Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-man 2.1.
Spider-man 2 was great but is it really worth buying the movie again for 8 minutes of new footage when you can easily watch it on youtube? For 5 pounds I'd say it is worth it. The new scenes are:

-Extended conversation with Peter and MJ in the backyard
-Extended part of Peter delivering the pizzas to that woman.
-Extended conversation between Peter...
Published on 10 Oct 2007 by Faye

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, rubbish features!
Not having Spiderman 2 on DVD but having the 1st one I was eager to get this to complete my collection (especially with the new film coming out)...however this new version is basically all about Spiderman 3. I'm more than a little disappointed, especially as I paid a little more for this version, and wish I had opted for the original release instead. There's no denying...
Published on 15 May 2007 by Average Joe


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-man 2.1., 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man 2.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Spider-man 2 was great but is it really worth buying the movie again for 8 minutes of new footage when you can easily watch it on youtube? For 5 pounds I'd say it is worth it. The new scenes are:

-Extended conversation with Peter and MJ in the backyard
-Extended part of Peter delivering the pizzas to that woman.
-Extended conversation between Peter and Otto Octavius
-Elevator sequence is different
-Doc Ock and Spidey crash into an office while fighting on the side of the building
-Scene with MJ and her friend, where MJ explains why she's marrying John
-Scene which shows Jonah Jameson trying on the Spider-Man suit
-Added stuff to the train fight like Ock holding Spidey down the side of the train, making him smack his head off sign posts.

There's more but those were just some examples. Spider-man 2 is a very good film and I would definitely get Spider-man 2.1. This used to be about 12 pounds and now it's only 5! Grab yourself a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent superhero sequel, 20 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
In one of the best superhero sequels ever made, Tobey McGuire reprises his role as Peter Parker who is struggling with life's challenges, money, love and living and what's more he is losing his powers. And with more crime arising, Parker faces difficult choices concerning his personal life.

Breaking the opening weekend Box Office record, the Spider-man franchise grew wider and this 2004 sequel has been described as one of the best superhero sequels ever made, and I couldn't agree more.

With a much better opening to the first film, we are thrust straight into Parker's life as he tries to balance his job, his money and his university classes. Having many issues gives the film depth and is intriguing to watch each situation develop.

This film is similar to the first, with a focus upon dramatic issues such as his love for Mary Jane and the loss of his Uncle Ben. There is a slight feeling of repetition but in context it is understandable and gives the characters more emotion and understanding.

There is more action in this sequel, watch out for one of the best fantasy fight scenes in motion picture history, which so happens to be on a train. Excellent direction and nail biting close scenarios. There is always a question of realism but nevertheless that situation was simply outstanding.

The effects are great, as you would expect and much better than the first. I'm personally not a big fan of CGI but regardless this was special and was made so by Raimi's direction.

There are plenty of twists and turns in store and with the added action and more deep situations it makes the plot even more special.

Though the love scenes are questionable they aren't as corny as the previous films and are enjoyable to watch. The green Goblin was a much better villain than Dr Octopus and J.K Simmons is brilliant as the newspaper boss and overall, Spiderman 2 is my favourite superhero film of all time.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As It Gets, 17 Oct 2004
By 
Jason Hart "Polymathic" (Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before Spider-Man was created in the early 60's, super heroes tended to be a step down from gods (and some actually WERE gods). They were powerful, morally upright, and unwaivering in their convictions. In other words, it was fun to follow their adventures, but they were a bit hard to relate to.
Stan Lee changed all of that when he created Spider-Man. He decided to make a hero who was an unpopular, nerdy kid who just happened to get stuck with powers he wasn't even sure he wanted. He had everyday problems like dealing with bullies, being uncomfortable around that cute girl he likes, and feeling left out in general. And who hasn't had experiences like these at some point in their life?
I've seen some great comic book adaptations that really got down to the core of a character (Batman), and I've seen movies that simply made me cringe and wonder how they could have been so far off the mark (Daredevil, anyone?). As far as capturing the true essence of it's title character, this movie tops them all.
In a lot of ways, this is THE Spider-Man story. This is Peter Parker's struggle to decide just who he is and what his resposibility is to the world, his family, and himself. And it's not an easy decision to make.
It's been beaten to death a bit by now, but it all boils down to what Uncle Ben told Peter: "With great power comes great responsibility." And Peter rages against this logic for the entire movie. Should he live for himself, enjoy his life, and ignore the powers he's been given? Or should he put the needs of others before his own, essentially sacrificing his personal happiness in lieu of the satisfaction and knowledge that he's made a difference in the world? This is the conflict that is at the very core of this character, and this movie captured that in ways that I'm sure made Stan Lee proud.
To be totally truthful, this movie should probably be called "Peter Parker." If you're looking for mindless action, go buy Terminator 3. This is a movie about a young man trying to find himself--it just so happens that this particular young man has some extraordinary powers.
Don't get me wrong; there are some absolutely amazing action sequences. Doctor Octopus is a visually dynamic (as well as tragic) villain, and he makes for a lot of exciting scenes. And I must say, he's played to perfection by Alfred Molina; I don't have a bad thing to say about his performance. And special effects? I get goosebumps every time I see Spidey swingin' through the concrete jungle. Spectacular!
But at heart, this is a movie about character development. I can't express how grateful I am to Sam Raimi for turning out such a quality film that stays so true to the character. He did an amazing job, mixing drama, action, humor, and just a dash of Evil Dead-like horror into a final product that left me emotionally drained and wanting more. It's gonna be tough to top this one. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great box set for any fan., 5 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. S. Brunskill (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i'm a huge fan of the spiderman movies and can't wait until spiderman 3 comes out in the spring, this dvd box is great, it hold the special two disc edition dvd, with a reprint of the july 1967 spiderman comic edition 50 called "spiderman no more" reading this comic it's clear to see there is some outlines of the film taken from this comic along with editions 53-55.
the gift set also has a concept to screen portfolio and a comic book artists portfolio which the artworks are amazing!
as well as 6 marvel/columbia pictures artwork postcards from the poster designs of the film, these are great framed!
the film is great and better than the first.
this is a collector dvd gift set and anyone who likes the film will love this very neat black box set, it looks good and if your getting this as a gift it better.[...]

a must for any fan!!! enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avenge me...., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Parker cannot seem to catch any kind of break. Being Spider-Man has brought him nothing but problems as far as his personal life is concerned.

Mary Jane Watson is engaged to astronaut John Jameson, and Peter may lose her forever. Things are so bad for him that he is pushed past his breaking point, so he decides that he doesn't want to be Spider-Man anymore, until a freak accident transforms Dr. Otto Octavius into Dr. Octopus, a super-villain with four metal tentacles protruding from his torso.

Peter realises that only Spider-Man can stop him but, of course, problems arise.

Mary Jane gets caught in the middle, and Harry Osborn, who still blames the web-slinger for the death of his father Norman Osborn, also the Green Goblin, wants him dead.

Spider-Man will have to push himself past his limits if he's going to survive....

Easily the best of the franchise, Spider-Man 2 also raises the benchmark in Marvel movies, this being the character driven and empathetic. What make it work is the way Raimi harnesses all of the characters stories, and how he doesn't let them spiral out of control, is amazing.

There is so much going on in this film, that it demands to be seen at least two times. Once as the blockbuster action-fest you want, and the other as a character study.

It's a lot of fun too. From Raimis trademark POV use of camera-work when Octavius first kills, to the obligatory Campbell Cameo, the film works on many levels.

Maguire is much better this time around, having less of the rabbit in the headlight face, and just getting on with it.

But Franco is really the main draw out of the regular cast. His dark side emanates evil whenever something goes wrong, and you can see that he will be a foe who causes great difficulty to Parker.

It's one of the best sequels to a summer movie, and it's a great film to boot also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fusional and pulpy, 5 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The action is always simple and direct : save the victims of the bad guy. The method is always the same: stop the bad guy's mechanics by throwing a few strings in its gears. The rest of it is building up a network, in that case a cobweb. But this is a film, not an electronic game and we are at the cinema not in front of a game console. So the film adds a good layer of sentimental events and feelings. The girl friend from far behind. She is afraid and fascinated. She is jealous and possessive. She is maybe adult and open-minded. That kind of stuff gives to the film some interesting dimension. In the same way, in this film in particular, the super hero loses and even chooses to lose his powers, for a while at least. This whole dimension of a normal guy, a normal boy capable of normal feelings and cowardice is exploited here to reveal the other super-hero dimension is both a choice and a responsibility, a responsible choice and a chosen responsibility. Then the film can work as a film and not a dumb computer game. Then the bad guy has a new dimension. He is the self-victimized inventor of a machine that will destroy the world. But keep in mind that the solution to sink that nuclear fusion machine in order to kill it is rather primitive in intellectual value. But it is full of emotional pulpy strength. The fear of nuclear power is also typical of the beginning of this century when the oil companies were still the masters of the energetic game. We have since then entered the final stage of that oil dominance and we have to consider other solutions, particularly that do not produce carbon dioxide. It is also a reflection of a way of thinking in these 2002-2006 years: nuclear energy was only seen from the American point of view as basically criminal either in the hands of criminal individuals (that's the case here) or in the hands of criminal states. Luckily this dimension is aging pretty fast.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does whatever a spider can, 8 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The first Spider-Man movie was a huge success based on any number of factors so the weight of expectation was on this film. Pretty much the entire original cast was reassembled (dream sequences and insanity are wonderful tools for allowing dead characters to pop up) and one of Spider-Man's greatest villains was thrown into the mix.

Storyline wise this is a film about Peter Parker's struggle to balance the dual identities that he has. He's no Bruce Wayne in an isolated mansion or Clark Kent with the superspeed to almost be in two places at once, no Peter is just an ordinary guy who happens to have the proportionate speed, strength, and agility of a human sized spider. He is present at a laboratory experiment where kindly scientist Otto Octavius has a set of mechanical arms accidentally grafted onto his back and directly in into his central nervous system sending him a bit mad. Peter and the newly psychotic Doctor Octopus have a few throw downs before the hero's crippling self-doubt lead him to abandon his Spider-Man persona. This is all further complicated by the fact that Pete's best friend Harry is obsessed with seeing Spider-Man dead after the finale of the first film.

As with the first Spider-Man the cast all play wonderfully. Tobey Maguire continues to be geeky cute and utterly sympathetic as Peter while winsome Kirsten Dunst is affecting as his love interest Mary-Jane (their romance is far more central to the plot of this movie than its predecessor. The supporting cast carry the day again with a subtle, occasionally heartstring tugging performance from Rosemary Harris and pure comedy gold from JK Simmons as J Jonah Jameson. Hardcore thespian Alfred Molina is brilliant as the kindly Otto before his accident and then as the nasty and dangerous Doc Ock afterwards.

The effects are a big improvement with the CGI picking up noticably over the first film. A lengthy battle on the top of a train could have been a train wreck but looks magnificent. Doctor Octopus's arms, a mixture of CGI and animatronics are excellent and even manage to convey emotions. The script is funny when it wants to be, romantic when it sets out to be, and touching when it needs to be. One thing that I would say is that as a PG this has the least strict rating of the Spidey movies but it has a very harsh scene set in an operating room that I think is far less suitable for really young kids than many 12A movies are. The plotline with Peter giving up the Spider-Man identity is just a shade too long which disrupts the flow of the movie slightly but this remains a top drawer super hero flick and a great evening's entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first, 28 April 2007
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Now, first of all, after the excellence that was the first film, for those of you who haven't seen this picture, may be thinking that this one will be just as fast but with bigger action special effects in the action sequences. Let me tell you that I thought it would be like that the day I went to see it first time at my then nearest multiplex. I was wrong. Although there is lots of action, a large majority of the film focuses around Peter Parker and not Spiderman. Because of this I was at first dissappointed however I suddenly realised how interesting the story was the second time I went to see it.

The plot takes place two years after the events of the first film and sees Peter Parker (Maguire) struggling between dual identities. For example, because of his duties as Spidey, he ends up being late for part-time jobs and uni classes therefore his grades have been declining gradually. Also the love of his life, Mary-Jane (Dunst) is in a stage version of 'The Importance Of Being Ernest' on Broadway and has a new man, John Jameson son of Jonah, in her life. As all this is going on scientist Doctor Otto Octavius creates an experiment with some trinium particle involving the use of four mechanical arms........As all this occurs Peter, for some unknown reason at first starts to loose his powers coincidently at a time when a new supervillain called Doctor Octopus is on the scene......

As I roughly said the action sequences are actually bigger and better this time around, especially a memorable fight on a subway train, but also the scenes depicting Peter's problems getting on top of him are good too and the acting is actually better than it was in the first film as all the cast seem quite comfortable with their roles.

Take my advice. If you liked the original, get this and watch it before Spiderman 3 opens next week. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Better Story And A Better Villain, 14 April 2005
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This review will be split into three parts, they will be split into The Story, The Characters and the Verdict. This will give you a fair and honest view of the characters, story and the movie itself.

The Story: Harry Osborn has now taken over Oscorp and he's financially backing a scientist called Otto Octavius who's experimenting with sustained fusion as a way of replacing conventional fuels. In order for Otto so sustain the fusion reaction he's developed artificially intelligent arms that attach directly to his spine that he can control as if they were additional arms. One day while demonstrating his experiment, Otto is unable to contain the reaction and it all goes wrong. The experiment becomes unstable but Otto refuses to halt it, it eventually gets worse and his wife is killed and the neural inhibitor chip on the arms is destroyed and they are fused to Dr. Octavius' spine. Thanks to the help of Spiderman the plug is pulled on the experiment and nobody else is hurt, but Dr. Octavius blames Spidey for the disaster. The AI of the mechanical arms seem to tap into Dr. Octavius' brain and begins to manipulate him into wanting to try the experiment again and set out to kill Spiderman. Spidey begins to struggle with juggling his powers, his education and his job and on top of that he has to handle the difficulty of his powers constantly halting at the worst times. Mary Jane is becoming a successful stage actress and desperately wants Peter to be there when she needs him and Harry is looking for revenge against spiderman for killing his father.

The Characters: I've discussed both Tobeys & Kirstens characters in my review for the first spiderman film and my feelings are generally the same. The character I'm going to discuss is the character of Dr. Octavius.

Doc Oc: Played by Alfred Molina this is an intelligent choice for Doc Oc as he genuinely looks like the Doc Oc from the comics. He gives us his own brand of intelligence and sophistication when showing us the mental anguish that the character is going through in the movie.

Harry Osborn: We've seen a bit of a development in this character from the first movie. In that he was the kid with high expectations and a kid who idolised his father and was chasing after the girl (MJ). In this movie we're introduced to what some could consider a very different character, he seems arrogant yet he's tormented by the death of his father so he's someone who has a lot on his mind. James Franco is great at playing the tormented figure of Harry Osborn.

The Verdict: This is clearly the strongest film of the three, the action sequences particularly the fight sequence on the train is one that really gets your heart racing. Alfred Molina really fits the Doc Oc character perfectly and he really makes it believable. It has the general comedy moments that help you relax after witnessing a strongly emotive scene or a high impact fight sequence. The mixture of CGI and real life is un-seamless which gives it all the more realistic look. This is a movie that every comic book fan should own and enjoy for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, rubbish features!, 15 May 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man 2.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Not having Spiderman 2 on DVD but having the 1st one I was eager to get this to complete my collection (especially with the new film coming out)...however this new version is basically all about Spiderman 3. I'm more than a little disappointed, especially as I paid a little more for this version, and wish I had opted for the original release instead. There's no denying the quality of the film. It is amazing, however the new scenes are barely recognisable and simply make what was already a fairly long film seem even longer. The artwork for the original release I personally feel is nicer, but that's just a personal choice. My main grievance with this 'new' version is the special features, or lack of. I was incredibly disappointed to find that this doesn't contain any of the special features that were on the original Spiderman 2 DVD and to be honest it looks like those ones are far better. Most of the special features on this release are about Spiderman 3, it doesn't have any of the music videos, blooper reels or featurettes about Spiderman 2 from the original DVD. It seems that this is just a shameless way to exploit more money out of people who bought the original version, making them fork out again. Surely it would have made more sense to re-release this as a special 3 disc edition as they did with Spiderman 1. The first disc doesnt even have any special features and the 2nd disc only has 6 which are mainly trailers and featurettes about Spiderman 3. This is just marketing from the compay with the new film coming out to urge completists to pay more money, it's a shame cos this otherwise could have been a nice collection. As such I'm actually considering selling this version and buying a copy of the original Spiderman 2 release which my brother has and I know for a fact has significantly better special features. If you're the type of person who doesn't watch the special features then this will be great for you cos you get the (slightly) extended film, if however you like to learn about the film this definately isn't for you. If you don't already own a copy of the film I would suggest getting a copy of the original release. Pity, it had the potential to be so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004]
Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2004)
£2.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews