Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!
Jim Carey plays Joel, a man who wakes up, and skips work. You just have to some days. He catches a different train, and ends up far away from where he has to be. Here he meets Clementine (Kate Winslet), and they are drawn together.
It turns out they have a past, however. The films runs nearly in reverse, will the events of the past listing themselves in reverse...
Published on 12 Oct 2004 by Mr. Simon Paddon

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Enjoyable Watch Is Plenty
Like many other people, I have heard so much about this film being very good so was glad to have caught it on TV recently. I like Kate Winslett and Jim Carrey is good in his more serious roles.

This film was a bit of an effort to get hooked to and understand what was happening but once I "got it" (after maybe 30 mins) I really enjoyed it. Yes, the couple were...
Published on 11 Feb 2009 by Mrs. Sharon L. Lawson


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Can't Get This One Out Of My Head, 29 Sep 2008
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I watched this film over two days ago, and have found it increasingly difficult to think of anything else since. An unnassuming, honest, off-beat, film , 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' is one of those movies that will grow on you and make you want to watch it time and time again, and is intelligent and thought-provoking enough to keep you captivated on repeated viewings.

Boasting none of the usual hollywood glitz, though the cast list is definately something to show off about, 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' follows the shy, quite and often seemingly 'boring' Joel Barish, who, after dating a girl called Clementine for several years visits her one day, only to discover she has no recollection of who he is and has in fact had him intentionally and entirely erased from her memory. Joel, distaught, hurt and confused, visits the place where Clementine had her memories of him erased and chooses to do the same to his memories of her. However, once made unconcious so the procedure could occur, he re-lives each of the memories as the team (Patrick, Frank, Stan and Mary) are trying to erase them, and suddenly decides that this may not really be what he wants. As the viewer we are given the chance to see Clem and Joel's relationship through these memroies, how they met, the good times, the bad, why Clem finally decided she no longer wanted to have Joel as part of her life - or memory. And we also watch as Joel discovers that he doesn't, in fact, want to erase Clem from his life forever, and we sit at the edge of our seat willing Joel to find a way to keep his memories safe forever.

I think 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' is a brilliant film, probably my second favourite film I have ever watched (the first being' A Beautiful Mind'). However, I do realise it's limitations too. It feels like a low budget movie (whether it is or not I do not know) despite boasting many hollywood stars in the cast list. However, I feel that this definately adds to the movie rather than takes away from it - it gives the film a sense of character, of individusality, as well as fitting the story well - for neither of the main characters live a glamourous life, so for the film to be filmed in that style would have been untrue to itself. Another limitation some may note would be teh actual story - the idea of having a person fully erased from your memory is absurd, howver, like certain other science-fictional stories I have seen or read (such as the novel, 'The Time Traveller's Wife') the absurdity of the idea comes second to the story, and the message of the story. The film is set in the real world, in our time, so it is easy to forget that memories cannot just simply be erased, and instead, as the viewer you pay attention to the story, and what the film is trying to ultimatley say.

The acting in this film is superb. Jim Carrey (who I have only ever seen in comedic roles previously) makes a breathtaking transformation into a serous role as Joel Barish, pulling off the character of a quite, shy loner with far more integrity and skill than I would have ever believed possible. Kate Winslet too made a startling change in my eyes from the only other role I'd seen her in (Rose in Titanic) to the gritty, fun-loving, unique, emotional, impulsive and incredibly chatty Clementine, who's ever-changing bright coloured hair makes the passage of time in the film slighlty easier to follow. I think my favourite performance however was by Mark Ruffalo as Stan, and this is the second time Ruffalo has blown me away with a role and he will certainly be someone who I will keep my eye on in the fuiture - he is an incredibly gifted actor.

I don't want to say too much about this film as I don't want to give much away. I will say though that the final scenes were very emotionally powerful (which surpirsed me)and that, although the film is only about an hour anda half in length, the character development throughout makes it feel like you have known the main two characters, Joel and Clem, for many years, and you end up caring for them as you would for two good friends, wanting them both to be happy. The film worked enough to have me willing Joel to hide his memory's from the 'evil' eraser team, to remember Clem, and go back to her and make her remember him too, but wehther that happens or not I will not say - you'll just have to watch and see. All I will say is that there are a few surprises that I definaetly was not expecting, that this film is not as predictable as you may expect, it being a love story and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly outstanding film..., 12 April 2007
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm not the sort to post reviews on websites, but having seen this film this week, I feel the need to. It is a classic, wonderfully made, very well acted and thoroughly engaging from beginning to end.

Some earlier reviews have suggested that the film is too long and sags in the middle. I could not agree less. The unusual plot engages the viewer from start to end, and despite the fantastical premise, it all seems incredibly realistic.

If you haven't seen this film, see it as soon as you can. It is truly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, 13 Feb 2005
By 
Beautiful Freak (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
At your peril should you be fooled by the slightly inexplicable advertising pitch of this film that presents it as a happy feel-good teeny 'comedy', nor should you be tempted to classify it according to the presence of Jim Carey and Kirsten Dunst. In truth, as you would expect of a film named from a quote by Alexander Pope, it is far more complex, more worthwhile, darker and more special than that.
The plot, in a nutshell: Joel (Carey) discovers that his eccentric, impulsive, blue-haired ex-girlfriend, Clementine (Kate Winslet) has had all memory of him erased by a company specialising in the procedure, and he decides to have it done too. There is a subplot involving Elijah Wood and Kirsten Dunst, but the focus of the film is certainly the messed-up tragicomic alternately perfect and disastrous relationship between Joel and Clementine. The majority of the film then takes place inside Joel's mind as he chases Clementine through his memories and watches them fade away.
The deepest parts of Joel's memory begin to collapse in chilling, sad and sometimes downright scary sequences, as books lose their writing, buildings tumble, places and people fade and disappear and faces lose their features. At the same time we catch a glimpse of the insecurities of both characters that originally brought them together. Corny romanticism is thrown aside: this film is uncompromising, realistic and honest, and the relationship between the characters is both glowing with light and life and shadowed by their differences. The delightful idiosyncrasies of the objects Joel names as having an association with Clementine (a giant stuffed skeleton doll, people made of potatoes, journals, mugs, pictures, cards, snowglobes...) reveal the crazy truth that exists between people.
There is some humour, but it's neither slapstick nor simple and always touched by sadness: there is the charming familiarity of childhood humiliation and of speaking the words through to a silent film, and the pathetic humour behind the old woman in the waiting room preparing to have her memory erased with tears in her eyes, clutching a box containing a bone and a dog-bowl with her pet's name on it. Not a shiny happy film, then, but a dark, fractured and yet somehow uplifting account of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astoundingly original, 31 Aug 2005
By 
No Quarter (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
I had heard great things about this movie and when I finally saw it I was completely blown away. It's brilliantly inventive, with the idea of Joel (Jim Carrey) trying to erase the memory of his girlfriend (Kate Winslet) but his mind tries to stop him. There's much more to it than that but there's no point in spoiling it. This is one you can't really describe but you have to see it.
Carrey gives the performance of his career, and is far away from his more 'zany' roles like in Ace Ventura or Liar Liar. He is truly believable as Joel and Kate Winslet was also a revelation, with excellent chemistry between them. The support cast is also great, with Tom Wilkinson and Kirsten Dunst (I love her) particularly standing out.
It's definitely the best non-action film I've seen for a long time. I say 'non-action' because Eternal Sunshine doesn't really slot into a particular genre, with elements of comedy, drama, romance, sci-fi, fantasy all thrown in for good measure. But if there was a genre called 'Fantastic' then this would fit right in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly brilliant, 8 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is what love is. This whole film is one of the few to accurately capture the nature, the uncertainty and the beauty of relationships.
The acting is amazing. I was wary that Jim Carrey was in it, but you forget all of his past - he is quite simply Joel. Understated and moving throughout. Kate Winslet is also brilliant. Funny, wacky, but real. This is a rare breed of film when you actually believe that the characters have a genuine deepseated love for each other.
The story is primarily concerned with relationships. We see all aspects. While uncertain at times, it highlights the best and the worst, and I can quite honestly say I don't think any film has capture the beuatiful mundanity of most love affairs. It also raises larger questions that keeps you thinking beyond the last scene.
Special credit also to the music and direction. There are some scenes which are so beautiful, I just replay them over and over. And of course, Charlie Kaufman, ever increasingly one of the best writers today.
I can't recommend this film enough. I have seen it many times now, and everyone I have introduced it to falls in love.
If you have ever been in love, ever broken up, or just believe in love, then watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born Classic, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Eternal Sunshine takes you in to the head of Joel Barish(Jim Carrey), who's trying to erase the memory of his ex-girlfriend from his mind (there's a science fiction element to the story, that's implausible but clean and thought provoking).

What's seen in this movie is a rarity, in this modern age or Lord of the Rings and numerous CGI set pieces, it's a great pleasure to watch this film knowing that everything so you on screen has been done for real. You'll get lost inside the heads of all of this film's characters, because it's filmed and edited so well you'll believe you were actually in there.

Directed by Music Video director Michael Gondry, who created the White Stripes video 'Fell in love with a Girl', you can clearly see the transition between short music video and full length feature. Not to say this film becomes dull part way thought, the opposite. The film flows from scene to scene perfectly. Transitions between locations and peoples thoughts often happen as if there were no cut at all, hidden in a camera movement. Gondry didn't simple press a button on a computer to achieve this fluidity, he didn't even spend a year or two of sleepless nights animating the special effect, what you see was filmed how you see it.

The acting in this film is of the highest standard, Jim Carrey (and this has been said a thousand times), cuts his comedic crap that some find funny and others find sickening, and replaces it with a perfect sombre performance that sets the movie on the right path from start to finish.

_

This edition features a small making of, audio commentary and music video, it's just for the film it's self really, a special edition with an extra disc is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Why remember a destructive love affair?", 11 Feb 2005
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Meet Joel Barish, a "nice," shy, unassuming man, played by a much understated Jim Carrey. Meet Clementine Kruczynski, a wacky, spontaneous, uninhibited woman who colors her hair as often as she brushes her teeth. Kate Winslet is brilliant here. She bounces with energy as the vibrant Clem. And Carrey gives one of his most mature, deeply felt performances as Barish. Joel and Clementine meet each other. Sparks fly. It's love. The conventional and the eccentric collide. More sparks - a veritable conflagration. And then the inevitable. Kaput! Abruptly. Painfully. Clementine wants to "wash that man right outta her hair," so she literally has him removed from her mind. Dr. Howard Mierzwiak, (Tom Wilkinson), invented a procedure to erase isolated, unwanted memories. He provides this process through his company, Lacuna. Ever unpredictable, Clementine decides this is for her. The next time the ex-couple meets, Clementine acts as if she has never seen Joel before. Joel is astounded, confused. A friend, (the very funny David Cross), finally tells Joel that he has been erased. Devastated and depressed, Joel decides to have the same procedure performed.
Most of the film's action takes place inside Joel's head. Hooked up to the memory-erasing apparatus, which pinpoints each Clementine-related memory in his brain and zaps it, he relives every moment before it's wiped-out. The emotional sense of loss is magnified, as one memory after another is visually annihilated. Unconscious, Joel realizes these moments are far too precious to destroy. Is it too late to save them?
"Why remember a destructive love affair?" So asks, Dr. Mierzwiak, who presides over a hearty-partying Lacuna staff, which includes: Patrick, the unethical technician, (Elijah Wood), who uses ill-gained information to court Clementine; Mary, the ditzy receptionist, (Kirsten Dunst), who fools around with senior technician, Stan, (Mark Ruffalo), while her heart lies elsewhere. This off-beat gang of unprofessionals is responsible for the comic relief. They bring unlooked for depth to their roles also.
Screenwriter Charlie Kaufman takes us on a roller-coaster ride through the remarkable landscape of Joel Barish's mind. This unbelievable visual collage of memories, and shifted, twisted realities, is absolutely brilliant and most memorable. The cinematography, (Ellen Kuras), is amazing! Dreams morph into reality then fade back to fantasy, while people disappear in mid-stride, as Joel's brain cells are destroyed. There are no boundaries here.
WOW! What a whimsical, delightful, poignant, refreshing gem of a film! I laughed out loud at times, and my eyes teared-up at others. Jim Carrey and Ms. Winslet really shine and emphasize, with their performances, our very human need for love. Eternal Sunshine's premise is that we need each other, even during those periods when being together interferes with being happy. As someone once said, "love is hard." And "Eternal Sunshine" is, above all else, an original love story. The movie's title is a quotation from Alexander Pope's poem "Eloisa to Abelard:" "How happy is the blameless Vestal's lot! / The world forgetting, by the world forgot / Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind/ Each pray'r accepted, and each wish resign'd."
Kudos to director Michel Gondry, and Charlie Kaufman. This is one of the best films I have seen in ages!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Fave Film of the last Decade!, 18 July 2007
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm not a fan of Jim Carrey's "Zany Goofy Characters" but in this film he's different. He's acting, and as a different type character.

I love a film which pushes boundaries of reality and plays with what can be and what can't. But what makes it really enjoyable is a premise which allows all the fantasy to be explained and believed in some way. This film does that beautifully.

It's a love story, a story of loss and trying to regain that which has been lost. The characters are faulty and vulnerable. They do things wrong, and for the wrong reasons. But you identify with them and root for them to find love and a chance for happiness.

My wife doesn't like many stories with elements of fantasy, but she enjoyed this film nonetheless. That's a testament, and me giving it a score of 5 here is even bigger (This is only the 2nd five I've given here at Amazon). If I owned 5 or 10 movies, this would be one of them. Get it, enjoy it. Lemme know what you thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting anew, and not in a metaphorical sense ...., 26 Feb 2005
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"How happy is the blameless vestal's lot! The world forgetting, by the world forgot. Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!", says a poem. But how much truth can we find there?. What if we could erase our bad memories of a romance gone sour?. Would we be happier, or would we just lose the benefit of experience, and the good memories along with the bad ones?. Of course, posing these questions seems far-fetched, so strange that many people wouldn't even think about it if it weren't for the fact that "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" brings to the fore the possibility of starting anew, and not in a metaphorical sense :)
That is as a matter of fact exactly what Clementine (Kate Winslet) does on an impulse, after a particularly awful fight with her boyfriend, Joel (Jim Carrey). Afterwards, Joel doesn't understand why Clementine pretends not to know him, until he discovers she has had an operation to "erase" him. When he confronts the doctor who performed the operation, he decides to undergo the same procedure. But as the operation begins, and his memories start to fade, Joel begins to realize that he wants to remember his good moments with Clementine, even if that means keeping the bad ones too. As a result, he endeavors to hide his memories with her in parts of his brain that weren`t supposed to be wiped by the machine that the doctor manipulates. But will he succeed?.
There are some secondary characters that are quite interesting, for example the unethical technician (Elijah Wood) that helps to wipe memories, and that starts dating Clementine after her operation. However, the best thing this movie offers is the great performances given by Carrey as an introspective and shy Joel, and Winslet as a loveable yet really eccentric woman who changes the colour of her hair to suit her whims. The director (Michel Gondry) and the scriptwriter (Charlie Kaufman) also made a wonderful job of showing us the dynamics of Joel and Clementine's relationship, and of making the spectator believe that what was happening was real...
On the whole, I can say that I loved this movie. The central themes are easy to relate to, because they have to do with feelings we all have experienced at some point in our lives: love, loss, anger, disappointment, the need to start all over again... "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" entertains you, but it also makes you think. It isn't a comedy, and it isn't a drama, but it is certainly the kind of film I can strongly recommend you to see....
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Masterpiece..., 13 Nov 2004
By 
G "y2penni" (Sanderstead, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
There's just too many good things about 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' to mention, it's hard to fit into one line. To be honest, the first time I saw this film, I was quite baffled, confused and didn't understand most of it at all - which was inevitably what brought me back to watching it again and again... and again.
A first impression of the film title basically gives you an idea of what sort of film this is - "hmm, don't understand that"/"what does that mean?"/"spotless mind...wuh?". To understand the real enigma of this film is to really feel emotionally involved with the story and the characters. If you put yourself in the position of Joel or Clementine, for instance (and also with the help of some breathtaking acting by Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet), you will feel like you are actually in the shoes of the character.
The script touches brilliance in imagination and originality from start to finish. It's visually stunning, but no special effects... just plain simple movie magic. It's clever, funny, sad and thought-provoking, much like most films screenwritten by Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich), and has a European wit and creativity from the direction of French director Michel Gondry. It's a piece of art.
'Eternal Sunshine' is a Romantic/Comic/Fantasy love story. It's about a couple (Joel Barish and Clementine Kruczynski) who are in a struggling relationship, and Clementine decides to erase her memory of Joel, as does Joel of Clementine afterwards. The cast all give fantastic performances. It's almost completely told in reverse order, and there's a lot of changing around as the audience is taken into a journey of Joel Barish's mind...
If you're not into films that make you think and talk about for days afterwards with your friends... well, you simply don't like films. This is a classic example of a great film doing just that.
To be honest, I would be working on my coursework instead of writing this review if it wasn't that good of a film - but it most certainly is, and I just need to boast the brilliance, the beauty, the celestial dreamlike charm and grace, and why it needs everyone's attention.
Yeah, i was touched...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004]
4.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews