Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new band for the future!
I was advised to buy this album by my friend, whose sister's boyfriend just happens to be in the band! Apparently, so she told me, they had a record deal, they were having a great tour of the UK, and they were getting played by quality rock stations such as Xfm. So they HAD to be good- and ergo, worth listening to!
Anyway, I am glad she recommended them to me, cos...
Published on 10 Nov 2004 by Mr. T. Speller

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sigur Ros? What?
Nice enough mix of songs, hardly groundbreaking though. Most of them trot allong quite pleasantly, but don't develop in anyway and certainly sound nothing AT ALL like Sigur Ros. If anything thier sound fits in with 60's psychedelia, and is far more star-gazing then shoe-gazing. Nice work, but nothing worth getting excited about - we are still waiting for the ground to be...
Published on 7 Mar 2005 by R. Cook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new band for the future!, 10 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Folly (Audio CD)
I was advised to buy this album by my friend, whose sister's boyfriend just happens to be in the band! Apparently, so she told me, they had a record deal, they were having a great tour of the UK, and they were getting played by quality rock stations such as Xfm. So they HAD to be good- and ergo, worth listening to!
Anyway, I am glad she recommended them to me, cos this is really a cracking mini-album, there is a lot of potential for the Engineers to get seriously big, especially since their basic formula of strong guitar line, strong drum line and easy yet anthemic vocals really does not need changing in my view.
Britain has had a good record in producing quality anthemic guitar rock in recent times- for example, the Verve, Travis and Coldplay- so there has always been a good environment for this type of music. However, I think the Engineers have a great chance to stamp their own indelible mark on British rock, listening to them one is reminded of the aforementioned groups(certainly in the anthemic "Come Out of the Rain" and "Forgiveness"), and possibly also in places of prog rock groups like Pink Floyd(I thought of similarities between "Dark Side..." and in the Engineers' songs "Pictobug", "Given Right" and "Nature's Editing"). Yet at the same time, they sound unique because they comine elements from all of these styles, and pretty well too, the guitar work is impressive throughout, as are the vocals. That's why I think they have every potential to succeed, they're a good group, they've found a formula that works well and combines various successful elements of rock, and yet they are original. With more airplay on stations and more enthusiastic reviews, there is potential to make a big impact. "Come Out of the Rain" definitely sounds like it should be a major hit, and if they produce more songs like that, they will sell out stadiums.
In short, this is definitely a band for a future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simian crossed with Tangerine Dream, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Folly (Audio CD)
Good psychadelic stuff, this. Swirling harmonies and organ sounds remind me of Simian's early stuff. 'Come In Out Of The Rain' is the standout track, and is the more traditionally structured of the lot. It features some great guitar work, and boasts a great anthemic chorus. Plenty of potential for Engineers to work on, then, and if they've another five or six tracks that match 'Come In...' their debut proper is going to be special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in Translation, 11 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Folly (Audio CD)
If you like the soundtrack to "lost in Translation" then you will love the Engineers.They sound like a cross between My Bloody Valentine,Air and Pink Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Promising debut, 16 May 2006
By 
M. Hunkin "stoogesfan29" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Folly (Audio CD)
Engineers' debut mini-album combined the sounds of classic early 90s shoegazers such as My Bloody Valentine and Slowdive with psychedelic sixties pop and, on the sublime cover of If I Were A Carpenter, a side order of country and folk. This is not the most original album you'll hear, but a promising debut, and with most groups now retreading the angular, scratchy post-punk sound of the late seventies, this comes across remarkably fresh and out-there. The lilting, hazy propulsive melodies of Forgiveness and Coming Out of the Rain showcase the bands potential as craftsmen of exquisite experimental pop in the Cocteau Twins mould, whilst the epic closing track, Pictobug, meanders towards a wispy, etheral fifth dimension, and promised much in terms of the development of Engineers as an original creative force. The follow up, of course, is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible EP from britains best new band, 24 Jan 2005
This review is from: Folly (Audio CD)
folly is a aural delight for fans of sigur ros,air,my bloody valentine,mogwai and talk talk.6 tracks of ice cool ochestral beauty from manchesters next big band.
swirling soundscapes,chiming guitars,beautiful multilayered harmonies.highlights "nature's editing" and "a given right" are as good as anything kevin shields produced at his prime-apparently they made this ep in their bedroom?!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sigur Ros? What?, 7 Mar 2005
By 
R. Cook (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Folly (Audio CD)
Nice enough mix of songs, hardly groundbreaking though. Most of them trot allong quite pleasantly, but don't develop in anyway and certainly sound nothing AT ALL like Sigur Ros. If anything thier sound fits in with 60's psychedelia, and is far more star-gazing then shoe-gazing. Nice work, but nothing worth getting excited about - we are still waiting for the ground to be broken this decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folly
Folly by Engineers (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews