Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful
A beautiful production,traditional and magical(sparing us the darker psychological slant of other versions).If you have read Kirkland's book,you will know of her relationship with Baryshnikov around this time..they both dance wonderfully and the whole ballet has a "great feelgood factor".Enjoy.
Published on 17 July 2010 by Mr. F. R. S. Glass

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
This Nutcracker was filmed for TV, using dancers from the American Ballet Theater. The big name was of course Baryshnikov, who had recently come to the West.

The whole production is second rate, mostly because of lack of imagination rather than lack of resources. Sets and costumes look dull and the direction generates no excitement whatsoever.

The...
Published on 20 Mar 2007 by Georgios Xenias


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 20 Mar 2007
By 
Georgios Xenias (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
This Nutcracker was filmed for TV, using dancers from the American Ballet Theater. The big name was of course Baryshnikov, who had recently come to the West.

The whole production is second rate, mostly because of lack of imagination rather than lack of resources. Sets and costumes look dull and the direction generates no excitement whatsoever.

The corps-de-ballet is mediocre, but most of the solo dancing is very good.

Baryshnikov makes a great start. His scene as the Nutcracker is wonderful for the mechanical percision of his movements, but once the mask is off, his Narcissism gets the upper hand. He dances "alone", trying to seduce the camera rather than his partner. Great dancing, but it failled to enchant me.

The opposite is true of his co-star, the lovely Gelsey Kirkland. In the beginning I was struck by how child-like she seemed. As the performance progressed I was enthralled by her grace and charm. She was a real "floater", -you think she barely touched the ground when she danced,- and she had a beautiful sense of "flowing" with the music. If I were rating her performance, I would give it 5 stars without hesitation. I think this dvd is worth viewing for her alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars truncated version of a beautiful ballet, 20 Mar 2008
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Dancers fabulous as usual, but unfortunately the original full length ballet has been severely cut, (to 78 minutes, for goodness sake) missing out a great many of the set pieces and therefore not showing to its best advantage. The missing scenes are wonderful to watch. I did have the full version originally and wish I could obtain it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Jan 2007
By 
E. Hood (Aberdeen, Grampian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Basically I would think this is for Nutcracker nuts only. Its great but comes in the middle somewhere of all the ones Ive seen. It was filmed for TV and I think things are best when it is filmed with a live audience in a theatre. Thats just my thought. How ever at the start you see Barishnykovs fantastic skill in Slow motion, a pre highlight before the start and performing his jumps with the greatest of ease effortless. What he must have been like when he was excelling himself must have been out of this world. I would say for Nutcracker nuts only but still recommended. I like his Don quitoxe best for seeing his dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointing, 31 Dec 2013
By 
A. Gardiner "Optimist" (NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it having seen Baryshnikov on White Knights and being utterly enthralled. What a disappointment this production was. There was one shown on TV that could run rings round it. Sorry but this is of course my personal opinion and I think money could be better spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thrown away with the houshold rubbish, 22 Sep 2007
By 
Arthur Wyatt (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
An attempt to make a story film for children. I have broken the DVD and thrown it out with the other American Ballet DVD with the rest of the houshold rubbish so nobody else gets mislead on what this great ballet should be. I am sure that some of the other productions on sale will appeal to all from age 3 to 110. The ballet plots by themselves are nothing unless the emphasis is on a great performance! Any magic there was has been lost by gimmiks in filming and props.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 17 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful production,traditional and magical(sparing us the darker psychological slant of other versions).If you have read Kirkland's book,you will know of her relationship with Baryshnikov around this time..they both dance wonderfully and the whole ballet has a "great feelgood factor".Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic performance, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Baryshnikov has been one of my wife's favourite dancers since we were fortunate enough to see him perform live in New York back in the 1970s.

This may not be the best ever production of the Nutcracker but Baryshnikov's performance is magical. A bit of a nostalgia trip for us but also a disc well worth adding to the 'classic' productions shelf along with the rare recordings of Fontaine and Nureyev. A pity that the performance has been clipped to make space in the running time for US television advertising slots, but better than nothing.

Well worth having if you are a fan of Russian classical dancers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 5 Jan 2010
By 
T. Corsico Piccolino "Avid reader" (Vigevano, PV Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say about Tchaikovsky's The Nutcracker? This is absolutely beautiful and Mikhail Baryshnikov was born to perform it. I LOVE watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best from USSR and USA, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Arne Gunnarsjaa (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
A combination of Baryshnikov and Kirkland would be expected to be interesting, but this DVD is more than that. Kirkland comes from the school of Balanchine (Balanchinadse), so some of her roots stem back from the old Soviet Union. Then, of course, Baryshnikov always is good, even excellent. So there is some reason why this couple dances so well together. A classic ballet in an interesting interpretation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baryshnikov at his best., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nutcracker [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
For me it is always great to see Baryshnikov dance and in this CD of the Nutcracker I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD]
Tchaikovsky - The Nutcracker [1977] [DVD] by Tony Charmoli (DVD - 2006)
9.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews