Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go For It
This was a follow up to the movie The Bone Collector, only in the sense however that her character has developed from being a cop to detective mainly dealing with murders. The plot to this movie is she is asked to go to go Canada and help solve a number of murders that appear at first not to be connected.

From reading previous comments on amazon i was abit...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Ms. Ceilidh Lipp

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts ,bad in others
taking lives is a 2004 film that bombed on its release,while its easy to see why in parts,in other parts its better than alot of films that gain mass success.

The film is about a man who is fed up with his own identity and steals that of others along the way and assumes their identity and their life,a FBI profiler played by angelie jolie is sent up to montreal...
Published on 27 Jun 2007 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go For It, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This was a follow up to the movie The Bone Collector, only in the sense however that her character has developed from being a cop to detective mainly dealing with murders. The plot to this movie is she is asked to go to go Canada and help solve a number of murders that appear at first not to be connected.

From reading previous comments on amazon i was abit wary of how good this movie was going to be as people had not rated it highly. However i thought it was a great moive, with plenty of twists and turns that left you shocked at the out come. Maybe im just more into thrillers or maybe im easily pleased when it comes to movies.

I would definately recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts ,bad in others, 27 Jun 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
taking lives is a 2004 film that bombed on its release,while its easy to see why in parts,in other parts its better than alot of films that gain mass success.

The film is about a man who is fed up with his own identity and steals that of others along the way and assumes their identity and their life,a FBI profiler played by angelie jolie is sent up to montreal to find out what she can when the local police start to find bodies with the help of a man who has seen the killer played by ethan hawke.

The film starts well and has the odd jumpy moment that is stylish and certainly this film borrows from the classic movie 'seven' at times,alot of dark settings and eerie moments follow,there is a solid middle to the film as well so all is rolling along nicely and a decent if not totally surprising twist as well,but then for the last 30 minutes or so the film starts to fall on its face alot with a very drawn out ending with cliche lines and all that jazz,plus i find it strange that keifer sutherland is third on the films credits when he is hardly in it,my theory is that he did his parts while in montreal on a lunch break from filming his show '24',well thats my theory anyway,all in all this is a decent movie,worth a watch but beware of a sloppy and tiring ending that takes away from the films strengths considerably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unremarkable serial killer movie, 9 July 2005
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film is what it is - a by the numbers serial killer movie, that in its heart seems to think it is cleverer and more stylish than it actually is.
However, the location and the offbeat casting do make it worth watching, with some occasional successful stylistic flourishes, and at least one genuinely jump out of your set moment.
Angelina Jolie is in one of her weakest roles here - the FBI profiler with a secret past, a loner who has her own unusual methods of immersing herself into each case. This is never truly explored more than that two dimensional outline however, and Jolie seems to try very little to flesh that out.
The 'Unrated' aspect involves one sex scene which for once does actually integrate into the plot, but does seem a somewhat gratuitous use of Angelinas well known attributes.
Ethan Hawke is fine but not outstanding in an initially ambiguous role, and Kiefer Sutherland is barely there in a few scenes, so dont be fooled by his front cover billing. In fact the scenes with him make for some of the few highlights of the movie. Olivier Martinez and the other French actors fill out thankless roles adequately.
Enjoy it, its not a bad movie, but dont expect surprises or any sense of enjoyment in the process of filmmaking from anyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially good film that fails to deliver, 15 Dec 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
FBI agent Illeana Scott (Angelina Jolie) is drafted to Montreal to profile a serial killer perpetrating horrific murders. Soon Costa (Ethan Hawke) a witness and art dealer appears and draws a likeness of the killer.

After a few brief nods to criminal profiling (I had hoped profiling would be the key element in the drama instead of a sideshow) we launch into the usual grisly manhunt with relatively predictable twists along the way.

Predictable plot apart the good production values, acting, production and cinematography are wasted by an unexpected, unbelievable and tacky ending that will long live in the memory.

Pity, this could have been an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angelina Jolie!, 2 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm going to have to watch this movie again because I've no idea what was going on. Not because it was a bad or confusing movie, but because I could not take my eyes off Angelina Jolie. Quite simply she is gorgeous; those cheekbones, those eyes, those lips, her long elegant legs, that feline animal gait! Wonderful! Looking forward to watching it again to see if I can concentrate on the plot! On a more technical note it's a classy, stylish thriller set in Paris (I think!:)
JP (overheating)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It arrived in good condition and on time. The movie was good, as I saw it on tv and wanted to purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's thriller with a twist so I recommend highly so go for it and watch it it's a good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars taking lives, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
very good film good plot and acting and a film i will watch again and try more angelina jolie films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Great movie, but I am biased. I love Ange and did not realise there were so many movies with her in it that I had not seen (never mind heard of!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004]
Taking Lives (Director's Cut) [DVD] [2004] by D.J. Caruso (DVD - 2004)
3.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews