Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start
I bought this for my five year old nephew who has learned chess at school. As a previous reviewer noted, the pieces are a little light, but all-in-all it's excellent value for money and has been a real success. It looks fairly impressive and does the job. A great present! (I also included 'Checkmate: My First Chess Book' which is a sound guide and has stylish...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Margot Leadbetter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing pieces
Unfortunately there were missing pieces. I emailed Paul Lamond Games several times, asking for spare pieces, but did not get a reply. No phone number available, so disappointed, returned item. Shame as it was a nice looking set.
Published 19 months ago by RB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start, 13 Jan 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
I bought this for my five year old nephew who has learned chess at school. As a previous reviewer noted, the pieces are a little light, but all-in-all it's excellent value for money and has been a real success. It looks fairly impressive and does the job. A great present! (I also included 'Checkmate: My First Chess Book' which is a sound guide and has stylish illustrations!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good set for the price, 28 Oct 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
My 6 and 5 year old were keen to learn chess and I wanted to get a good-sized and fairly decent wooden set for them without spending loads of money in case they didn't enjoy it. Reasonably priced wooden sets are pretty hard to find. I'm very happy with this one for the price. The pieces are a bit lighter than I would like, too easily knocked over, but they are well shaped and easily distinguishable which is the main important thing for learning. The board itself (other than a completely pointless labelling of rows and columns with letters and numbers) is great. Both board and pieces are a good size for both adults and children, and moving a piece has a good "feel" from the felt base of the pieces on the board. I think the feel of movement is very important to learning and enjoying chess, so if you after a budget set, this one fits the bill very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for adults, children, and beginners, 2 Feb 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
Bought as a present for a father who wished to teach his children and wife to play, he said this was exactly what he needed as it looks durable, the pieces are easily recognisable and easy to handle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good value for money, 28 Sep 2009
By 
L. Tsilipakos (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
This is a very cheap and simple but, all things considered, very satisfactory chess set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great value chess set, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Darceyb (Camberley, Surrey) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
We bought this for our 6 yr old who is just starting to learn how to play chess. It's great value for a child who may or may not decide he wants to continue to play chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy set- a good buy, 21 Dec 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
A neat little set which is well made and nice to use. Good value & it's being well played with!
For a very good learn chess book for youngsters I would also recommend the Harriet Castor book 'Starting Chess' (First Skills) book as it is well thought out, designed with little ones in mind and it makes understanding chess fun as it's a colourful book with very nice illustrations and straightforward instructions. Buy the two together and you'll be very happy you did! I have loaned ours to a number of friends (not just friends with children either!) and have had some excellent feedback about how easy it was to understand chess. Don't hesitate, buy both and you'll see what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good for the money, 23 Oct 2010
By 
J. Henley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
Pieces are well shaped and made from fine grained wood, look and feel a lot better than I'd expect from a set this price. Board is perfectly serviceable if nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No computer chess, 6 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
Brought this for 6 yr old grandson really enjoys the board and pieces being of good standard and also the grid laid out on the sides. Works well along side chess on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, good value, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
Nice, solid wooden board and pieces, of a standard Staunton design. Would have been nice if a box to store the pieces was included, but still great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional Chess Set with wooden board and pieces, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Jerry (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces (Toy)
The goods arrived well packaged and before anticipated delivery date. The wooden chess board is robust, the chess pieces seem of good quality and are a good size for both children and adults alike. The product is competitively priced and I would recommend this product and supplier to anyone - excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traditional Chess with Wooden Board & Pieces
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews