Customer Reviews

148
4.1 out of 5 stars
Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£2.68+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 10 October 2007
Spider-man 2 was great but is it really worth buying the movie again for 8 minutes of new footage when you can easily watch it on youtube? For 5 pounds I'd say it is worth it. The new scenes are:

-Extended conversation with Peter and MJ in the backyard
-Extended part of Peter delivering the pizzas to that woman.
-Extended conversation between Peter and Otto Octavius
-Elevator sequence is different
-Doc Ock and Spidey crash into an office while fighting on the side of the building
-Scene with MJ and her friend, where MJ explains why she's marrying John
-Scene which shows Jonah Jameson trying on the Spider-Man suit
-Added stuff to the train fight like Ock holding Spidey down the side of the train, making him smack his head off sign posts.

There's more but those were just some examples. Spider-man 2 is a very good film and I would definitely get Spider-man 2.1. This used to be about 12 pounds and now it's only 5! Grab yourself a bargain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 May 2014
This movie is one of my fondest highlights during the summer of 2004.

I enjoyed the first 'Spider-Man' movie so much in Christmas 2002 that I just couldn't wait to see 'Spider-Man 2'. I couldn't wait to actually watch it in the cinemas when it came out in July 2004. I wanted to know what would happen to Peter as he continues being Spider-Man.

It was a period of two years I had to endure before going to the cinema to see Spidey on the big screen. Again this movie stars Tobey Maguire in the top role as Spider-Man, as well as Kirsten Dunst, James Franco and Alfred Molina playing the tentacle menace, Doc Ock.

The DVD of 'Spider-Man 2' is a 2-disc set. Disc 1 contains the movie and Disc 2 contains special features.

In the week leading up to 'Spider-Man 2', I was on a work experience placement in Cardiff at a computer shop. It was my first work experience, and it wasn't a pleasant and good one. I felt like Peter Parker who had to endure problems with work and life in general.

But I had the pleasure of listening to all the media coverage on the radio during my work placement. I got through that week and on the Saturday I went to see the movie at the cinema with my parents. I was really happy watching 'Spider-Man 2' and it's is a true masterpiece!

'Spider-Man 2''s story is based on the comic book issue #50 of the 'Amazing Spider-Man' series, bearing the title `Spider-Man, No More'. It's about Peter Parker giving up being Spider-Man as his life is crammed with his dual roles as a young man and a superhero.

Two years have passed, and Peter has been the web-slinging superhero for some time But it's not an easy ride, as Peter struggles to balance his two lives with his personal life; work; going to college; dealing with his friend Harry Osborn and his love for Mary Jane Watson.

Tobey Maguire returns as Peter Parker/Spider-Man. He's really into the role of Peter, understanding the character and what he goes through in this movie. Tobey gives a honest and true performance as Peter and I can really relate to him when Tobey plays him.

Kirsten Dunst returns as Mary Jane Watson (MJ). Kirsten plays MJ on a new level. It's two years since MJ and Peter last saw each other. MJ's grown up and more independent as an actress on stage and gets engaged to astronaut John Jameson, son of J. Jonah Jameson.

James Franco returns Harry Osborn again. James portrays a darker side to Harry who blames Spider-Man for the death of his father, Norman Osborn. Peter's reluctant to tell Harry about what happened to his father and it makes Harry bitter and strains their friendship.

Alfred Molina stars as the villainous Dr Otto Octavius aka Doctor Octopus aka Doc Ock. Alfred is brilliant as Doc Ock, who is a scientist that has an accident in an experiment, causing four mechanical arms to fuse to his body. He goes mad and becomes a supervillain for Spidey.

Rosemary Harris returns as Aunt May. Rosemary does a wonderfully marvellous performance as Aunt May, who loves Peter very much and is coping with being a widow and living without Uncle Ben. I like Peter's scenes with Aunt May when he's concerned about her.

There's also Donna Murphy as Rosie Octavius, Doc Ock's wife. This is the first time I'd seen Donna, before I discovered her in 'Star Trek: Insurrection'. Rosie is this sweet and loving wife of Dr Otto Octavius, who gets killed tragically in the movie during Ock's experiment.

J.K. Simmons returns as J. Jonah Jameson and gets the character absolutely spot on! Jameson always seems to be firing and rehiring Peter at the Daily Bugle for pictures of Spider-Man. Jameson delivers the comic relief and the Daily Bugle scenes are always a welcome treat.

Daniel Giles appears as John, Jameson's son. John is the man who MJ is engaged to marry. John's a national hero and astronaut who journeys to the moon. He's the man that Peter Parker isn't. He's successful and adorable and possibly the perfect man for MJ to marry.

Sam Raimi does it again with magnificent triumph as the director of this film. I'm really pleased with the way Raimi directs this film with such passion and thought. There's a balance of Spider-Man fandom as well as sense of real life throughout this film which I really like.

The sets for this film are also spectacular. I love the Ock laboratory scene both on land and on an island where the final battle between Spidey and Doc Ock takes place. Also it's great revisiting the Daily Bugle which has been redressed and redecorated i.e. Jameson's office.

The special effects including Doc Ock's tentacles are truly spectacular. John Dykstra returns to his role as visual effects supervisor and again makes the fight scenes and web-slinging of Spidey truly spectacular. This movie uses the Spydercam to film Spider-Man swinging.

The DVD special features are as follows. On Disc 1, there's a cast and crew commentary featuring Sam Raimi (director); Tobey Maguire Avid Arad (producer) and Grant Curtis (co-producer). There's also a technical commentary that includes the special effects team.

There's 'Spidey Sense 2' info-text commentary option and four web-i-sodes focusing on four aspects of 'Spider-Man' . There's a music video of a song from the 'Music From And Inspired By Spider-Man 2' CD and there's a trailer for 'Spider-Man 2'.

On Disc 2, there's a 12-part making-of documentary called 'Making the Amazing.... There are also three featurettes' including 'Hero in Crisis' about Peter Parker; 'Ock-Umentary: Eight Arms to Hold You' about Doc Ock and `Interwoven: The Loves of Spider-Man'.

There's a 'Enter the Web' multi-angle demonstration and a 'photo art gallery'. There's also a 'interactive' section featuring a trailer and making-of featurette of the 'Spider-Man 2' video game and some DVD content. There are two amusing Easter Eggs to look out for.

'Spider-Man 2' is a true masterpiece superhero movie. It's brilliantly directed by Sam Raimi and features a good story about Peter Parker, an amazing villain in Doc Ock and a wonderfully told story about the romance between Peter and Mary Jane that reduced me to tears.

The next movie for Peter Parker/Spider-Man is 'Spider-Man 3'.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
...And still one of the best comic adaptations of all time.
Sam Raimi went all out for 2004s Spiderman 2 giving us a memorable villain, improved dialogue, action scenes yet to be topped(The train scene....Wow) and expert direction.
Very few sequels are this good, and even to this day Spiderman 2 is one of the finest Marvel movies ever.
Raimi is so much more confident and improves upon the first in almost every way, without ever pushing things too far, and using CGI much better this time round - to improve the film, never distract you from the film. A more than worthy sequel and the one to raise the bar for the genre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
"I am Spiderman no longer," claims Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) in Spiderman 2, the epic sequal to the block buster hit. This time Spiderman faces off against Dr Occ, while at the same time wrestling with himself trying to come to terms with the decisions he has made in life. Decisions that have pushed his loved ones further away. Especially his now debt ridden aunt who now lives alone, and his long time dream girl Mary Jane, who is heading down her own seperate and distant path attempting to survive live in the big city. Spiderman 2 is set two years after the first, and like the first it combines a solid plot, sound acting, and stunning special effects to deliver a truly amazing and specticular film. The plot develops slight slow, but I promise that when things really get going, you will be on the edge of your seat. The most memorible scene for me, is the showdown on the train towards the end. As with the first film there are some really intresting special features. In summary Spiderman 2 makes a great family film and would make a great addition to any dvd collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
58 of 68 people found the following review helpful
on 17 October 2004
Before Spider-Man was created in the early 60's, super heroes tended to be a step down from gods (and some actually WERE gods). They were powerful, morally upright, and unwaivering in their convictions. In other words, it was fun to follow their adventures, but they were a bit hard to relate to.
Stan Lee changed all of that when he created Spider-Man. He decided to make a hero who was an unpopular, nerdy kid who just happened to get stuck with powers he wasn't even sure he wanted. He had everyday problems like dealing with bullies, being uncomfortable around that cute girl he likes, and feeling left out in general. And who hasn't had experiences like these at some point in their life?
I've seen some great comic book adaptations that really got down to the core of a character (Batman), and I've seen movies that simply made me cringe and wonder how they could have been so far off the mark (Daredevil, anyone?). As far as capturing the true essence of it's title character, this movie tops them all.
In a lot of ways, this is THE Spider-Man story. This is Peter Parker's struggle to decide just who he is and what his resposibility is to the world, his family, and himself. And it's not an easy decision to make.
It's been beaten to death a bit by now, but it all boils down to what Uncle Ben told Peter: "With great power comes great responsibility." And Peter rages against this logic for the entire movie. Should he live for himself, enjoy his life, and ignore the powers he's been given? Or should he put the needs of others before his own, essentially sacrificing his personal happiness in lieu of the satisfaction and knowledge that he's made a difference in the world? This is the conflict that is at the very core of this character, and this movie captured that in ways that I'm sure made Stan Lee proud.
To be totally truthful, this movie should probably be called "Peter Parker." If you're looking for mindless action, go buy Terminator 3. This is a movie about a young man trying to find himself--it just so happens that this particular young man has some extraordinary powers.
Don't get me wrong; there are some absolutely amazing action sequences. Doctor Octopus is a visually dynamic (as well as tragic) villain, and he makes for a lot of exciting scenes. And I must say, he's played to perfection by Alfred Molina; I don't have a bad thing to say about his performance. And special effects? I get goosebumps every time I see Spidey swingin' through the concrete jungle. Spectacular!
But at heart, this is a movie about character development. I can't express how grateful I am to Sam Raimi for turning out such a quality film that stays so true to the character. He did an amazing job, mixing drama, action, humor, and just a dash of Evil Dead-like horror into a final product that left me emotionally drained and wanting more. It's gonna be tough to top this one. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 April 2007
Being a massive Spiderman fan, I really liked this movie amidst high expectations after the first installment! This movie makes an effort to try to 'stick to the first' plot and storyline like the first one did! I really liked that. The characters are more matured and have moved on with their lives, this none other than Peter Parker (Spidey) who tries to show everyone, especially MJ that he's "really changed." Everyone has changed, a huge benefit to the new plot and storyline, which in the first one had tried to portray them like teenage high school students. The CGI sequences are even better and much work has been done on the editing floor. Doctor Octopus is brilliantly portrayed by Alfred Molina, and the change in character from Octavius to Octopus has really been well researched.

Brilliant
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 17 December 2013
Unlike most people I am not a huge fan of the Sam Rami Spiderman series; Spiderman looks incredibly dated even for a 2002 movie, and Spiderman 3 was a complete mess. If things go right, I believe The Amazing Spiderman series will be the better series, as I thought The Amazing Spiderman was terrific.

However, even I will admit that Spiderman 2 is a great entry in the Spiderman franchise.

Doc Doc is easily the best villain of the series, and the action is fast paced and brilliantly shot. Even though I'm not a big fan of Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker/Spiderman I think he does a good job in this film compared to the other two films. I've also never been a big Kirsten Dunst fan, but she does a decent job in this film too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 12 May 2012
Face it, Tiger ... you just hit the jackpot, Mary Jane Watson. Dialogue straight out of the comic book ensuring that this sequel is going to be well worth the wait! OK, not quite as good as the first - sequels seldom are - but a valiant effort on the part of Sam Raimi.

Here we have the next big Super Villain, Dr Otto Octavius/Doctor Octopus (Alfred Molina), who is about to further complicate Spider-Man's (Tobey Maguire) already failing personal life: Parker is experiencing financial difficulties and his studies are slipping. To top it all off, Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst) is now engaged to astronaut John Jameson, son of Parker's overbearing newspaper editor, Jonah. Things just go from bad to worse for the web-slinger.

Meanwhile, following the death of his father (the Green Goblin), Harry Osborn has now now taken over Oscorp Industries and is in business talks with Dr Otto Octavius. The Doctor, Parker's idol, has created a set of mechanical arms that are impervious to heat and magnetism; the experiment goes wrong and the arms become fused to the spine of Octavius, taking complete control of the doctor both mentally and physically.

Aunt May is later captured and taken hostage by Dr Octopus. Spider-Man too falls prey to capture and is delivered to Harry, where his true identity is under threat. How much can one guy take? 'Spider-Man 2' is all about choices for Peter Parker: lose his alter-ego and concentrate on number one or continue with the responsibility he chose after the death of Uncle Ben ~ Raimi has skillfully recreated the classic scene - panel-for-panel - from Amazing Spider-Mam #50, Spider-Man No More, written by Stan Lee, pencilled by John Romita, and inked by Mickey Dimeo.

Here Parker is seen leaving a rainy alleyway where his discarded costume hangs from the throat of a garbage can. Raimi has concentrated on the Parker who is forced to deal with actual everyday problems in Spider-Man 2, one we can all sympathize with. Parker's character outweighs that of other superheroes, for the simple fact that - at heart - he is just an ordinary guy trying to exist in a complicated world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 8 July 2008
The first Spider-Man movie was a huge success based on any number of factors so the weight of expectation was on this film. Pretty much the entire original cast was reassembled (dream sequences and insanity are wonderful tools for allowing dead characters to pop up) and one of Spider-Man's greatest villains was thrown into the mix.

Storyline wise this is a film about Peter Parker's struggle to balance the dual identities that he has. He's no Bruce Wayne in an isolated mansion or Clark Kent with the superspeed to almost be in two places at once, no Peter is just an ordinary guy who happens to have the proportionate speed, strength, and agility of a human sized spider. He is present at a laboratory experiment where kindly scientist Otto Octavius has a set of mechanical arms accidentally grafted onto his back and directly in into his central nervous system sending him a bit mad. Peter and the newly psychotic Doctor Octopus have a few throw downs before the hero's crippling self-doubt lead him to abandon his Spider-Man persona. This is all further complicated by the fact that Pete's best friend Harry is obsessed with seeing Spider-Man dead after the finale of the first film.

As with the first Spider-Man the cast all play wonderfully. Tobey Maguire continues to be geeky cute and utterly sympathetic as Peter while winsome Kirsten Dunst is affecting as his love interest Mary-Jane (their romance is far more central to the plot of this movie than its predecessor. The supporting cast carry the day again with a subtle, occasionally heartstring tugging performance from Rosemary Harris and pure comedy gold from JK Simmons as J Jonah Jameson. Hardcore thespian Alfred Molina is brilliant as the kindly Otto before his accident and then as the nasty and dangerous Doc Ock afterwards.

The effects are a big improvement with the CGI picking up noticably over the first film. A lengthy battle on the top of a train could have been a train wreck but looks magnificent. Doctor Octopus's arms, a mixture of CGI and animatronics are excellent and even manage to convey emotions. The script is funny when it wants to be, romantic when it sets out to be, and touching when it needs to be. One thing that I would say is that as a PG this has the least strict rating of the Spidey movies but it has a very harsh scene set in an operating room that I think is far less suitable for really young kids than many 12A movies are. The plotline with Peter giving up the Spider-Man identity is just a shade too long which disrupts the flow of the movie slightly but this remains a top drawer super hero flick and a great evening's entertainment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 November 2006
This is the best spider-man. Amazin fight scenes, amazin CGI and animation. Pluss Dor Ock was well cool how they did him. I thought the story was better the the 1st. You really do fell sorry for peter in this film, not like the cartoons lol. Really looking forword for Spider-man 3 and 4. All well need now, is venom.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Spider-Man Trilogy [DVD]
Spider-Man Trilogy [DVD] by Tobey Maguire (DVD - 2012)
£6.26

The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD) [2012]
The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD) [2012] by Andrew Garfield (DVD - 2012)
£7.50

Spider-Man [DVD] [2002]
Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] by Tobey Maguire|Willem Dafoe|Kirsten Dunst|James Franco (DVD - 2002)
£2.54
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.