By 
The 1st time i saw this film was a copy i borrowed from my m8, afta watchin it the 1st time i just couldn't stop, i watched the film over and over again, its a sort of r n b version of 8mile except its dance battles! the moves are sick and the soundtrack is bangin! i would recommend this film 2 any b2k fan or ne1 who loves dancin top marks for this film and hopefully there will b a 2nd 1 released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cus tonight.. u suckers got served, 14 July 2006
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i can honestly say that this film is one of my all time favourites! BUT the acting is jus shameful and some bits are so cheeesy i had to cringe. however, the dancing made up for it. its unbelievable and actually amazing the moves they can bust! i reccomend it to anyone hu is into hip hop music, street dance etc. its worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent with a shot of the ill-est moves, 11 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
You dont get a dance movie to discuss directorship and photography, or the deeper sociological messages, lets get that clear right from the outset! That established, what you DO expect is moves that'll get your feet going. If you are reading this, and therefore are into dance, you know what i'm talking about: you are sitting there watching (the movie, live performance or whatever) and suddenly your feet start tapping, maybe your knees start groovin, your heart pumps and your lungs start expanding and you want to ... GIT UP AND DANCE! Lol

Having watched all the great dance movies since the 70s (and some older) and some amazing live performers, I can safely say that this one is good but not great. There is mainly one amazing dance sequence, which you can find in youtube titled "You Got Served Dance 2". This sequence is divine and I've watched it countless times - gets me up each time! The rest of the movie is nothing to brag about though. However, it is definitely superior to the Step Up series with which it is often classed together. Overall, a decent addition to your dvd library, if you are a dance afficionado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get real, 19 July 2007
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
no one watches this movie for the writing or the acting...it certainty all about the dancing!!! which is awesome so if you like you hop hip and your dancing mind blowing this is the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars le meilleur film de Hip Hop jamais vue, 28 Oct 2004
Elgin et David sont deux très bons copains et font partie d'une petite troupe qui souhaite ouvrir son propre studio de hip-hop. Lorsqu'une autre formation les provoque dans un duel de break dancing, David, Elgin et les autres membres décident de créer et de perfectionner des mouvements hors du commun. La rumeur de ce duel se propage très vite dans la rue et les enchères montent. David et Elgin vont devoir se dépasser pour prouver qu'ils sont les meilleurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, 18 May 2005
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Lets me just start by saying that this film is worth every penny of its £17 price tag. The movie jumps straight into the awesome dance scenes and although some areas are slow the dancing picks the film straight back up. The dance sequence are well choreographed, intresting, funny and explosive. Any fans of B2K, Marques Houston, or street dancing will love this film, however on the same level any one into a film that grabs you and keeps you hooked will also love this film. So all in all a great film and well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good film - but freezing a little, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I love this film but it is a shame the dvd was freezing sometimes. Nicely packaged though so thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great dance movie, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Got Served [DVD] (DVD)
good story line and the dance moves are fantastic! good dvd for everyone.good family viewing! I would recommend.i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Got Served [DVD] [2004]
You Got Served [DVD] [2004] by Chris Stokes (DVD - 2004)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews