Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth's Best Since Rust In Peace
On first hearing that Megadeth were going to release a new album after the band had split up a couple of years ago I was really excited. "The World Needs A Hero" was great, and with Dave Mustaine having a point to prove, this album was going to be brilliant - and Megadeth don't disappoint. "The System Has Failed" is fantastic right from the first few seconds. "Blackmail...
Published on 23 Oct 2004 by danpd

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the system has failed
in my opinion after rust in peace megadeth slowly gets worse the only song that realy stands out is kick the chair which is brilliant if you want to check out megadeth try anthology set the world afire, peace sells, so far so good or rust in peace

all right but not brilliant \m/

Anthology: Set the World Afire
Peace Sells... But Who's Buying:...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by Ellis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars real metal, 6 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
mustaine has, it would seem, rediscovered pure and simple, real metal. while, im sure, he was happy to sit back and watch the demise of metallica's latest mush of different sounds on 'st.anger', he clearly decided to go back to basics.
while not sounding old or unexciting, this is just simple metal - not needing to struggle with new directions or random whims. while i don't think this will be regarded as anything hugely original, it manages to be really good. i've been waiting for an old school metal band to do this for years and now megadeth have.
on 'the system has failed' we see the return of guitarist chris poland, and along with this the fast rythm guitar sections, exciting and powerful songs and the true sound of metal are back. it also reminds me of the classics 'rust in peace'&'peace sells...' with its politically fuelled lyrics and theme (just check out the album cover with George W.Bush, Bill Clinton, Dick Cheney, Donald Rumsfelt &Yasa Arafat)
'blackmail the universe' opens with that rather strange news report but soon picks up the pace and finishes with a flurry of guitars - probably the best track. the single 'die dead enough' and 'kick the chair' are instant highlights, but after a couple of listens you will notice gems like 'truth be told' and 'tears in a vial'.
if you liked 'countdown to extinction'&'youthanasia' then you will most definately enjoy this as it seems to be a modern extension of the 2 with some even better moments.
a strong album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy this album!, 12 Aug 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
10 times better than Megadeth's last 3 studio albums: The World Needs A Hero, Risk and Hidden treasures. I thought Megadeth was dead, but it sounds like they're back, with a vengeance! Dave Mustaine has a new lineup which is just as impressive as their classic lineup, awesome shredding guitar solos, gut busting drum beats and punchy bass lines make this album the best one of this year. My favourite songs are Blackmail the universe, Kick the chair and Die dead enough. Puts Metallica's St. Anger to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album, 10 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
There are some problems with this album. The first track begins with the terrible cliché of a jet plane flying low. The album lyric sheets indicate which guitarist performs which solo, hinting at both vanity and petty bickering. The lyrics will impress sixth form boys but leave other audiences cold. The band seems to be stuck in a 1980's time warp. And what is the album artwork all about? But compared to the strengths of the album, and this is a very strong album, a few minor niggles are easily tolerable. Playing is tight and flawless. Solos complement the songs and are not indulgent. Mustaine's singing voice, while not top class, has raw desperation which brings the music alive. And most of all the song writing is excellent throughout. It is an album is full of stand out tracks. These songs will spin round in your head for weeks, and the disc will never be far from the CD player.
If the genre is a barrier to you then you will be forgiven for ignoring this CD. But if you fancy adding a seriously heavy modern record to your collection, this is a great buy. A warning though- don't expect the rest of metal to be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album... but lacks a certain je ne sais quoi, 20 Sep 2004
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE this album!
But, somehow it just doesn't seem to hang together right.
It's weird cos you could take any one of the songs from this album and they'd rank amongst Megadeth's finest - but together it just seems like bits and bobs bashed together.
But, as I say, the songs themselves are fantastic - so buy it for them, if not something that's actually coherrent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mustaine proves he is a legend, 11 Sep 2004
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
Basically this is almost a Dave Mustaine solo album since the other members of the band are all hired hands. Chris Poland is the other familiar name who appears on this album with some cool shredding solos. His distinctive style adds much to this record. When you listen to this album you realise just what a creative, influential figure Mustaine is and has been since the Thrash scene began back in the early Eighties.
I have been listening to Megadeth since Killing is my Business came out- I lost interest after Youthansia came out but thought Worlds Needs... was a good step back in the right direction. This album has restored my faith in Metal (especially after Exodus' Tempo album- which is also excellent!). System Has Failed has sounds, styles, song structures which any Megadeth fan could relate to, regardless of which albums they consider their favourites.
This album is awesome. It has so many strong songs, each has its own feel which you could find its place on a previous Megadeth CD.
Put together though you get a fresh sounding, inspired album. There are so many ideas thrown in to each song- you can tell that Mustaine put time and effort to get this right.
Faster songs like Blackmail the Universe and Kick the Chair are Rust in Piece era sounding, slower more melodic songs like Die Dead... and Of Mice & Men still pack a punch and perhaps evoke Risk era memories but with more clout.
If Metallica have the mantle of being in the all time top 10 biggest selling bands in America, then Mustaine can rest assured that in Metal stakes his contribution with Megadeth is just as valid especially if you want start comparing the credibilty of both bands based on St. Anger v's System.
Mustaine is the main man. Get it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best comeback album of 2004 from the best band of all time, 6 Mar 2005
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
A few years ago I was annoyed and pretty much upset that Dave Mustaine had a problem with his arm caused by sleeping awkardly and was unable to play guitar anymore and then said megadeth was no more. I was upset because megadeth were and still are my favourite band since I was little and I look up to Dave Mustaine like an older brother. So when I heard megadeth were coming back with a new line up and album I was so excited and I went and bought this album on the day of it's release and it was the best 13 quid I spent in 2004 because I listened to this album and I fell in love with every track and that has never happened to me before, the fact that I love this album through to the end was just a total surprise. I'll tell you now that the worst thing about this album is that it ends. Stand out tracks include Die Dead Enough, Kick The Chair and Something I'm Not. Buy this album now if your new to megadeth or if your a diehard fan. You Will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth - The System Has Failed, 8 Sep 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
Megadeth's tenth studio album The System Has Failed was a largely superb record that picked up the sound that the band had started with The World Needs A Hero and paired out all the commercialism, made the guitar tones heavier and dirtier and injected some classic Thrash Metal attitude into the wonderful modern metal that frontman and primary songwriter Dave Mustaine had been coming out with at the time.

Interestingly, while The System Has Failed sounds like a revitalized Megadeth record, it actually began its life as a solo album from Dave Mustaine, and was the first ever Megadeth release not to feature long time bassist David Ellefson. Despite this inconvenient fact, The System Has Failed is a hugely exciting Megadeth album with some serious highlights and astonishing guitar work.

Album highlights include the fast and thrash influenced 'Kick The Chair,' 'Blackmail The Universe,' and 'Back In The Day,' which are still to this day some of the band's finest work and must listen stuff for all Megadeth fans and more than welcome in any live setlist. Fans who prefer the material that the band made in the 80s should definitely check those songs out.

Unfortunately the album doesn't retain that exact level of sheer quality throughout, otherwise it would be one of the bands best albums, as it stands it is just a very good album but not an all time classic. The album certainly did spark an upward trend in Megadeth releases and the next two albums along with this helped fully restore the public's respect for Megadeth which was somewhat challenged on some of their previous works.

For fans of the band's melodic and slower works from the nineties, there are songs like 'Tears In A Vial,' and 'The Scorpion,' which are full of brilliant guitar and strong vocals.

Overall, The System Has Failed maybe shouldn't be the first Megadeth album that you pick up and the band have made better albums, but when you do get yourself a copy you will not be all that disappointed, especially with the aforementioned thrashier tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Album You Never Thought You'd Never Hear Again!, 23 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. G. Stubbs (Stafford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
With the evolution of Megadeth 'ending' with a wider scope of material than maybe some purists could allow (I thought 'Risk' harshly judged) what we thought of as a 'Megadeth track' became misted. Even worse the band was pulled following Dave Mustaines career ending injury with radial nerve damage to his left arm. But you can't keep a good man down. This is the album that no-one thought they would ever hear again and could comfortably sit between SFSGSW and Rust in Peace, the two greatest works of the band in anyones book. The album is a genuine return to form with flashes of SFSGSW-type greatness to make you smile. Maybe it's Chris Polands input, maybe it's Daves relief at full recovery, maybe Bush jnr is enough to get anyones dander up. Who knows. I don't care. This is definitive and fabulously angst ridden metal that we've come to know and love by a man who seems to have come home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 24 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
This was the surprise album of 2004 for me. I heard there was another Megadeth album out but wasn't too bothered about buying it because I don't really like much of their stuff since around Countdown To Extinction, and even that one I feel now was going off the boil a bit. Then I read some of the reviews and decided to give it a whirl. I bought it and got into it pretty quickly, and now, having listened to it a lot, think it's a great album. This really highlights what Mustaine does best, great metal music that stands up to serious analysis. I disagree with the reviewer who says that the lyrics are a bit childish. The music is so much better than recent albums, the riffs fit together really well like on Peace Sells and Rust in Peace. Please carry on Mustaine, you may not be anywhere near as popular as Metallica and others but this album is way better than them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mustaine is back! And what a kick it is!, 20 Aug 2004
This review is from: The System Has Failed (Audio CD)
Having listned to an advance copy of this I am simply speechles.
It has been spinning in my stereo for a couple of weeks now and I am very pleased to announce that i haven't tired of it, not one bit. I must say Mustaine has taken up the Metal standard. The flag is his. This album has got everything good from Rust in Piece, Countdown to Extinction (and maybee a hint of Youthanesia and World Needs A Hero). It's awesome is what it is. It is fresh and yet recognizable without in the least beeing a clone of earlier albums. The lyrics are great and the music on every song is standing out and doing its part. No filler. Amazing really.
I believe it was a good thing that Mustaine decided to do this album himself without the former band members (hiring a bassist and drummer)insofar as it has allowed him to do the album his way without compromising with others.. too many cooks you know.
In short, this albums has me bopping my head and thrashing my air-guitar in a way no album has done for several years. thank you Dave.
Keep your eyes out for the new remastered and remixed edtions of the backcatalouge of Megadeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The System Has Failed
The System Has Failed by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews