Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
being an avid fan of Damien Rice I was delighted to hear that a new album of B-Sides was being released- and i wasn't disappointed. A lot rougher than O it shows all critics who pen Damien Rice as a depressing artist how he can cross the divide and come out successful. probably the best track on the album is the opening track- The Professer and the worst is the closing...
Published on 22 Oct 2004 by Lorraine Mc Gonigle

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A small dose please
The odd track by this guy is brilliant, but a whole album???????? Not for the depressed. This guy likes to self indulge too much, is very intense and if you want suicide music this is definitely it. Regretted the purchase, based on just one or two tracks.
Published 16 months ago by germaine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 22 Oct 2004
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
being an avid fan of Damien Rice I was delighted to hear that a new album of B-Sides was being released- and i wasn't disappointed. A lot rougher than O it shows all critics who pen Damien Rice as a depressing artist how he can cross the divide and come out successful. probably the best track on the album is the opening track- The Professer and the worst is the closing track- a very commercialised version of Cannonball. A must have album for Damien Rice fans- looking forward to the next helping!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B-Sides, 21 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
With the release of this collection of songs Damien Rice has put himself in the awkward position of having a set of recordings that at times surpasses the quality of his debut album. With lyrical content that deviates from the acceptability of radio broadcasting and the broader audience, the real strength of Rice's talent becomes apparent and the live recordings demonstrate to any one that has not witnessed a performance, that his ability translates well from the recording studio to large audience venues.
B-Sides is a well crafted recording culminating in the song that will have highlighted Rice's presence to many listeners - the radio edit of Cannonball. The real talent of this artist, like many of his peers, is that each song appears to be laden with deeper meaning. What sets this work apart is the enthusiasm and subtlety of the delivery. This album is a worthy addition to anyone who enjoyed listening to 'O' and wants to hear more from this talented individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damien Rice does it again, 19 Aug 2004
By 
Jokuo "Loco Mofo" (A bit to the left of the right) - See all my reviews
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say about this collection of b-sides, other than they are absolutely breathtaking. From the simple and expressive professor & la fille danse, the warmly uplifting beauty of lonelily to bewilderingly charged & diverse moody mooday, and of course the hard-hitting, stark (& at times ghostly) onslaught of woman like a man (I couldn't believe it was live)where Lisa Hannigan in particular shines out very brightly. There is something here for everybody. The instrumental volcano offers an alternative production of it which in my estimation works just as well as the 'o' version; if not better and the '97 volcano demo delivers a colder, more despairing reality behind the lyrical implications.

It took me some considerable time to truly connect with Damien Rices music, but I am now hooked absolutely. 'O' and the 'b-sides' albums are never off my stereo. Expect huge things from this man, and his wonderful band. Their heads are screwed firmly to their necks, regardless of how atmospherically bleak their music and vocals can get. It's all a part of the plan. Be part of it as well... BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away, 25 Oct 2004
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
Since the first time that I listened to Damien Rice -Cannonball I have feel in love with his music. I brought "O" and the album was amazing. But then buying this I have just been completely blown away. Its a bit stronger language but that gives more emotion to the album. Like I said I was completely blown away by this album and would advice any fan of Damien Rice this album is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damien Rice's Odd Gems, 13 Aug 2004
By 
Juan Mobili (Valley Cottage, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
Enough has been said, lauded, and expressed in amazement of this young man's talent, both musically and lyrically. Certainly "O" was one the greatest debut CDs in a long., long time, and wanting more from him is the inevitable feeling you probably were left with, after listening to his first full album.
Now comes, not the first, but possibly the best EP released in the wake of "O." Most selections included are either unreleased demos ("Lonelily"), sketches of songs you'll know ("Volcano"), great live stuff ("The Professor & La Fille Danse" or "Delicate"), and, probably, represent the best of this EP.
Among the several EPs Damien Rice has released over the last twelve months, I consider "b-sides" to be his most satisfying and representative of Rice's deep talent and promising career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some additional brilliance from Damien Rice, 17 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
Most Bsides albulms are generally produced to gain some extra cash for a struggling artist, but Damien Rice is flying high and this collection is a welcome addition to O capturing his live sound well.Having seen him play 4 times this year was a bit dubious about forking out for this but glad I did, a particularly brill instrumental version of volcano!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 11 Jan 2005
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
The magician that is Damien Rice has pulled another one out of the hat. When I listened to 'O' I thought I wouldn't hear a better album in a long time and I was proved wrong. The album 'B-Sides' shows all the emotions imaginable. From love to pain he takes you through a truly delightful journey. When I listen to a song with explicit language I think sometimes it is unnecessary, but in this album it helps Rice get his emotions across in a magical way. The feeling and enthusiasm put into this album is clear for anyone to see. Also the way in which he can portray his music recorded or live it is just as stunning either way. This is a simply breathtaking album. Any admirer of this genre of music, this is a must have album. Rice is simply head and shoulders above the competition. One word to some up Damien Rice and his music Ledged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A small dose please, 11 July 2013
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
The odd track by this guy is brilliant, but a whole album???????? Not for the depressed. This guy likes to self indulge too much, is very intense and if you want suicide music this is definitely it. Regretted the purchase, based on just one or two tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damien is damn good, 8 Dec 2004
This review is from: B-Sides (Audio CD)
I think this is the best album I've listened in the last 4 years of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

B-Sides
B-Sides by Damien Rice (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews