Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caliban - The Opposite From Within
Caliban - The Opposite From Within.
When i first heard this album. It reminded me straight away of Killswitch Engage', but after a fair few listens, i began to love this record and any similarity they had to KsE just disappeared.
I love this record, it's new, it's fresh, it's exciting and the one other thing...IT'S NOT AMERICAN! Europe are also starting to join...
Published on 30 Sep 2004 by chimaira_kaz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
This could of been a good album but the lyrics are so bad the worst ever.man
Published on 28 Sep 2008 by Jesse Floyd burton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caliban - The Opposite From Within, 30 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
Caliban - The Opposite From Within.
When i first heard this album. It reminded me straight away of Killswitch Engage', but after a fair few listens, i began to love this record and any similarity they had to KsE just disappeared.
I love this record, it's new, it's fresh, it's exciting and the one other thing...IT'S NOT AMERICAN! Europe are also starting to join in on the 'New Wave Of Heavy Metal..'. This is one of very few albums where i like EVERY single track on the album.
Stand out tracks on this album would be 'The Beloved and The Hatred', 'My Little Secret' and 'Goodbye'. But those are just my own personal opinion :).
Must have for any fan of Heavy Metal Fan (e.g. Chimaira, Slipknot, Killswitch Engage, Twelve Tribes etc)
Kaz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perhaps THE best german metalcore band - EVER, 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
This album simply assaults your ears with a heavy mix of riffs, double-bass kicks that leave you in a blubbering heap on the floor and the perfect mix of screeching vocals and melodies that make you stop and think. It's amazing how someone who sounds like a hamster on helium can be taken so seriously!
Seriously, this is a must have album. The bands' credentials are enough to persuade even the most sceptical of fans - After all, they've toured the UK with Hatebreed and the mighty Machine Head. If Rob Flynn reckons they're good enough, they must be good!
They've produced amazing albums, their live performances are something worth dying for (if the walls of death don't get you first!) and everyone has given this band a rave review. The next, more brutal Rammstein? Hell yeah!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars extremely vital metalcore, 13 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
Released in 2004 this was calibans fourth album and although not grounbreaking in terms of style and conviction it was certainly one of 2004s finest albums in the metalcore genre.It is an album that barks at you and if you get close enough it will bite as well,the songs have strong chorus',good breakdowns and is filled with venom and sparkle and just oozes class,the follow up to this didnt deliver,this does.

Opening with the fast paced and frightening the beloved and the hatred shows the intent that the band have,the dual vocals blend into each other effortlessy and the rage is calmed with the melodic chorus,its as heavy a song as the band have ever released.The anthemic goodbye follows and from here you know this isnt fodder metalcore,ive sold myself,stand up,senseless fight are all manic in their direction but thanks to denis schmidts clean vocals the album never becomes a one trick pony or overbearing.The remaining songs also offer a good variation of screams,melody,emotion, and anger.Caliban may not be as good as killswitch engage but they have the tunes to challenge them here,and were it not for some blinding metal releases in 2004 it would be safe to say that this would be one of the best releases of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Germans with Emotions!, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
Well, although the nation has a reputation for being a somewhat dour, gruff place, these German hardcore kids have been around the block enough times to know how to discuss their feelings....or, more aptly, scream bloody murder at their listeners.
This is a cracking display of the currently (very) popular blend of metal and hardcore. The cleanly sung sections, such as those on the chorus of 'The Beloved & The Hated' are mighty fine and contrast well with the utterly shattering screams found in many other areas of this album.
This album provides a perfect place to start delving into Caliban's less well known efforts....something I'll be doing very soon on the strength of this cracking album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like it anywhere., 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
I first heard Caliban when a friend showed them to me, I usually wouldn't be interested in this style of music but I have to say this band blew me away. I love the interesting riffs the band have come up with and can't wait for a second album from them. This is one album that is staying in my CD player for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awsome, 28 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
WOW!!!!
I bought this album after reading a review in metal hammer!!
There is not one bad song on the album at all, this band kno how to put together shear brutality with some amazing vocal harmonies,
Awsome is all I can say
A must buy for any one into the metalcore, hardcore or metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caliban - The Opposite from Within - A MUST have CD, 1 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
Being a fan of Calibans for a few years now I was very excited upon hearing that they had signed a label deal that would enable them to go from being a back water, underground band where it's hard to find their albums to being a band that would have their albums stocked in the main retail chains.
"The Opposite from Within" marks Calibans 4th album release, and by god what an album it is. Everything that has ever come from Caliban before but matured and focused, with Calibans drums doing the driving each track is moved forward hard. The fantastic use of tempo changes makes each track really stand out. Melodic vocals that come out of nowhere are reminiscent of KSE who Caliban have toured the US and Japan with several time and their friendship shines through on this record.
This is one of those albums that people MUST have in their collections, an awesome major label debut, Look around for tour dates for this band, they are a band that has to be both experienced live and on record.
Mark my words, you will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
This could of been a good album but the lyrics are so bad the worst ever.man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 28 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Opposite from Within (Audio CD)
i bought this album after a friend recommended them to me, and i was noy dissapointed it is one of only a few albums where each song is as good as the other. if you dont have this album hurry up and buy it, and like me you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Opposite from Within
The Opposite from Within by Caliban (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews