Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut album!
One of the most amazing albums i have ever listened to!
From the beautifully compsoed autobiography, to the rocky 'La La'.'Shadow', describing Ashlee's childhood with with her family and how she lived in the shadow of her sister, jessica. 'Undiscovered', another beautiful song, rather like autobiography, only from a different angle.
An amazing album, i...
Published on 8 Aug. 2004 by Stuey

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!!!!!
I have a habit of buying albums "blind" - I often pick up an album by someone I've never heard of before or someone I've never listened to before, and try it. That's how I found Vanessa Carlton's terrific debut album but unfortunately it's also how I found this. Oh dear.

Every song sounds the same, like one big angsty teen mess noise. It sounds exactly what...
Published 13 months ago by JB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut album!, 8 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
One of the most amazing albums i have ever listened to!
From the beautifully compsoed autobiography, to the rocky 'La La'.'Shadow', describing Ashlee's childhood with with her family and how she lived in the shadow of her sister, jessica. 'Undiscovered', another beautiful song, rather like autobiography, only from a different angle.
An amazing album, i reccomened this to everyone. With your first listen, you will fall in love with Ashlee Simpson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!!!!!, 6 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
I have a habit of buying albums "blind" - I often pick up an album by someone I've never heard of before or someone I've never listened to before, and try it. That's how I found Vanessa Carlton's terrific debut album but unfortunately it's also how I found this. Oh dear.

Every song sounds the same, like one big angsty teen mess noise. It sounds exactly what it is - some wannabe American rock star whose in the pop bracket instead but thinks she'll break out with this album. It's awful - the wailing vocals, the screeching guitars, the immature lyrics - its the American High School girl who thinks she's, like, such a rebel because she wears all black, but when it comes down to it she craves the fame and popularity of her bubbly blonde older sister.

It's no wonder Ashlee Simpson's career hasn't taken off, particularly in Britain. We Brits know a pile of steaming dog doo-doo when we hear one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiography Review, 5 Dec. 2006
By 
S. Winn "Sam Winn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
Those dark puppy dog eyes stare at you from the cover of Autobiography. Everything about Ashlee's image is screaming 'IM NOT LIKE MY SISTER'. But is it just an act? - This album is a fine example of teenage pop-rock definitely unlike her sisters more 'pop princess' glossy sound. Ashlee seems dark and mysterious with a lot of emotion's, but is this all an act dreamt up by some paper pushing label execs? - Ashlee's not so strong and some times throaty voice is supported by protool's engineering, but! The formula seems to work. Autobiography will have you dancing, crying & laughing. This is a perfect buy for fans of mainstream pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ashlee Simpson - "Autobiography", 26 Oct. 2007
By 
Dan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
I have to say this is a very good album, I can see why it has beaten her sister's (Jessica Simpson) album successes as Ashlee appeals more to teens! "Pieces of Me" was a smart move and it shows that she is actually a very good singer but some people just put her down because she had one little lip syncing incident but she still sings in her own songs. Nowadays she has learned from that SNL incident and she sings live more often. "La La" also has to be the best attempts at a rock/pop song from a teen singer as it is really full of energy and has you singing along! All and all, great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Jessica!, 6 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic!
I must admit when i bought it i was a little sceptical that she would be following her sisters style and just appearing a little more rockish on her programme 'The Ashlee Simpson Show' just to get poeple to buy her album, but i was pleasantly suprised. All of the songs on there are fabulous and they are really easy to relate to.
She is like a fresher, and more upbeat (and it must be said - intune) version of Hilary Duff. She brings something to the music, that you would expect to find on an Avril Lavigne album, that rocky twist, for example, in what i think is the best song on the album 'Sorry' she is fantastic and really sings the song with feeling, making you believe that the words have happened to her.
She really is truly amazing, and i think she is the newer, cooler, and better version of her sister.
Well done Ashlee!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 11 Oct. 2004
By 
E. Higgins "EmJay" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
this album is amazing, it is definitly one to buy if you're into anything pop/rock! Ashlee has a very unique voice that is showcased exceptionally well on "pieces of me". Ashlee is going to be the next big thing, this is a fantastic album every penny is worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLANT ALBUM!!, 25 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
well, after reading the reviews of this album on amazon, i decided to buy the cd. I've had it for quite some time and it is still one of my favourites. If you don't quite like the music her sister (Jessica Simpson) comes out with, then this is sure to be the album for you. It's inspiring but loveable. 10 stars out of 5!! BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
This was part of a collection of CD's i lost when my husband sold our old car with my CD wallet still inside I'm very happy to have found it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revealing all of the Pieces in her Autobiography, 2 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
Rising teen idol, Ashlee Simpson, looks set to conquer the globe with her fresh and contagious pop/rock sound. With already a platinum album crossed off her 'to do' list within her native land, Simpson #2 is getting ready to release her debut single with fellow associates, the people of the UK. 'Pieces of Me', the mid-tempo tune guaranteed to catch your ear, will want you to explore more of her thriving and energetic melodies.
Being the younger sister of singer, and co-star of MTV's 'Newlyweds', Jessica Simpson, Ashlee obviously had expectations and high achievements to compete with. However, by deciding to release something a little more controversial than her sibling, she's managed to shock individuals with her material and create an album where she can voice her own opinion. Co-writing every track on 'Autobiography' meant that Ashlee had a say on the songs rather than singing petty tunes about how blissful love is like the older Simpson sister had to.
Much of the album is samey such as the opening guitar part on 'Better Off' being similar to 'Pieces Of Me'. However, despite the not so impressive vocals, all tracks will get you singing along as loud as possible. 'Lala', a rather rude yet infectious song, will have you jumping about like a wild monkey. Other tracks such as, 'Unreachable,' with it's dissonant introduction, 'Giving it All Away' and 'Shadow' show more darker sides to Ashlee, giving fans a wider range of issues to relate to and also proves that she's not just a one track girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Like Her Sister, 6 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Autobiography (Audio CD)
I know what your thinking, another dumb blonde singer from America, following the foot steps of Britney, her sister Jessicca etc. But Ashlee Simpson is completly different. She hasn't created a sugary pop album all about love and boys. Ashlee has gone deeper than that. I heard Ashlee's first single, Pieces Of Me, and thought I would see what the album was like. I wasn't dissapointed. Ashlee is making music which is closer to the likes of Avril Lavigne, rather than Britney Spears. The album has 12 tracks which all focus on different aspects of a woman's life. Shadow, focus's on her family, and what it was like for her growing up and her being in her sister's shadow. It's slower than others, but is honest and upfront. The other tracks go from punky sounding LaLa to power ballads such as Love Me For Me. Overall this album will suprise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autobiography
Autobiography by Ashlee Simpson (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews