Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a REAL grower....
I am listening to this album as I write this, and it gets better the more I listen to it.
On most albums there are songs u instantly like, then there are the growers... I have to admit there are quite a few growers on this album... but growers are what they are... they get better and better the more u listen to them... and that is exactly the case with Out of...
Published on 23 Jan 2005 by Ali Davies

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many weak tracks
I am finding this is happening to many times, that is albums that start with so much promise when you first hear the singles on the radio and when I finally get it in the CD player only to find that the singles were the only songs worth buying, its like they have run out of ideas already. Don't believe me, then why have they done a singles album after they have only...
Published on 11 April 2010 by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a REAL grower...., 23 Jan 2005
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
I am listening to this album as I write this, and it gets better the more I listen to it.
On most albums there are songs u instantly like, then there are the growers... I have to admit there are quite a few growers on this album... but growers are what they are... they get better and better the more u listen to them... and that is exactly the case with Out of Nothing.
The instant tracks for me were: Ashes, Gravity, Someday, Glorious Day and Out Of Nothing.
Looking As You Are, Wish 'Em All Away, Keeping, Spell It Out and Near Life are the growers; but now I like them all...
Glorious Day is my favourite track on the album... EXCELLENT SONG!!
Near Life to me is a really wierd/chilled out track... it sends shivers up my spine, for some reason.
There are no songs on this album that I don't like, and that is VERY rare for me... there aren't many albums where I like all the songs... but this one is an exception.
If you have any interest in Embrace at all, even the slightest interest... BUY THIS ALBUM... U WONT BE DISAPOINTED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantasic album with a brief (but very good) bonus DVD, 17 Nov 2004
The bonus DVD has a total of about 15 minutes footage of the four September '04 secret gigs in Birmingham, Leeds, Liverpool and Gateshead and 5 minutes footage of the Parma secret gig.
The enthusiasm of the Embrace fans and the sense of occasion are well presented and it is very well shot. One small negative is the footage of Liverpool and Gateshead (with Angel of the North backdrop) is limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Oct 2006
By 
S "S" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
Right, so i've had this a while and i'd only really listened to a few songs (ashes, gravity and someday). Then I got bored one day and put it back on (a few months later) and I can't believe I havent appreciated this masterpiece earlier.

Aside from the single releases, the highlights are Keeping, Spell It Out, Wish em all Away, Near Life, Out of Nothing (half the album).

Keeping and Spell it out are decent, lyrically clever songs with catchy riffs which stay in your head. The lyrics to me seem quite poignent and memorable.

Near Life and Out of Nothing are like a revelation, they are atmospheric and intense, you can feel layers of sound within the songs which you can just escape into. The guitars are brilliant. Out of Nothing is one of the best songs ive heard, it starts off slow and chilled and then theres one word which sums the rest up and thats epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this, I'm not pretentious, 15 Sep 2004
By 
J. Clifford (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
You'll love this album. As one reviewer below said, you wouldn't think Embrace would be able to come up with any more so-called anthems, but they do just that at least 3 times on this album.
"Ashes" is an amazing song, the best album-opener you could wish for, especially when you've been waiting a few years for this album to happen. "Someday" and "Spell It Out" are equally good. When you've listened to this album once or twice, you'll be singing it in your head for hours and hours.
This album is outstanding - buy it now, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing, touching, they've-been-where-I've-been, stunner of an album, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
Out of Nothing is an album of beautiful balance. Years in the making, with a new producer who seems to have breathed new life into the band, with a hit single from Coldplay's songwriter, and with at least one heavy break-up weighing heavily on Danny McNamara's mind, Out of Nothing is an album to listen to over and over again.

In Ashes - the amazing, banging 'I don't need you' crowd favourite - and Gravity - the beautiful Chris Martin penned love song - it has two singles as good as anything Embrace have ever released. In some ways, they are both toned down Embrace - there's very little in terms of strings, for instance - but the lyrical poise, and the endearing openness make for something very unique these days: not one, but two massively infectious singles.

Throughout the beautiful Looking As You Are (perhaps the highlight of the album) and middle-of-the-album stalwarts Keeping and Spell It Out, I got a real they've-been-where-I've-been feeling, which made this album amongst my favourite ever. And that, perhaps, is where Embrace really lie. The lyrics - both in terms of the emotional torment and the ever-lasting optimism - mean an awful lot to an awful lot of people. These people will forever be Embrace fans, and it's probable that many more will be added as time goes by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental, 16 April 2006
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
loads of great anthems on this cd! Lots of sing alongs! The power of these songs is what makes it a good cd for me though. My favourites are 'ashes' someday' 'glorious day' and 'out of nothing'. If you like indie or you just like songs with soul BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace come of age, 15 Aug 2005
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album. It is simply fantastic. I rate all my songs on my ipod, and this is one of the few albums with 5, 5 star songs. Someday, A Glorious Day, Ashes, Gravity and Looking as you are are in my view some of the best songs of 2004. Roll on next weekend, when I will see them at the Festival. If you don't own it, and like Keane, Coldplay, Starsailor etc, then buy this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year, 31 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
I first bought this album simply because i heard 'gravity' and loved it, i thought there may be a few other good songs on the album. It turns out that every song on the album is suberb. This is definatly the best album i've ever listened to and i would strongly recomend it to anyone who likes Indie music. You must have this in your music collection it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near Life? You will be., 24 Aug 2004
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
There really is no need to Spell It Out for us. "Out Of Nothing" is clearly already verging on the status of a classic, and it's not actually been released yet. The ears that have heard this magnificant record so far have pricked up and listened, and it's finally all coming together for Embrace, the band that just as little as 3 years ago were being begudgeoned by the press, and apparently their fans, for being "out of tune", "out of tunes" and "past it".
They've struggled and strived for a fair time now in the midst of adoring fans and downpouring press. But they have arisen, and this is finally their time. Again.
Out Of Nothing strikes out of nowhere with the first blow. There's nowhere to hide from the fabulous "Ashes" and believe me, you're not even going to try. It pulls you in and you're stuck. This isn't a one off for the album either. You'd think in a world of 'Anthemic Pop' to the tens, the pen would surely be running out by the 4th studio album, but no. These boys just keep on delivering.
"Gravity" isn't as unexpected, it's a ballad, and for Embrace, that's not so unusual. However there's something about this ballad. It's covered and smoothered and oozing with delight. Penned by Coldplay's Chris Martin but given the Embrace stamp until that factor is almost unrecognisable, "Gravity" takes you beyond the belief that Embrace were ever, or could ever be 'past it'.
Stumbling into "Someday" you've already forgotten where you were meant to be when you started listening to Out Of Nothing. You're in the world of something new, something special, and something to sit up and take note of. With it's gospel interludes and it's stunning rises and falls, 'Someday' could be a single, THE single, and if it is the next single, Embrace will no longer be a thing of cult.
"Looking As You Are" is quite possibly the most beautiful song in the world. The stunning vocals, sparse but independently meaningful lyrics, and sentiments in this song simply melt you (me) into nothingness for three short minutes. This song will change the way you look at Embrace, if the first three tracks didn't already.
You've barely recovered from LAYA (abbreviations of song lyrics are readily accepted currency among their fanbase) and you've been thrown headfirst into "Wish 'Em All Away". A definite favourite amongst listeners of Out Of Nothing so far. Perhaps it's something to do with the breif reincarnations of zulu (or is that kiwi) warrier chants of past hovering in the background. Perhaps it's the harmonica, perhaps it's the completely and utterly heartfelt and emotional way in which Danny McNamara lugs out the lyrics til there's no more breath in his already outsung lungs. Perhaps it's just because you're dealing with the heavy uphill slaughter of listening to this album.
The next few tracks are each in their own way, devine. You'll be dragged uphill, downhill, round the ladies chamber and all whilst you're clambering to hang onto yourself in the midst of it all. You're still catching your breath from the get go. But then you hit "Near Life" and you're wondering if this is the same band you've been listening to for the past 8 tracks. It is, I'm certain of it. But it's a question every person is going to ask themselves when this monumental, head turning, brain teasing track enters your ear canal. Can it be Embrace that are pouring out this sluggish, clanging, dreamy track before you? It is, and you're going to listen. You have no choice, because the almost psychadelic tendancy this song is parading infront of you has you grabbed. You've never heard anything like this before. And more than likely, you won't again. It's magical, in the entire sense of the word.
Still mesmorised by "Near Life", the remnants buzzing around in you mind, "Out Of Nothing", the title track saved for last, as it should have been (don't you always save your french fries till then end? Why? Because they're the best bit). Starting out as another Embrace-special ballad, you might start thinking that the best was somewhere else in this set of wonderfully crafted peices of history. But then it kicks in. And so does your pacemaker. It's loud, it's fast, it's unwittingly clever and magnificant like no other. It's Out Of Nothing and it's Embrace.
All you've done is listened to the new Embrace album. But you feel like you've been in the gym for an hour, working out to your most. It's an album that requires your full attention, and believe me, it's going to get it. There's no getting out of that.
Past it? Not even nearly, their journey is just beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP ALBUM, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. M. Gendiboyd-nayli "meercat" (Preston, Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THIS IS A TOP ALBUM! I STILL ENJOY LISTENING TO THIS ALBUM. IF YOU ENJOY INDIE TUNES THEN YOU'LL LIKE THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Nothing
Out Of Nothing by Embrace (UK) (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews