Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go For It
This was a follow up to the movie The Bone Collector, only in the sense however that her character has developed from being a cop to detective mainly dealing with murders. The plot to this movie is she is asked to go to go Canada and help solve a number of murders that appear at first not to be connected.

From reading previous comments on amazon i was abit...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Ms. Ceilidh Lipp

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts ,bad in others
taking lives is a 2004 film that bombed on its release,while its easy to see why in parts,in other parts its better than alot of films that gain mass success.

The film is about a man who is fed up with his own identity and steals that of others along the way and assumes their identity and their life,a FBI profiler played by angelie jolie is sent up to montreal...
Published on 27 Jun. 2007 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts ,bad in others, 27 Jun. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
taking lives is a 2004 film that bombed on its release,while its easy to see why in parts,in other parts its better than alot of films that gain mass success.

The film is about a man who is fed up with his own identity and steals that of others along the way and assumes their identity and their life,a FBI profiler played by angelie jolie is sent up to montreal to find out what she can when the local police start to find bodies with the help of a man who has seen the killer played by ethan hawke.

The film starts well and has the odd jumpy moment that is stylish and certainly this film borrows from the classic movie 'seven' at times,alot of dark settings and eerie moments follow,there is a solid middle to the film as well so all is rolling along nicely and a decent if not totally surprising twist as well,but then for the last 30 minutes or so the film starts to fall on its face alot with a very drawn out ending with cliche lines and all that jazz,plus i find it strange that keifer sutherland is third on the films credits when he is hardly in it,my theory is that he did his parts while in montreal on a lunch break from filming his show '24',well thats my theory anyway,all in all this is a decent movie,worth a watch but beware of a sloppy and tiring ending that takes away from the films strengths considerably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go For It, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This was a follow up to the movie The Bone Collector, only in the sense however that her character has developed from being a cop to detective mainly dealing with murders. The plot to this movie is she is asked to go to go Canada and help solve a number of murders that appear at first not to be connected.

From reading previous comments on amazon i was abit wary of how good this movie was going to be as people had not rated it highly. However i thought it was a great moive, with plenty of twists and turns that left you shocked at the out come. Maybe im just more into thrillers or maybe im easily pleased when it comes to movies.

I would definately recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unremarkable serial killer movie, 9 July 2005
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film is what it is - a by the numbers serial killer movie, that in its heart seems to think it is cleverer and more stylish than it actually is.
However, the location and the offbeat casting do make it worth watching, with some occasional successful stylistic flourishes, and at least one genuinely jump out of your set moment.
Angelina Jolie is in one of her weakest roles here - the FBI profiler with a secret past, a loner who has her own unusual methods of immersing herself into each case. This is never truly explored more than that two dimensional outline however, and Jolie seems to try very little to flesh that out.
The 'Unrated' aspect involves one sex scene which for once does actually integrate into the plot, but does seem a somewhat gratuitous use of Angelinas well known attributes.
Ethan Hawke is fine but not outstanding in an initially ambiguous role, and Kiefer Sutherland is barely there in a few scenes, so dont be fooled by his front cover billing. In fact the scenes with him make for some of the few highlights of the movie. Olivier Martinez and the other French actors fill out thankless roles adequately.
Enjoy it, its not a bad movie, but dont expect surprises or any sense of enjoyment in the process of filmmaking from anyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Bone Collector Part 2: This Time It's Competent, 12 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It's a film of no great merit and is distinctly run of the mill generic genre stuff. It has a strong start, and plods along well enough until it's illogical ending.

The film has one good shock in it that fans of Kevin Bacon in the first Friday the 13th might find familiar.

Keifer Sutherland (third credited) appears in about three scenes totalling about three minutes of screen time.

The movie has already started to evaporate from my memory as I write this the day after watching it. I did enjoy it as I wasn't expecting much and it's better than the terrible Bone Collector which also starred Angelina Jolie. It seems to be based on a generic airport-fiction crime book so you can expect that level of quality from this film.

I don't recommend it but if you're stumped for something better then it should pass the time painlessly enough. It's a time waster, nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars should have been better...., 24 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
started off well, and it does have a decent story. Where it goes wrong in my opinion is the casting. Jolie is gorgeous, but hardly credible as a top FBI profiler and seems to not have a great deal of interest in her role most of the time. Hawke is pretty poor, as he usually is. Keifer Sutherland is excellent but is wasted in a small role. The 3 detectives are all French, speak English badly and act worse. There are 2 major twists, I am usually bad in seeing these coming, but even I could see the main one well in advance. To be honest, I did not see the other twist at all. I would like to read the book as it is an intriguing story and I am sure could have been done a lot better. I don't know what the "unrated" means...there is one sex scene but it wouldn't be cut if shown late night on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially good film that fails to deliver, 15 Dec. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
FBI agent Illeana Scott (Angelina Jolie) is drafted to Montreal to profile a serial killer perpetrating horrific murders. Soon Costa (Ethan Hawke) a witness and art dealer appears and draws a likeness of the killer.

After a few brief nods to criminal profiling (I had hoped profiling would be the key element in the drama instead of a sideshow) we launch into the usual grisly manhunt with relatively predictable twists along the way.

Predictable plot apart the good production values, acting, production and cinematography are wasted by an unexpected, unbelievable and tacky ending that will long live in the memory.

Pity, this could have been an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angelina Jolie!, 2 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm going to have to watch this movie again because I've no idea what was going on. Not because it was a bad or confusing movie, but because I could not take my eyes off Angelina Jolie. Quite simply she is gorgeous; those cheekbones, those eyes, those lips, her long elegant legs, that feline animal gait! Wonderful! Looking forward to watching it again to see if I can concentrate on the plot! On a more technical note it's a classy, stylish thriller set in Paris (I think!:)
JP (overheating)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 26 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It's paced perfectly, and just when you think it's all over it isn't the twists and turns keep you wondering how it's all going to end, you'll never guess in a million years what is going to happen, it had us captivated so much so that when we couldn't watch the end because we were baby sitting and had to go home, we had to buy the DVD to see how it ended, so worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few plus points but nothing outstanding., 23 Aug. 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Just finished watching this film and I'm unsure what mark to give it: 3 or 4 stars.

The film starts really well. Delivering a shock that makes you sit up and take watch right from the start. But that might have been an exception for me, as I had no idea about what type of film this was, or what it was about; because I was watching this back off the V+ harddrive. I'd recorded it over Christmas and have only just got around to watching it. Anyway, after the initial shock the credits start to role and I saw name after name pop up - Jolie, Sutherland, Hawke - excellent, I thought.

The film all in all is OK. Jolie - of course is stunning to look at and (at the risk of alienating female readers of my review) theres a small sex scene which should keep the averga fellow happy too. But other than this there's not much of note in this run-of-the-mill serial killer thriller.

The twist are fairly obvious, the story OK but still mediocre and the characters felt a little disjointed - namely the Canadian detective and another key figure, who shall remain namless for fear of spoiling things for you.

The film delivers a few good jumps, but in the end you're left with a few lose ends - nothing too serious - but they're there. In the end Taking lives was a good choice to record off the TV, had I watched it at the time, I'd have been quite chuffed as it's a good film to watch on TV; anythings better than the endless repeats and the films that seemed to get aired again, and again, and again. But I'm not sure it's really worth buying.

I haven't seen the extended version, or director's cut, or whatever it is advertised here - but overall I think I'll give this 3 stars. It came close to getting 4, but in the end - other than Angelina Jolie - it lacks that WOW! factor.

If this review was helpful to you at all please give it the thumbs up. Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars By the end you'd wish someone had taken your life, 29 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Do yourself a favour and do not bother with this movie... Great acting from Keifer Sutherland and Angelina Jolie are ruined by the not very talented Ethan Hawke and a story that shows sooo much promise only to be destoyed by hollywoods new obsession with trying to twist everything... If you have the Bone Collector, 24, or even eastenders to watch then choose them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004]
Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] by D.J. Caruso (DVD - 2004)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews