Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I'm afraid I got this for £1 about a year ago so it seems an even bigger bargain that it would be at full price - as a result it will always go down as my finest musical purchase ever! However, there is nothing quite like OCS live in concert given they are all proper musicians and quite partial to the odd impromptu solo. Although I own more OCS albums than it is probably...
Published on 6 July 2009 by Guy Bicknell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable but includes several fine moments
Nowadays live albums are usually no longer released at the pinnacle of a band's career as they often were in the 70s and 80s but instead as a kind of alternative greatest hits set to hopefully bring back a few old fans (and sales!) of a flagging act. One For The Road (2007) certainly belongs to this latter category and, even though it contains quite a bit of filler, also...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by Greg Farefield-Rose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 July 2009
This review is from: Live: One For The Road (Audio CD)
I'm afraid I got this for £1 about a year ago so it seems an even bigger bargain that it would be at full price - as a result it will always go down as my finest musical purchase ever! However, there is nothing quite like OCS live in concert given they are all proper musicians and quite partial to the odd impromptu solo. Although I own more OCS albums than it is probably healthy to do, this one stands out, it has all of the classic tunes made better for their live delivery. Excellent for fans and first time listeners to OCS alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable but includes several fine moments, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live: One For The Road (Audio CD)
Nowadays live albums are usually no longer released at the pinnacle of a band's career as they often were in the 70s and 80s but instead as a kind of alternative greatest hits set to hopefully bring back a few old fans (and sales!) of a flagging act. One For The Road (2007) certainly belongs to this latter category and, even though it contains quite a bit of filler, also includes enough good material to keep casual fans of Ocean Colour Scene happy as well as being an essential purchase for the band's more die-hard followers.

OCS favourites such as Riverboat Song, the Thin Lizzy-ish Hundred Mile High City and Travellers Tune are all included in competent versions, which more or less match their studio counterparts. Other songs from One For The Road take the recorded mixes one stage further such as singalong celebrations of the anthemic Profit In Peace and Day We Caught The Train as well as a more relaxed Foxy Folk Face which is superior to its rather sugary studio reading.

Most of the best songs on OFTR are live versions of tracks from the band's most popular Moseley Shoals and Marchin' Already LPs though one newer piece which stands out is North Atlantic Drift with its attractive dual harmonising guitars and clever geographical lyrics. Many of the other more recent inclusions on the live album are unfortunately pleasant enough but not particularly memorable.

So is One For The Road worth buying in preference to an Ocean Colour Scene studio compilation? Probably not, though it includes several fine moments and is worth some investigation. Not really a career pinnacle then but still a worthwhile release by this unremarkable but still highly likeable band of Britpop survivors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tour de Force, 6 Mar 2008
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live: One For The Road (Audio CD)
One For The Road: Live is a tour de force from Ocean Colour Scene, demonstrating their prowess as songwriters and live performers. All the hits are here, laid out beautifully, with a great combination of the early hits and the more recent successes. They are played with a vibrancy and passion that is engrossing from the first listen and I can thoroughly, thoroughly recommend it.

I am of the opinion that live albums are better for passive fans than greatest hits albums, and this is no exception. If you want a guide through OCS, this is the place to come.

My personal favourites on here are the trio from track 10 to 12 and the encore from 17-19. Ocean Colour Scene are, for those that don't know yet, great live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tour de Force, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live - One For The Road (Audio CD)
One For The Road: Live is a tour de force from Ocean Colour Scene, demonstrating their prowess as songwriters and live performers. All the hits are here, laid out beautifully, with a great combination of the early hits and the more recent successes. They are played with a vibrancy and passion that is engrossing from the first listen and I can thoroughly, thoroughly recommend it.

I am of the opinion that live albums are better for passive fans than greatest hits albums, and this is no exception. If you want a guide through OCS, this is the place to come.

My personal favourites on here are the trio from track 10 to 12 and the encore from 17-19. Ocean Colour Scene are, for those that don't know yet, great live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ocean Colour Scene Live Modernist Cuts, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live: One For The Road (Audio CD)
Ocean Colour Scene Live Cuts..Live: One For The Road.
As it says on the case "One For The Road" drink this in, a good representation of O.C.S. live on tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic albumn, 4 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: One For The Road (Audio CD)
I bought this albumn after seeing Ocean Colour Scene perform live in the barrowlands. They were amazing there and i hoped this albumn would be a similar performace. I was not dissapointed. " One For The Road" containts live versions of all the classics, also including brilliant new tracks of there forthcoming albumn. This is high up in my Cd collection, and is a must have for any OCS fan !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Album!, 1 July 2005
By 
Kathryn Reynolds (Charlotte, North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live: One For The Road (Audio CD)
I think this OCS album is very good. I enjoy their live performances and was eagerly awaiting this release. Not the best for the new OCS fan, but a good one for someone who enjoys good British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live: One For The Road
Live: One For The Road by Ocean Colour Scene (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews